Finally

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Finally

Postby neismint on Tue Apr 01, 2008 10:15 am

I have finally managed to extract xampp-linux-1.6.6.tar.gz into my desktop directory. It now appears as "LAMPP" Could someone tell me how i might install it please.
neismint
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2008 6:26 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Finally

Postby neismint on Tue Apr 01, 2008 10:32 am

Seems like i have to move the "LAMPP" file to "/opt". Could someone tell me how i can do this please. Thanks!
neismint
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2008 6:26 am

Re: Finally

Postby McLovin on Tue Apr 01, 2008 10:35 am

open an "open dialog" by pressing Alt+f2, and enter
Code: Select all
sudo nautilus
(if you're using gnome, not sure what the command is for KDE) and then just navigate to the directory, and put the file there.
User avatar
McLovin
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 788
Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2007 6:53 pm

Re: Finally

Postby Zwopper on Tue Apr 01, 2008 10:38 am

McLovin wrote:open an "open dialog" by pressing Alt+f2, and enter
Code: Select all
sudo nautilus
(if you're using gnome, not sure what the command is for KDE) and then just navigate to the directory, and put the file there.

For KDE:
Code: Select all
sudo konqueror

For XFCE:
Code: Select all
sudo thunar
Image
My artwork at deviantART | My Tweet
CREA DIEM!
Lenovo E320 | 8GB | 512GB Samsung 840 PRO - SSD | Ubuntu 14.04
User avatar
Zwopper
Level 10
Level 10
 
Posts: 3101
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 12:20 pm
Location: Deep in the Swedish woods

Re: Finally

Postby neismint on Tue Apr 01, 2008 10:55 am

I am running a "KDE" Desktop and i don't have konqueror installed. How would i move the file "LAMPP" to the "/opt" directory from a terminal please.
neismint
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2008 6:26 am

Re: Finally

Postby neismint on Tue Apr 01, 2008 11:04 am

Is the code below correct and enable me to move the "LAMPP" file into the /opt directory?

root@mint ~|# mv lampp opt/
neismint
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2008 6:26 am

Re: Finally

Postby McLovin on Tue Apr 01, 2008 11:34 am

Actually I belive you would have to cd to the directory where lampp is currently, and then the command to move it would be
Code: Select all
sudo mv lammp /opt
I think. (not sure on the move commands off the top pf my head, as I usually just open the filemanager as root and do it that way)
You should have konqueror installed, it is the default file manager in KDE.
On another note, your code shows you as running as root, are you logging in as root all the time? And if so, why? This is not good practice, as it kind of defeats one of the main reasons for running Linux, security, and makes it very easy for you to seriously screw your system up.
User avatar
McLovin
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 788
Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2007 6:53 pm

Re: Finally

Postby neismint on Tue Apr 01, 2008 12:03 pm

I really disliked using Windows and will never go back but at least i could get Xampp up and running with no bother. I have failed to do that with a Linux OS although i have to admit it being down to my complete lack of knowledge. Have deleted/removed the xampp archive file and shall have another attempt sometime in the near future when i become a little more knowledgable using Linux and with a different distro. In the mean while i would just like to say a big thanks to everyone who offered help and advice. Cheers!
neismint
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2008 6:26 am

Re: Finally

Postby Zwopper on Tue Apr 01, 2008 12:09 pm

neismint wrote:I am running a "KDE" Desktop and i don't have konqueror installed. How would i move the file "LAMPP" to the "/opt" directory from a terminal please.

Say what?
Konqueror is KDE's file manager, you DO have it installed.
Otherwise you could use:
Code: Select all
sudo mv /home/CHANGE_THIS_TO_YOUR_USERNAME/Desktop/LAMPP /opt
Image
My artwork at deviantART | My Tweet
CREA DIEM!
Lenovo E320 | 8GB | 512GB Samsung 840 PRO - SSD | Ubuntu 14.04
User avatar
Zwopper
Level 10
Level 10
 
Posts: 3101
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 12:20 pm
Location: Deep in the Swedish woods

Re: Finally

Postby neismint on Tue Apr 01, 2008 12:54 pm

Yep, you are right Zwopper, i opened the Package Manager and installed Konqueror from there!
neismint
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2008 6:26 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Software & Applications

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: attley, Chainy and 14 guests