Creating Live CD help

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Creating Live CD help

Postby cratkins on Sun Feb 24, 2008 5:19 pm

Hello all, I'm new to the Mint forums and Linux in general. While I'm not a computer engineer, I'm by no means a windows noob.

I'm having trouble making a live cd (in xp). I made one last night for PCLinuxOS 2007 no problem, but something isn't working for Mint 4.0 Daryna (full).

I downloaded the torrent, and verified the checksum, so the download was good. Then I extracted the archive with WinRAR. The archive created 3 folders: .disc, casper, isolinux.

I used ImgBurn for windows to make an image from files. I used the directory that contained the 3 folders above to make the image. ImgBurn asked if that one folder was the root folder, so I said yes, since it contains the 3 subfolders created in the extraction. This is what I did for PCLOS 2007 and it worked. But of course, the mint cd won't boot. Also, I defraged the folder where I extracted mint.

Does anyone know if I did anything wrong? What folders/files should I use to build the image/ISO? Do I even need to extract them?
How can I verify the checksum of the disc with that of the ISO file so I know if the burn was good?

Here's my specs:

Win XP SP2
DFI Lanparty UT 250GB mobo
Athlon 64 3200
2 gigs PC3200 Kingston hyperX ram
HP 740b DVD RW
2x 80 gig HDD
cratkins
Level 1
Level 1

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.

Re: Creating Live CD help

Postby Fred on Sun Feb 24, 2008 7:29 pm

cratkins,