upgrading from UB 7.10

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

upgrading from UB 7.10

Postby stephed on Thu Dec 20, 2007 12:33 pm

I have a dual boot system with two hard drives XP on one and Ub7.10 on other. I was planning on installing Mint KDE CE instead of UB7.10.

I was wondering which is the best method to do the switch.
1. Boot from LIVECD then hit install and use whole drive (UB7.10).
2. Use XP or LiveCD to reformat and start from a clean drive for Mint.

I'm somewhat new to linux and worried about screwing up the grub and losing the XP booting.

Thanks for your time,
ED
stephed
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2007 3:36 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: upgrading from UB 7.10

Postby Husse on Thu Dec 20, 2007 4:39 pm

Just install and use the whole drive - but, there is always a but - right?
As you use two disks it's important to know which disk is the "first" i.e. sda or in grub hd0
If you install on sda, the first disk, it should not give any problems if you put grub on hd0 which is default
If you install on the other disk you must care for grub, the easiest way is to put it on the first "hd0" like before. However I don't know the default in this case. Mint uses the same installer as Ubuntu (but a slightly different grub). In the last screen of the install there is a button "Advanced" and that's where you select the location of grub - so you have to check and possibly change.
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: upgrading from UB 7.10

Postby stephed on Fri Dec 21, 2007 7:31 am

Thanks for the info. I'll give it a try and see how it works.

Ed
stephed
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2007 3:36 pm

Re: upgrading from UB 7.10

Postby Husse on Fri Dec 21, 2007 9:25 am

Oops
I see that I've forgotten something important
If you put grub on hd0 and have Mint on hd1 (as grub sees it) you will have problems with gfxgrub
This can be solved either by commenting out this line in menu.lst like so
## gfxmenu=/etc/grub/message.mint
or by changing the path like so it reflects the location of Mint. Take a look at this post
viewtopic.php?f=46&t=5800&hilit=grub+message
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden


Return to Installation & Boot

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests