Dual-Boot: Daryna & WIN98SE [SOLVED]

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Dual-Boot: Daryna & WIN98SE [SOLVED]

Postby mcurran on Sun Jan 27, 2008 4:29 am

Hello:

I've been working an old customized intel D815EEA2 / D815EPEA2 and want to get the most out of it. To put a long story short: I've spent about three weeks setting up everything, and even ordered a second hard drive to successfully dual-boot Mint and Windows 98SE. Yes!!! Success!!! I finally got it done, and everything was working perfectly...

I have an ATI 3D RAGE LT PRO ENHANCED 2X AGP graphics card and I was desperately trying to enable 3D rendering (Desktop Effects). Among many attemps for a solution, I eventually tried manually selecting my card in the Screens and Graphics application available in my "Daryna" Main Edition distro. This caused problems and my card was no longer recognized after a restart. I could only run Daryna in safe mode, so I decided to do a reinstall of Mint. After the reinstall, the grub loader no longer showed Windows 98 under the "Other Operating Systems" section of the boot menu, but now said Windows 98/ 95/ ME. I tried to load my Windows up, and guess what... It wouldn't work - said something about reloading vbrbackup. I'm assuming this means my mbr was ruined. I tried restoring the mbr with my WIN98SE disk to no avail. According to that cd, the disk doesn't even exist anymore.

Is there any possible way I can get back into my windows? I would much rather reinstall Mint 10 times before having to setup my Windows 98, the way I want it, again - Since It friggin' takes a decade to load up a clean install of Windoze... Bye the way, I'm a complete noob, and Mint rocks. I don't want to put all the time I spent so far to waste.

Maybe later someone could help me get those desktop 3d visual effects with a simple answer, instead of building the damn driver from scratch.
Last edited by mcurran on Mon May 05, 2008 2:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.
IBM IntelliStation Z Pro [6227-ACU]
Intel Xeon (3.4GHz) | Irwindale (x2)
nVIDIA GTX 460 (1024MB-DDR5)
6GB RAM (800MHz)
MULTI-BOOT: Metro/Mountain Lion/LMDE
    User avatar
    mcurran
    Level 3
    Level 3
     
    Posts: 100
    Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2008 10:32 pm

    Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
     

    Re: Dual-Boot: Daryna & WIN98SE

    Postby Zwopper on Sun Jan 27, 2008 5:55 am

    Image
    My artwork at deviantART | My Tweet
    CREA DIEM!
    Lenovo E320 | 8GB | 512GB Samsung 840 PRO - SSD | Ubuntu 14.04
    User avatar
    Zwopper
    Level 10
    Level 10
     
    Posts: 3101
    Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 12:20 pm
    Location: Deep in the Swedish woods

    Re: Dual-Boot: Daryna & WIN98SE

    Postby mcurran on Mon Jan 28, 2008 12:37 pm

    SuperGrubDisk didn't work. I was already able get to and past the Windows splash screen, but then the computer either just hangs on a black screen w/ a blinking white cursor, or displays a strange message about vrbackup and asks to run setup again. It's strange that the Daryna Live CD (Main Edition) configured the grub correctly the first time, but then wouldn't work after a reinstall. I was thinking it might have to do with the Windows Security Updates I added this time around, so I removed all of them, and tried again: Didn't work. I'm going to reformat the second hard drive and do another clean install of the Daryna. We'll see what happens. By the way, both times I went for the dual-boot (successfully and failed), I used the guided option and selected: Use entire disk. I have Windows 98SE on one hard disk, and Daryna on another. I also thought it might be because Windows 98SE might not want to start from the slave position, but that didn't prevent it from loading the first time around...
    IBM IntelliStation Z Pro [6227-ACU]
    Intel Xeon (3.4GHz) | Irwindale (x2)
    nVIDIA GTX 460 (1024MB-DDR5)
    6GB RAM (800MHz)
    MULTI-BOOT: Metro/Mountain Lion/LMDE
      User avatar
      mcurran
      Level 3
      Level 3
       
      Posts: 100
      Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2008 10:32 pm

      Re: Dual-Boot: Daryna & WIN98SE

      Postby Zwopper on Mon Jan 28, 2008 12:47 pm

      ...try to rename win.com on your windows partition to win.old and then start your windows install, it should go quick and all your personal settings and driver should be intact.

      Good luck!
      Image
      My artwork at deviantART | My Tweet
      CREA DIEM!
      Lenovo E320 | 8GB | 512GB Samsung 840 PRO - SSD | Ubuntu 14.04
      User avatar
      Zwopper
      Level 10
      Level 10
       
      Posts: 3101
      Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 12:20 pm
      Location: Deep in the Swedish woods

      Re: Dual-Boot: Daryna & WIN98SE

      Postby mcurran on Tue Jan 29, 2008 11:35 am

      There is no WIN.com folder on my Windows hard drive. Something I did was different this time around, and I think it's because I set the second hard drive to master before installing linux on it, so the automatic install of grub didn't configure for a boot from the slave position. Somehow these configurations determine how to make Windows 98 still think it's on the primary drive. Windows will only successfully load, if I plug it in as master. Is there any way I can edit the grub, so that Windows 98 is set at slave, but still thinks its number one? Or would it just be easier to plug in only Windows 98, fix \mbr, then install linux on the second drive while in the slave position, keeping Windows 98 on master (Will this enable grub to boot on power on, or will it just load windows). I'm not familiar enough with grub, to determine the exact procedure, so I've been doing the runaround forever. Sucks I got it right and then had to reinstall linux and mess everything up. I assume there's an easy way to just type something in grub to make Windows believe it's number one from the slave position, or just reinstall grub from the slave position??? Someone please clear this up for me...
      IBM IntelliStation Z Pro [6227-ACU]
      Intel Xeon (3.4GHz) | Irwindale (x2)
      nVIDIA GTX 460 (1024MB-DDR5)
      6GB RAM (800MHz)
      MULTI-BOOT: Metro/Mountain Lion/LMDE
        User avatar
        mcurran
        Level 3
        Level 3
         
        Posts: 100
        Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2008 10:32 pm

        Re: Dual-Boot: Daryna & WIN98SE

        Postby Zwopper on Tue Jan 29, 2008 12:01 pm

        mcurran wrote:There is no WIN.com folder on my Windows hard drive. ...

