install vmware and put XP on it

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

install vmware and put XP on it

Postby leo5111 on Tue Mar 11, 2008 2:43 am

and also id like to mount my ntfs storage drive in windows xp in vmware any help much appreciated :D
User avatar
leo5111
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 312
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2008 2:32 am
Location: Escaped From Xp Hell

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: install vmware and put XP on it

Postby 900i on Tue Mar 11, 2008 4:05 am

Hi, have you considered Virtualbox over Vmware, its the opensource alternative. I have used it to run various guest OS's including XP. The NTFS mount should be no problem.
Intel i7 3770 LMDE Mate 64
User avatar
900i
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1014
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 9:30 am
Location: Wakefield, UK

Re: install vmware and put XP on it

Postby leo5111 on Tue Mar 11, 2008 4:15 am

ill try it you help me get virtual box situated?
User avatar
leo5111
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 312
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2008 2:32 am
Location: Escaped From Xp Hell

Re: install vmware and put XP on it

Postby 900i on Tue Mar 11, 2008 6:10 am

It's in the software portal
Intel i7 3770 LMDE Mate 64
User avatar
900i
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1014
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 9:30 am
Location: Wakefield, UK

Re: install vmware and put XP on it

Postby leo5111 on Tue Mar 11, 2008 12:00 pm

im installing mint in a few hours i meant if i have any problems installinng virtual box and help me get my ntfs storage drive visible and read-write-able in windows xp in vmware thanx :P
User avatar
leo5111
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 312
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2008 2:32 am
Location: Escaped From Xp Hell

Re: install vmware and put XP on it

Postby 900i on Tue Mar 11, 2008 3:12 pm

If I can, I will.
Intel i7 3770 LMDE Mate 64
User avatar
900i
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1014
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 9:30 am
Location: Wakefield, UK

Re: install vmware and put XP on it

Postby leo5111 on Tue Mar 11, 2008 6:55 pm

ok virtual box is in i created a machine but heres what i get when i try t start it
The VirtualBox kernel driver is not accessible to the current user. Make sure that the user has write permissions for /dev/vboxdrv by adding them to the vboxusers groups. You will need to logout for the change to take effect..
VBox status code: -1909 (VERR_VM_DRIVER_NOT_ACCESSIBLE).


Result Code:
0x80004005
Component:
Console
Interface:
IConsole {1dea5c4b-0753-4193-b909-22330f64ec45}
User avatar
leo5111
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 312
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2008 2:32 am
Location: Escaped From Xp Hell

Re: install vmware and put XP on it

Postby leo5111 on Tue Mar 11, 2008 7:37 pm

ok this is a pisser if i make a machine in root it starts windows installer so its some kind of permissions error but im lost as to how to fix it
User avatar
leo5111
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 312
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2008 2:32 am
Location: Escaped From Xp Hell

Re: install vmware and put XP on it

Postby 900i on Wed Mar 12, 2008 4:11 am

OK, go to Control Panel>Users and Groups. Then Manage Groups go down to vboxusers click on it and properties and then add yourself to the group. Close and then I usually reboot, but I think you can just log out and in again. Best of look.
Intel i7 3770 LMDE Mate 64
User avatar
900i
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1014
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 9:30 am
Location: Wakefield, UK

Re: install vmware and put XP on it

Postby leo5111 on Wed Mar 12, 2008 1:00 pm

that did it thanx! but now this is nutz i cant figure out how to install ntfs -3g i see something says it in package manager i hit install it but its still not around?? EDIT well isnt that hilarious now says permissions write and delete :roll:
User avatar
leo5111
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 312
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2008 2:32 am
Location: Escaped From Xp Hell

Re: install vmware and put XP on it

Postby leo5111 on Wed Mar 12, 2008 3:56 pm

does virtual box have usb support?? if so i didnt see where to turn it on and in windows i tried a usb dvd drive nothing
User avatar
leo5111
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 312
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2008 2:32 am
Location: Escaped From Xp Hell

Re: install vmware and put XP on it

Postby 900i on Wed Mar 12, 2008 4:42 pm

You're right, no usb support. Strange, there is if you install virtualbox for Windows, I did'nt realise that was missing.
Intel i7 3770 LMDE Mate 64
User avatar
900i
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1014
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 9:30 am
Location: Wakefield, UK

Re: install vmware and put XP on it

Postby leo5111 on Wed Mar 12, 2008 6:34 pm

ok well anyway can you help me mount my drive?
User avatar
leo5111
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 312
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2008 2:32 am
Location: Escaped From Xp Hell

Re: install vmware and put XP on it

Postby akshunj on Thu Mar 13, 2008 12:57 am

leo5111 wrote:ok well anyway can you help me mount my drive?


