Naming of applications

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
belovedmonster
Level 5
Level 5

Naming of applications

Post by belovedmonster »

I was just listening to the latest episode of Lugradio (http://www.lugradio.org/) and they discussed whether an application should be labeled by its generic name "music player" or its brand name "Rhythmbox". It raised an interesting point because there are usability arguments both way. On one hand it is easier for a total newbie to see "music player" and know what this is, but on the other hand there are so many advantages to knowing what specific application it is, especially when it comes to installing different software, troubleshooting the software and many other contexts

Ultimately I think the best solution is to have both on the menu. Rhythmbox - Music Player, Pidgin - Instant Messanger, etc. I think this gives the best of both words in terms of making it clear what the software is, and making it clear what it does. The only disadvantage really to speak of would be that menus would need to be slightly wider to accommodate both, but I think this is ultimately a small price to pay for clarity.

What do people think?
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
proxima_centauri

Re: Naming offapplications

Post by proxima_centauri »