        It's a file, not a folder, but it's hidden, just type:
        Code: Select all
         ren win.com win.old
        at the DOS-prompt
        and reboot with the windows CD loaded...

        ...don't know about GRUB though, SuperGrub fixed it for me...
        Image
        My artwork at deviantART | My Tweet
        CREA DIEM!
        Lenovo E320 | 8GB | 512GB Samsung 840 PRO - SSD | Ubuntu 14.04
        User avatar
        Zwopper
        Level 10
        Level 10
         
        Posts: 3101
        Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 12:20 pm
        Location: Deep in the Swedish woods

        Re: Dual-Boot: Daryna & WIN98SE

        Postby mcurran on Wed Jan 30, 2008 11:56 am

        I heard you could map the slave drive in grub, and fool 98 into thinking it was master, but when I went to put-in the code, I noticed it was already there. Then Windows completely failed because I mounted the drive from Linux: I was so frustrated I didn't realize this was the reason why it wasn't loading, and I reformatted. I'm doing a clean reinstall of both OS's. I plan on doing a clean install of WIN98 on my 12GB drive, move that drive to slave, and insert the 80GB drive to master and install Mint. Hopefully this will produce the same results as my first attempt when it worked. I do not remember if this was the exact procedure (when it worked), or if I put the 80GB drive in as slave and installed Linux to that drive, and then switched the drive positions after the install. I'll let you know if it works. I'm getting really tired of this. I should just use Linux alone, but that would defeat the whole purpose of me buying the new drive for this dual boot deal.
        IBM IntelliStation Z Pro [6227-ACU]
        Intel Xeon (3.4GHz) | Irwindale (x2)
        nVIDIA GTX 460 (1024MB-DDR5)
        6GB RAM (800MHz)
        MULTI-BOOT: Metro/Mountain Lion/LMDE
          User avatar
          mcurran
          Level 3
          Level 3
           
          Posts: 100
          Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2008 10:32 pm

          Re: Dual-Boot: Daryna & WIN98SE

          Postby mcurran on Fri Feb 01, 2008 5:44 pm

          I reinstalled both operating systems and get the same problem again. What a waste of time.

          I don't really understand, I completely get how grub works now and the mapping setup looks fine, but for some reason windows 98SE will shows the splash screen, then this grub entry, then doesn't load? Anyone have any suggestions?

          title Windows 98 SECOND EDITION
          root (hd1,0)
          map (hd0,0) (hd1,0)
          map (hd1,0) (hd0,1)
          savedefault
          makeactive
          chainloader +1

          I've also tried changing root with rootnoverify, putting root entry after mapping entries (does this matter), switching BIOS boot priority (2nd Drive first), and mapping without mentioning which partition. I'm out of ideas...

          I still think Windoze is not being tricked for some reason, and I've even uninstalled any drivers that would override my BIOS in Windoze.

          When I installed windows, I installed from the hard disk, so I copied the setup disk D:>WIN98 to C:\WIN98, then ran setup from that (C:\WIN98\SETUP): Does this mean there is an extra partition in there I need to account for somewhere in the boot commands? I didn't think that would matter because I thought control was given to the MBR when you put in chainloader +1, and if this starts up on it's own, then it would when grub passes it, right?
          IBM IntelliStation Z Pro [6227-ACU]
          Intel Xeon (3.4GHz) | Irwindale (x2)
          nVIDIA GTX 460 (1024MB-DDR5)
          6GB RAM (800MHz)
          MULTI-BOOT: Metro/Mountain Lion/LMDE
            User avatar
            mcurran
            Level 3
            Level 3
             
            Posts: 100
            Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2008 10:32 pm

            Re: Dual-Boot: Daryna & WIN98SE

            Postby mcurran on Mon Feb 04, 2008 3:17 pm

            I got it WORKING, you need to install Mint from the slave position and leave it there. I'm not sure if this is the only way, but I couldn't figure-out or fix Windows to boot up from the slave position after three weeks of online referencing and how to's. I wish I knew it was that easy, I just assumed Linux needed to be the primary hd to load on power-on.

            Well it worked for a day, until I ran disk defrag in Windows 98 and went to bed. I woke up to a black screen, flashing cursor and pointer. "Windows security error. You need to restart your computer." Supergrubdisk boots windows, Daryna won't. (Sorry for replying to my own post, but I haven't gotten any help).
            IBM IntelliStation Z Pro [6227-ACU]
            Intel Xeon (3.4GHz) | Irwindale (x2)
            nVIDIA GTX 460 (1024MB-DDR5)
            6GB RAM (800MHz)
            MULTI-BOOT: Metro/Mountain Lion/LMDE
              User avatar
              mcurran
              Level 3
              Level 3
               
              Posts: 100
              Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2008 10:32 pm

              Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
               

              Return to Installation & Boot

              Who is online

              Users browsing this forum: Fox7799 and 13 guests