Which version of Wine?

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Which version of Wine?

Postby Stickman on Sun Apr 13, 2008 4:41 pm

I can't get my router going as its drivers are on a disk and only compatible with windows. Because of this I need wine to run the disk, but I can't use apt-get to install wine due to lack of internet connection. I've looked on the Wine website and it doesn't say specifically which version i need for linux mint.

I presume its one from this page:

http://wine.budgetdedicated.com/archive/index.html

And once I've got the file via memory stick over to the linux machine how to I install it? Please help.

Many thanks
Stickman
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Apr 10, 2008 7:18 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Which version of Wine?

Postby sundayrefugee on Sun Apr 13, 2008 7:25 pm

You need to use the one for Ubuntu 7.10 Gutsy Gibbon ;-)
sundayrefugee
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 195
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2007 2:37 am

Re: Which version of Wine?

Postby rec9140 on Sun Apr 13, 2008 8:47 pm

Stickman wrote:I can't get my router going as its drivers are on a disk and only compatible with windows. Because of this I need wine to run the disk, but I can't use apt-get to install wine due to lack of internet connection. I've looked on the Wine website and it doesn't say specifically which version i need for linux mint.


What router needs drivers? ? ? ?? ? ? ? ? ? :?: :!: :?: :? :?

Most routers can be configured via web browser and worst case a telnet session.

Point konqueror at:

http://192.168.0.1

or

http://192.168.1.1

http://(insert IP addrss)

That probably covers 99% of the SOHO router base.

The higher end commercial stuff like Cisco, which I doubt you have can be accessed via:

telnet 192.168.0.1
telnet 192.168.1.1
telnet (insert IP ADDRESS)

Drivers for a router? ? ? ? ? ? ??
Julep....mixing.....KDE Done right, and minty.
http://www.juleplinux.com

Its been a great 3 year run! Thanks for the fish.. but time for new waters....
User avatar
rec9140
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 634
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2008 4:58 pm

Re: Which version of Wine?

Postby Stickman on Tue Apr 15, 2008 5:38 am

Oops - I'm an idiot - I meant WIRELESS CARD not router... I wrote that post under extreme fatigue (and a general dopiness...). Whoops :roll:

Sundayrefugee has suggested a version of wine, so should be sorted.

Cheers guys.
Stickman
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Apr 10, 2008 7:18 am

Re: Which version of Wine?

Postby rec9140 on Tue Apr 15, 2008 7:57 am

Stickman wrote:Oops - I'm an idiot - I meant WIRELESS CARD not router... I wrote that post under extreme fatigue (and a general dopiness...). Whoops :roll:

Sundayrefugee has suggested a version of wine, so should be sorted.



Ok, that makes a lot more sense...but.....

If you need to get drivers off a CD for the card, that still leaves me with a question....

The CD should be readable by linux to copy the files off, unless the only thing on there is a setup program :x with all the files compressed up. :evil: :evil:
Julep....mixing.....KDE Done right, and minty.
http://www.juleplinux.com

Its been a great 3 year run! Thanks for the fish.. but time for new waters....
User avatar
rec9140
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 634
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2008 4:58 pm

Re: Which version of Wine?

Postby Stickman on Tue Apr 15, 2008 8:51 am

Nah there are lots of files, but I don't know which I want or how to install them to Mint. And presumably, it can't install anything when working from a LiveCD because it can't modify the CDs data?

Cheers
Stickman
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Apr 10, 2008 7:18 am

Re: Which version of Wine?

Postby rec9140 on Tue Apr 15, 2008 10:41 am

Stickman wrote:Nah there are lots of files, but I don't know which I want or how to install them to Mint. And presumably, it can't install anything when working from a LiveCD because it can't modify the CDs data?




If you have two optical drives and can put the CD in a 2nd drive while the Live CD/DVD is in the first
OR

If you copy the contents of the CD onto a USB stick or SD card and then plug the USB stick or card in to the PC while the Live CD/DVD is running.

If you can read the CD, which from what your posting looks like theres probably something like:

d:\windows drivers\xp
d:\windows drivers\w98_me
d:\windows drivers\2k

Copy the files, from the xp directory to your home directory.

