Java not working properly on Maya

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

Java not working properly on Maya

Postby tgois on Thu Oct 04, 2012 4:58 pm

I just made 2 installations of Maya in 2 different computers (one 64 bits, the other 32) and, in both, i installed Chrome directly from the google repositories.
In both, java is not working properly on Chrome, although it's working fine on Firefox and Chromiun.
In some sites the selection boxes don't work. In http://www.dw.de, the news carousel is not working properly.
In my laptop, i have an earlier installation of maya and everything is working fine.
I had some java problems with the laptop in the begining, but now i can't find the website that i used to solve it and all the solutions that google gives me are things that i didn't do in this computer.

Has anyone had a similar problem and / or know a solution?

Thanks
tgois
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2012 4:32 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Java not working properly on Maya

Postby jbarbourx on Fri Oct 05, 2012 2:13 am

I have the same problem with chrome. Dunno if its a java problem or not though. A lot of websites don't show up correctly. I even did a fresh install and it seemed to fix the problem till i downloaded all the updates and installed some apps from the software-center. Even on the linux mint front page the release box when it switches from one box to the other doesn't show up right. I have to go to another tab or something then back to the page to see another picture in the box after the first one. Also on alot of pages the google search boxes don't show what you type in them. For example the page http://www.wset.com at the top right doesn't show what you type in the search box. I have no clue what is causing it. Firefox seems to do fine though. So it must be something to do with Google Chrome.
AMD Phenom II X4 N970 2.2 GHz
ATI Radeon HD 4250
16 GB DDR3 Ram
Linux Mint 13 Mate 1.4.0 & Xfce 4.10 Editions
Using Proprietary ATI video driver
jbarbourx
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2012 2:19 am

Re: Java not working properly on Maya

Postby tgois on Tue Oct 09, 2012 4:08 pm

I solved my problem by removing the amd driver that is installed by the additional drivers page and installing the latest driver from the amd website. now everything is working perfectly...
tgois
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2012 4:32 pm

Re: Java not working properly on Maya

Postby nvazirov on Thu Oct 11, 2012 3:58 am

Hi,

I'm new in Linux world, could you help me remove AMD driver.

Thanks.
nvazirov
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2012 3:56 am

Re: Java not working properly on Maya

Postby milans on Mon Nov 05, 2012 5:56 am

Try to do the procedure explained here:

http://www.techsupportalert.com/content ... a-Packages
milans
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2012 5:53 am


Return to Software & Applications

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests