Device Driver Manager - Help needed

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

Re: Device Driver Manager - Help needed

Postby Schoelje on Sat Dec 22, 2012 7:32 am

I see you have a ATI card:
Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI Cedar PRO [Radeon HD 5450]

Please install:
Code: Select all
sudo apt-get install fglrx-driver fglrx-amdcccle debconf-utils


Reboot and (this is very important) type this in a terminal:
Code: Select all
sudo debconf-get-selections | grep fglrx > debconf-fglrx.seed


Post the generated file debconf-fglrx.seed here.
I need to add what's in it to my code (to catch any questions by the driver's install program).
User avatar
Schoelje
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 791
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2012 6:25 am
Location: Netherlands

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Device Driver Manager - Help needed

Postby dcihon on Sat Dec 22, 2012 7:55 am

That fixed worked.
See file attached.
Glad I could help.
Attachments
ddm.doc
(13.01 KiB) Downloaded 43 times
Kernel 3.2.0-3-amd64 x86_64 (64 bit) Distro Linux Mint Xfce Edition
ATI - Tracking - Testing
User avatar
dcihon
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 276
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2011 2:15 pm
Location: Florissant, MO USA

Re: Device Driver Manager - Help needed

Postby zerozero on Sat Dec 22, 2012 8:46 am

zerozero wrote:and this time it installs fine http://pastebin.com/fnn3iRpA
well done again 8)


sorry my mistake but it doesn't work.
shouldn't be this driver afaik
Code: Select all
zerozero@zerozero-at-nadia:~$ inxi -N
Network:   Card-1: Broadcom BCM4312 802.11b/g LP-PHY driver: b43-pci-bridge
           Card-2: Marvell 88E8040 PCI-E Fast Ethernet Controller driver: sky2
           Card-3: NetGear WNA1100 Wireless-N 150 [Atheros AR9271] driver: ath9k_htc
Attachments
ddm.doc
(39.69 KiB) Downloaded 36 times
Image

[ bliss of ignorance ]
zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6492
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: Device Driver Manager - Help needed

Postby Schoelje on Sat Dec 22, 2012 9:06 am

zerozero wrote:shouldn't be this driver afaik
Code: Select all
zerozero@zerozero-at-nadia:~$ inxi -N
Network:   Card-1: Broadcom BCM4312 802.11b/g LP-PHY driver: b43-pci-bridge
           Card-2: Marvell 88E8040 PCI-E Fast Ethernet Controller driver: sky2
           Card-3: NetGear WNA1100 Wireless-N 150 [Atheros AR9271] driver: ath9k_htc


In the log I see it's installing firmware-b43-lpphy-installer, which should be the correct driver for chipset 4315.
But that doesn't seem to work?
What if you switch to the STA drivers?
User avatar
Schoelje
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 791
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2012 6:25 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: Device Driver Manager - Help needed

Postby zerozero on Sat Dec 22, 2012 9:31 am

Schoelje wrote:But that doesn't seem to work?
it works right after ddm finishes installing it: i get a nice NM pop-up with both cards connected; the problem is that after reboot it's gone :evil:
Image

[ bliss of ignorance ]
zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6492
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: Device Driver Manager - Help needed

Postby Schoelje on Sat Dec 22, 2012 9:47 am

zerozero wrote:the problem is that after reboot it's gone :evil:

I've heard many problems with that chipset. Did you try the STA drivers?
User avatar
Schoelje
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 791
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2012 6:25 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: Device Driver Manager - Help needed

Postby Schoelje on Sat Dec 22, 2012 9:49 am

Schoelje wrote:
zerozero wrote:the problem is that after reboot it's gone :evil:

I've heard many problems with that chipset.
could you:
Code: Select all
modprobe b43

Do you get a connection?
Did you try the STA drivers?
User avatar
Schoelje
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 791
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2012 6:25 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: Device Driver Manager - Help needed

Postby zerozero on Sat Dec 22, 2012 10:06 am

Code: Select all
sudo modprobe b43
gives me connection right away but i lose it again after reboot

but this way
Code: Select all
sudo su

Code: Select all
echo b43 >> /etc/modules

Code: Select all
exit

looks like this fixes it


but i though this modprobe was already done in ddm
Code: Select all
DEBUG modprobe b44, b43, b43legacy, ssb, brcmsmac

Code: Select all
DEBUG modprobe b43 22-12-2012 12:26:47 broadcom.installBroadcom INFO Done installing Broadcome drivers
Image

[ bliss of ignorance ]
zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6492
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: Device Driver Manager - Help needed

Postby Schoelje on Sat Dec 22, 2012 10:31 am

zerozero wrote:but i though this modprobe was already done in ddm
Code: Select all
DEBUG modprobe b44, b43, b43legacy, ssb, brcmsmac

Code: Select all
DEBUG modprobe b43 22-12-2012 12:26:47 broadcom.installBroadcom INFO Done installing Broadcome drivers


It is!
I don't understand why this isn't working for you.
If only there were more people with Broadcom chipsets trying this out.
The two of us testing cannot be regarded as thorough testing.
User avatar
Schoelje
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 791
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2012 6:25 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: Device Driver Manager - Help needed