I am guessing your probably headed to use NDISWRAPPER, and some one proficient on that will need to step in, as I don't use it as my wireless is already supported.

Post a copy of the directory you've got and the card and some one can tell you what you need to copy over for NDISWRAPPER.
Julep....mixing.....KDE Done right, and minty.
http://www.juleplinux.com

Its been a great 3 year run! Thanks for the fish.. but time for new waters....
User avatar
rec9140
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 634
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2008 4:58 pm

Re: Which version of Wine?

Postby Stickman on Tue Apr 15, 2008 1:48 pm

rec9140 wrote:If you have two optical drives and can put the CD in a 2nd drive while the Live CD/DVD is in the first


I do have 2 optical drives, this is what I've been doing 8)

rec9140 wrote:Copy the files, from the xp directory to your home directory.


But I think herein lies the problem: the home directory is the cd, which I can't write to. And if I could, I wouldn't know where to paste the files to.

rec9140 wrote:I am guessing your probably headed to use NDISWRAPPER, and some one proficient on that will need to step in, as I don't use it as my wireless is already supported.


Well I don't know if my wireless is supported. It's being recognised by Mint as being there, and its seeing networks etc - it just can't connect to my router. Maybe the router is at fault. It says its only compatible with WIndows "and other OS's running a TCP/IP network". Huh???

Thanks
Stickman
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Apr 10, 2008 7:18 am

Re: Which version of Wine?

Postby rec9140 on Tue Apr 15, 2008 2:44 pm

Stickman wrote:I do have 2 optical drives, this is what I've been doing 8)


Makes life easier.
Stickman wrote:But I think herein lies the problem: the home directory is the cd, which I can't write to. And if I could, I wouldn't know where to paste the files to.


The unionfs will allow you write to the RAM disk that provides your home directory for now, it just disappears when you close out of the live enviro.
Stickman wrote:Well I don't know if my wireless is supported. It's being recognized by Mint as being there, and its seeing networks etc - it just can't connect to my router. Maybe the router is at fault. It says its only compatible with WIndows "and other OS's running a TCP/IP network". Huh???


Ok. Lets attack this from the start:

1) What router do you have make and model, please. Example Netgear WGR615V
2) What wireless card do you have, make and model, please. Example Intel 3945abg
3) Is this in a laptop? Desktop? Make and Model if prebuilt. Example Laptop, Dell Inspiron 9400

That line "and other OS's running a TCP/IP network" should cover Linux.

With the answers to the above questions we can point you to the correct drivers be it native or NDISWRAPPER.
Julep....mixing.....KDE Done right, and minty.
http://www.juleplinux.com

Its been a great 3 year run! Thanks for the fish.. but time for new waters....
User avatar
rec9140
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 634
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2008 4:58 pm

Re: Which version of Wine?

Postby Stickman on Tue Apr 15, 2008 5:00 pm

Thanks alot - that's really helpful. Here are my details:

1) Router is Netgear DG834G
2) Wireless card is Netgear WG311 v2. It says 54 mbps, 802.11g on the box if that's helpful.
3) The computer is a desktop homebuild (I knocked it together out of assorted bits). AMD Athlon XP2600+ (1.92ghz), 1.25 GB RAM, Radeon 9200 128MB graphics.

What is Unionfs?

I've tried the command line configuration suggested in the mintwifi wiki, but that didn't work, returning the error "No DHCPOFFERS received. No working leases in persistent database - sleeping." I wonder if this is something to do with the router itself. The router's firewall is set to block all inbound services: does the DHC protocol run with the above process count as an inbound service? If so we're no better off, because the default blocking of inbound services can't be changed (though new rules can be added). Or, is there any possibility its to do with the routers DCHP which can be PPPoE or PPPoA?

Eugh... this is so irritating.

Thanks again
Stickman
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Apr 10, 2008 7:18 am

Re: Which version of Wine?

Postby rec9140 on Wed Apr 16, 2008 12:21 pm

Stickman wrote:1) Router is Netgear DG834G
2) Wireless card is Netgear WG311 v2. It says 54 mbps, 802.11g on the box if that's helpful.
3) The computer is a desktop homebuild (I knocked it together out of assorted bits). AMD Athlon XP2600+ (1.92ghz), 1.25 GB RAM, Radeon 9200 128MB graphics.


