Fatal Error

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Fatal Error

Postby viking on Mon Jan 28, 2008 12:55 am

When I am trying to install mint I get this fatal error saying that it could not install grub to sda3 which is the root partition for my mint installation. I am going to use gag as my boot manager. I have tried the install twice now with the same result.
User avatar
viking
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2007 3:23 am
Location: Vancouver Island

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Fatal Error

Postby Husse on Mon Jan 28, 2008 7:07 am

How/what are you trying to do?
If you don't put grub (stage 1) in the MBR of the "first" disk you have to have some kind of boot loader there. Apart from that putting grub in (hd2,2) should work OK
You may not be aware that grub counts from zero
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Fatal Error

Postby viking on Tue Jan 29, 2008 1:42 pm

Husse wrote:How/what are you trying to do?
If you don't put grub (stage 1) in the MBR of the "first" disk you have to have some kind of boot loader there. Apart from that putting grub in (hd2,2) should work OK
You may not be aware that grub counts from zero


I am using GAG as the bootloader. My mint partition will be sda5 and if grub counts from zero, I put grub in (sda4) but I still received the fatal error.
Thanks for the reply.
User avatar
viking
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2007 3:23 am
Location: Vancouver Island

Re: Fatal Error

Postby Husse on Tue Jan 29, 2008 7:05 pm

You may be the first I've seen with GAG
I vaguely remember that it has LILO in the background
Can you try with just grub just to see that Mint is OK?
Or do you mean this litterally?
I put grub in (sda4)

Has to be (hd4,4) if you put Mint's grub in the same partition as Mint
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Fatal Error

Postby viking on Tue Jan 29, 2008 11:27 pm

Husse wrote:You may be the first I've seen with GAG
I vaguely remember that it has LILO in the background
Can you try with just grub just to see that Mint is OK?
Or do you mean this litterally?
I put grub in (sda4)

Has to be (hd4,4) if you put Mint's grub in the same partition as Mint


Yes I did mean this literally
I put grub in (sda4)
.

Has to be (hd4,4) if you put Mint's grub in the same partition as Mint. I tried (hd4,4) but still received the fatal error.
User avatar
viking
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2007 3:23 am
Location: Vancouver Island

Re: Fatal Error

Postby viking on Wed Jan 30, 2008 12:56 am

Success at last, I had to use (hd0,4) instead of (hd4,4).

The zero signifies it is the first hard drive and the 4 signifies it is the fifth partition.
User avatar
viking
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2007 3:23 am
Location: Vancouver Island

Re: Fatal Error

Postby Husse on Wed Jan 30, 2008 7:38 am

You are absolutely right - my mistake
If you want to put grub stage 1 somewhere else than the MBR you do it differently
grub> setup (hd0) # puts grub in MBR
The 'setup' command is the command that tells Grub exactly where to install Grub to
If you want to put GRUB into the boot sector of a partition instead of putting it in the MBR, specify the partition into which you want to install GRUB:
grub> setup (hd0,4)

This is described here
http://www.gnu.org/software/grub/manual ... B-natively
As you did not want grub in MBR - I think...
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Installation & Boot

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Neil Edmond and 10 guests