Postby Schoelje on Sat Dec 22, 2012 10:42 am

@zerozero
Perhaps it's this (and if it is, you found a new DDM bug).
Do you have this file:
/etc/modprobe.d/blacklist-broadcom.conf
It's the blacklist that's being generated if you install STA drivers.
User avatar
Schoelje
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 791
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2012 6:25 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: Device Driver Manager - Help needed

Postby zerozero on Sat Dec 22, 2012 11:06 am

Code: Select all
blacklist b43 brcmsmac bcma ssb
this inside that file (/etc/modprobe.d/blacklist-broadcom.conf)
Schoelje wrote:you found a new DDM bug
:D feel so proud :lol:
Image

[ bliss of ignorance ]
zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6492
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: Device Driver Manager - Help needed

Postby Schoelje on Sat Dec 22, 2012 11:15 am

Now this is agile development!
It should now be fixed:
http://schoelje.nl/lmdekde/packages/ddm_0.5.0_alpha3_all.deb
User avatar
Schoelje
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 791
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2012 6:25 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: Device Driver Manager - Help needed

Postby Niks on Sat Dec 22, 2012 12:31 pm

After not having any desktop and major fight with drivers I managed to get the most resent ATI/AMD drivers in.....since I'm still having issues with the LMDE update 6 I would like to have that solved first before I change drivers again. 8)
User avatar
Niks
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 164
Joined: Thu Feb 11, 2010 6:59 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: Device Driver Manager - Help needed

Postby zerozero on Sat Dec 22, 2012 12:43 pm

ok solved.
uninstalled everything, removed b43 from /etc/modules and then ran again the latest ddm
i see that
Code: Select all
zerozero@zerozero-at-nadia:~$ cat /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist-broadcom.conf
cat: /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist-broadcom.conf: No such file or directory
zerozero@zerozero-at-nadia:~$
was removed :lol:
Attachments
ddm.doc
(41.25 KiB) Downloaded 36 times
Image

[ bliss of ignorance ]
zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6492
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: Device Driver Manager - Help needed

Postby Niks on Sun Dec 23, 2012 3:57 pm

Hummm update here .

I noticed that ddm does not show any activated driver !

Don't think that's right is it ?
User avatar
Niks
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 164
Joined: Thu Feb 11, 2010 6:59 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: Device Driver Manager - Help needed

Postby Schoelje on Sun Dec 23, 2012 4:21 pm

Niks wrote:Hummm update here .

I noticed that ddm does not show any activated driver !

Don't think that's right is it ?


Could you please be more specific?
If you run
Code: Select all
ddm -d

You can post the generated log file
Code: Select all
$HOME/ddm.log
User avatar
Schoelje
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 791
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2012 6:25 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: Device Driver Manager - Help needed

Postby Niks on Sun Dec 23, 2012 7:56 pm

The log you requested and a snap shot of DDM

ddm.doc
NIks LOG
(10.31 KiB) Downloaded 34 times

DDM.png
Niks DDM screen
DDM.png (62.16 KiB) Viewed 771 times
User avatar
Niks
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 164
Joined: Thu Feb 11, 2010 6:59 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: Device Driver Manager - Help needed

Postby Schoelje on Sun Dec 23, 2012 8:15 pm

According to your log, you have the fglrx drivers loaded.
This should have been listed in the Activated driver section and fglrx-driver should have been selected in the list below.

You just found a bug :)

I'll be looking into it...after Christmas.
User avatar
Schoelje
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 791
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2012 6:25 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: Device Driver Manager - Help needed

Postby Schoelje on Mon Dec 24, 2012 5:23 am

I couldn't help it, so I checked if I could reproduce your issue, and I couldn't.
A tell tale in the log file is this:
Code: Select all
24-12-2012 00:16:59 XorgConf.getUsedModule        INFO      Used graphics driver: fglrx

later followed by:
Code: Select all
24-12-2012 00:17:04 drivers.getPackageStatus      DEBUG     Package not installed: fglrx-driver


It seems that you have the fglrx drivers loaded, but not with the fglrx-driver in the repositories.
Did you, by chance, install the ATI drivers from the AMD site?

Could you also post the result of:
Code: Select all
dpkg -S fglrx_drv

This will show the installed package that loads the fglrx module.
User avatar
Schoelje
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 791
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2012 6:25 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: Device Driver Manager - Help needed

Postby Niks on Mon Dec 24, 2012 8:27 am

Code: Select all
dpkg-query: no path found matching pattern *fglrx_drv*


And yes I did install the most resent Catalyst package from ATI/AMD but I had tried try to fglrx driver via DDM which failed due to not being able to input Y / N to questions.
This left me with a mess and the ATI refused so I had to purge fglrx and even then I had to force the ATI to install.
This could be why there are things left lying around.?

Maybe not anything to do with any of this but my screen capture only shows the opening screen as if the memory has got jammed. Again ( just in case zero zero reads this ) something I have been stuck with from day one of this repo but I thought was fixed with update 6 ...
.I think I have a bit of a graphic card driver mess and as yet not got it right!

Anyway Merry Christmas :mrgreen:
User avatar
Niks
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 164
Joined: Thu Feb 11, 2010 6:59 am
Location: Netherlands

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 
PreviousNext

Return to Software & Applications

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: dany18, WinterTroubles and 24 guests