Cant install mint 11

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
demon

Cant install mint 11

Post by demon »

I have been using mint 9 for about a year and decided that I would upgrade to 11-burned the cd put it in my drive and found some major graphics problems! Everything was flashing-the splash screen was mostly black except for the top left corner. i have a dell dimension 3000, not sure of the graphics card but may be intel extreme 2? Tried the "nomodeset" command which gave me a normal sctreen except very low res (huge) and couldnt change res from the live cd. I went ahead & installed as i thought that would solve the problem-it didnt! I have had to re-install 9 but would like to get the graphics up to scratch and use 11. I am a newbie so please give detailled instructions. Often when i use the terminel nothing happens! I would like to know that i dont have to use 9 forever!
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
masoodkamal

Re: Cant install mint 11

Post by masoodkamal »

i also have HP G42 laptop having same problem of hanging when bootup, and the mint dev. team has no idea whats happening :? ... and they simply blamed that on ubuntu !!
very lame but till now we have to let mint 11 go ... it seems they want to follow windows footsteps .. make a buggy system and it will take u to the sky ! :mrgreen:
colyn

Post by colyn »

Both machines are rated on the low end though the HP should work. You might try Mint 10.

From a review.. Pros

Affordable. Includes multi-function printer. Two-year warranty.
Cons

Sluggish performance. Reflective screen. Bloatware.
Bottom Line