AVG Free

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

AVG Free

Postby iironjade on Thu Mar 27, 2008 9:47 am

I have AVG Free installed and I'm baffled as to how to update it. In Vista the auto update can be left to its own devices but Mint says I don't have permission to update it and auto update doesn't seem to work.
Can it be updated or is it a waste of time having AVG at all? :?
"A good many dramatic situations begin with screaming."
iironjade
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 220
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2008 8:51 am
Location: London UK

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: AVG Free

Postby Fred on Thu Mar 27, 2008 10:14 am

iironjade,

In my opinion, running any anti virus, with the current state of the Linux world, is a waste of resources. The only reason I can think of for doing so is to help protect your fellow Windows users.

I do recommend you run your firewall, iptables, properly configured. You can use either Firestarter, (Gnome), or Guarddog, (KDE), to configure it to your needs.

Fred
Insanity: Doing the same thing over and over and each time expecting a different result.

Democracy is 2 wolves and a lamb voting on the menu. Liberty is an armed lamb protesting the electoral outcome. A Republic negates the need for an armed protest.
User avatar
Fred
Level 10
Level 10
 
Posts: 3356
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2008 11:59 am
Location: NC USA

Re: AVG Free

Postby iironjade on Thu Mar 27, 2008 10:19 am

Fred wrote:iironjade,

In my opinion, running any anti virus, with the current state of the Linux world, is a waste of resources. The only reason I can think of for doing so is to help protect your fellow Windows users.

I do recommend you run your firewall, iptables, properly configured. You can use either Firestarter, (Gnome), or Guarddog, (KDE), to configure it to your needs.

Fred


You may well be right but I was curious to see how it could be done (if at all). As any antivirus app depends on up to date definitions, I'd expected the update to be routine, even if not automatic.
The constant updating of such apps on Vista always makes me think I've forgotten to do something when using Mint. :)
"A good many dramatic situations begin with screaming."
iironjade
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 220
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2008 8:51 am
Location: London UK

Re: AVG Free

Postby Fred on Thu Mar 27, 2008 10:57 am

iironjade,

I don't know about AVG Free, I have never used it, but ClamAV has an option that enables automatic updates in the background. It just takes care of itself without user intervention. I would imagine AVG Free does also.

Fred
Insanity: Doing the same thing over and over and each time expecting a different result.

Democracy is 2 wolves and a lamb voting on the menu. Liberty is an armed lamb protesting the electoral outcome. A Republic negates the need for an armed protest.
User avatar
Fred
Level 10
Level 10
 
Posts: 3356
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2008 11:59 am
Location: NC USA

Re: AVG Free

Postby iironjade on Thu Mar 27, 2008 11:34 am

That's what I'm beginning to think. Maybe AVG are trying to make it idiotproof. Thanks for the idea. :)
"A good many dramatic situations begin with screaming."
iironjade
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 220
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2008 8:51 am
Location: London UK

Re: AVG Free

Postby rmuccioli on Fri Oct 24, 2008 9:24 pm

This works...

Rught Click on Elyssa -> edit menu" To launch the menu editor.

Find the AVG entry in Accessories. Right click its entry and select Properties.

In the "Command" box add gksudo to the beginning (ie. make it look like this "gksudo avggui")

Click on close for the AVG option then the same for the menu.

You will be now prompted for your password when necessary as AVG will only run with your password being supplied

And it works.....
Linux rules! Vista you know?
User avatar
rmuccioli
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2007 9:37 pm

Re: AVG Free

Postby Lantesh on Sun Nov 02, 2008 12:25 pm

rmuccioli wrote:This works...

Rught Click on Elyssa -> edit menu" To launch the menu editor.

Find the AVG entry in Accessories. Right click its entry and select Properties.

In the "Command" box add gksudo to the beginning (ie. make it look like this "gksudo avggui")

Click on close for the AVG option then the same for the menu.

You will be now prompted for your password when necessary as AVG will only run with your password being supplied

And it works.....


Absolutely right. If a program doesn't have permission to do what you need it to do all that is required is for you to run it as root.
Lantesh
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1219
Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 1:02 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Software & Applications

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 23 guests