If you install the free (gratis, not open source) version of virtualbox from their website, it comes with USB support. Although it's buggy against the current Ubuntu/Mint usbfs setup. Here's the fix.

--Akshun J
User avatar
akshunj
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 151
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 11:24 am
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: install vmware and put XP on it

Postby martinfromdublin on Sun Apr 20, 2008 1:04 pm

Hi, I have the same problem but I try to replicate these instructions,I get so far then get this from the command line

root@martin-laptop:/home/martin# sudo edit
root@martin-laptop:/home/martin# /etc/udev/rules.d/40-permissions.rules
bash: /etc/udev/rules.d/40-permissions.rules: Permission denied

I need to get past this as I've already set up the new user group and need to complete this last edit and hopefully all will be well afterward.

Martin
User avatar
martinfromdublin
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 76
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2007 7:48 pm
Location: Dublin, Rep. of Ireland

Re: install vmware and put XP on it

Postby 900i on Sun Apr 20, 2008 3:39 pm

The command is:-

sudo gedit /etc/udev/rules.d/40-permissions.rules
Intel i7 3770 LMDE Mate 64
User avatar
900i
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1014
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 9:30 am
Location: Wakefield, UK

Re: install vmware and put XP on it

Postby martinfromdublin on Sun Apr 20, 2008 5:53 pm

Thanks for that but the problem still persists.My USB mouse and keyboard are recognised and were right from the start but VirtualBox can't see my USB floppy drive (needed to start the installation of WIN 2000 or 98) nor my exernal 320 gig hard drive (divided in 4 partitions) but strangly enough the VDI files are all stored on that external drive. Could I have created a conflict by accident? The USB mouse and keyboard are running off USB hubs, the external drive is on a direct connection.

I've created the usbusers group and added myself and root to it and editied the permissions rule file, here's what it now looks like;

# Sound devices
SUBSYSTEM=="sound", GROUP="audio"

# USB devices (usbfs replacement)
SUBSYSTEM=="usb_device", GROUP=”vboxusers”, MODE="0664"

# vc (virtual console) devices
SUBSYSTEM!="tty", GOTO="vc_end"
KERNEL=="console", GROUP="root", MODE="0600"
KERNEL=="ptmx", GROUP="root", MODE="0666"
KERNEL=="pty*", GROUP="tty", MODE="0666"
KERNEL=="tty", GROUP="root", MODE="0666"
KERNEL=="tty[0-9]*", GROUP="root"
LABEL="vc_end"

What should I try next and thanks for all the help so far, I'd really like to get this fixed as it'd save me having to re-boot to XP each time I need to run an 'XP only' application (one incompatible with Linux).

Martin
User avatar
martinfromdublin
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 76
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2007 7:48 pm
Location: Dublin, Rep. of Ireland

Re: install vmware and put XP on it

Postby newW2 on Sun Apr 20, 2008 10:41 pm

Make sure you have at least version 1.5.2 (?) of Vbox per the following link:
viewtopic.php?f=18&t=8532&p=53130&hilit=+Vbox+and+USB+#p53054
Also check the Vbox forum:
http://forums.virtualbox.org/viewtopic. ... ternal+usb
//edit newW2//
Looking around at other post O came across this:
viewtopic.php?f=47&t=11610&p=71253#p71253
It's a how to enable USBFS.
User avatar
newW2
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1081
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2007 10:24 am
Location: USA

Re: install vmware and put XP on it

Postby martinfromdublin on Mon Apr 21, 2008 1:54 pm

Thanks everyone but having researched on Inntotek's own website I see Sun Microsystems (who now own Innotek) admit there are bugs in the USB support. I've verified this by booting into my true XP partition and installing the Windows version of VirtualBox and the exact same issue occurs in that release so it's nothing I'm doing, the application itself is buggy. That means I could be chasing for a solution forever and never resolve it as it's nothing I'm doing.

Maybe future release of Virtual box will have the problem fixed but if I could ask one more thing and that's how do I verify which version I'm running and if I need to upgrade how do I do it.

Martin
User avatar
martinfromdublin
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 76
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2007 7:48 pm
Location: Dublin, Rep. of Ireland

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Software & Applications

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: phd21 and 22 guests