I erased my Ipod with Amarok!

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

I erased my Ipod with Amarok!

Postby davidblaine on Tue Mar 11, 2008 2:25 pm

Well, Amarok did a great job of playing the music on my ipod. Of course when I wanted to disconnect, I needed to eject the drive. I'm not sure which menu I used or what item I selected, but when I was done, my ipod was wiped, including the operating system.

Hmmm, can someone tell me the correct way to eject, or is it called dismount, the device in Amarok? I've got the ipod working again, but I'm skittish about using it on this computer now.

Thanks bunches,

Dave
davidblaine
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 9:02 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: I erased my Ipod with Amarok!

Postby Husse on Thu Mar 13, 2008 8:31 am

There is a "Units" tab for connecting a unit like Ipod.
When connected you should have a disconnect option
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19714
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: I erased my Ipod with Amarok!

Postby davidblaine on Thu Mar 13, 2008 2:09 pm

This gets interesting, which means it gets frustrating.

OK, It turns out I did eject the unit correctly. There is an eject button. First the Ipod said to wait, then it said it was safe to disconnect.

After that, I couldn't use it as a portable player, because the Ipod said it doesn't have any songs. But it does. If I plug it back into Amarok, they're all still on there!

If I plug the Ipod back into a MS Windows computer, ITunes says it can't read the device.

I've been able to use Amarok to move my music library onto the Linux computer though, so that's interesting.

Any help is appreciated, thanks,

Dave
davidblaine
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 9:02 pm

Re: I erased my Ipod with Amarok!

Postby MagnusB on Thu Mar 13, 2008 3:41 pm

That is why I use Windows for my Ipod, in fact the only Ipod I have gotten to work properly in Linux is a 8GB Nano, my 60GB Video won't "accept" files transfered from Linux, meaning they don't show up at all. For me that is not an issue, as I need XP for school anyways (I got one laptop with XP, one with Mint & currently DreamLinux)
Image
You're not drunk if you can lie on the floor without holding on.
--Dean Martin
MagnusB
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1255
Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2007 12:39 pm
Location: Norway

Re: I erased my Ipod with Amarok!

Postby davidblaine on Thu Mar 13, 2008 5:19 pm

Yeah, I think that's probably the ticket. I found an article on this at Amarok's wiki, but the cure was worse than the disease. Kind of like going to LA from New York by way of Bangkok.
davidblaine
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 9:02 pm


Return to Software & Applications

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: rbmorse and 20 guests