Won't boot, "authentication failure", UUI

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
JLinks

Won't boot, "authentication failure", UUI

Post by JLinks »

Hi, I'm kinda new to Linux, but it seems like I know what I'm doing.

The other day I installed Mint 10 (the main one) on a 2gb USB stick using pendrivelinux.com's Universal USB Installer, with about 500mb of persistent storage. It was working fine until earlier today. Now when it tries to boot, the Mint loading screen appears for a while, then just goes to a black screen and prints "Authentication failure" several times. I've tried it on 3 machines, and, actually, only one of them says authentication failure, while the others just sit at the same screen without that phrase. I can't type anything in, but if I press the power button it shutdown normally.

The problem started when at first it went to the log in screen. Which it hadn't been doing before, since it's a live usb and I never entered a user account password or anything. "Automatic login" was selected, and pressing the button to login wasn't doing anything. "Other..." was the only other option, which led to asking for a password, with which I had nothing to put in. So I clicked restart, and the next time it booted, it just stayed at the Mint loading screen. It booted like this 3 times or so, then, without me doing anything differently, it started doing what I described above.

The only thing I could have done that I can think of is that I had set the master password key thing while connecting to my wifi network. After entering in the wifi password, it then asked for a master password or something, which I at first left blank, but it then said leaving it blank wasn't recommended, and wouldn't stop popping up every time I connected, so I figured I'd enter something in. It was on the next boot that the problem started.