This is what we need.


Stickman wrote:What is Unionfs?


http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/UnionFS

Stickman wrote:I've tried the command line configuration suggested in the mintwifi wiki, but that didn't work, returning the error "No DHCPOFFERS received. No working leases in persistent database - sleeping."


The wireless card did not get a DHCP response in the time allowed and thus timed out.


DHCP is the protocol that automatically assigns things like IP address, DNS servers, gateways etc...

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dynamic_Ho ... n_Protocol


Stickman wrote:I wonder if this is something to do with the router itself. The router's firewall is set to block all inbound services: does the DHC protocol run with the above process count as an inbound service?


DHCP is not an inbound protocol for your router its used for alot things, but for right now its not an inbound protocol. DHCP is and can be used to assign a cable modem various things just like a on your LAN.

Stickman wrote: Or, is there any possibility its to do with the routers DCHP which can be PPPoE or PPPoA?


Is the router working for your internet connection? Can other computers access internet based actions such as web sites, email, ftp, telnet at remote sites?

Double check that your routers DHCP server is activated... sounds like it may not be on and thus when the wireless card is attempting to get a DHCP response its not getting one.

Double check that and then try to get back on line with the wireless under LM and report back.

Does the KNetworkManager show other wireless networks including yours in the list of available ones?
Julep....mixing.....KDE Done right, and minty.
http://www.juleplinux.com

Its been a great 3 year run! Thanks for the fish.. but time for new waters....
User avatar
rec9140
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 634
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2008 4:58 pm

Re: Which version of Wine?

Postby Stickman on Wed Apr 16, 2008 4:27 pm

1) The router is working for the internet with other computers, all of which can access the internet without a problem. The same computer I use LM on thru a livecd is the one that I'm typing on now, running windowsXP. It can get onto the wireless as XP but not as LM.

2) I just checked the DHCP and it is activated. It was under the LAP IP Setup menu - is this the right thing?

3) Knetwork manager does indeed show my network as well as others from the street.

This is pretty nuts, eh?? I just don't see how this can be down to the card, as it didnt need drivers installed or anything - it just worked, and it sees networks. Just wish I knew why the router doesn't want to play ball. Thanks btw - learning what DHCP and unionfs are is helpful - thanks for the 'wikimmendations'!Slowly learning the linux lingo...
Stickman
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Apr 10, 2008 7:18 am

Re: Which version of Wine?

Postby rec9140 on Thu Apr 17, 2008 11:33 am

Stickman wrote:1) The router is working for the internet with other computers, all of which can access the internet without a proble.... wireless as XP but not as LM.


Good.
Stickman wrote:2) I just checked the DHCP and it is activated. It was under the LAP IP Setup menu - is this the right thing?


If its under LAN Setup, and it says DHCP Server and its ON, thats it.

Stickman wrote:3) Knetwork manager does indeed show my network as well as others from the street.


Are you using WPA or WEP on the router? ? ? If so did you configure that on the card

Do you have another wireless router especially another brand you could swap out to test?

Alternatively...

** PROCEED CAREFULLY ***

As a TEST and ONLY A TEST.... Are there any unsecure networks on that list? We need unsecure networks to keep things simple and not worry about WEP/WPA issues.

If so try to connect and then see if you can browse to news.google.com

THEN DISCONNECT IMMEDIATELY! !

If at possible maybe one of your neighbors will give permission to test with their router if its unsecure. If not try the above and only the above quickly as a test. DO NOT USE IT FOR ANYTHING ELSE. Its not ethcial, moral, and potentially could be criminal in some US states. HEED THIS WARNING. A quick test is one thing, permanent/constant use is another.

If that works its the router thats the issue.

If it doesn't work we need to be able to troubleshoot the card
Julep....mixing.....KDE Done right, and minty.
http://www.juleplinux.com

Its been a great 3 year run! Thanks for the fish.. but time for new waters....
User avatar
rec9140
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 634
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2008 4:58 pm

Re: Which version of Wine?

Postby Stickman on Sun Apr 20, 2008 11:02 am

All the local networks are WEP/WPA/WPApsk enabled, and nobody who'd let me on (next door on one side is empty, and other side the people are a nightmare, and I don't know who the other wirelesses belong to).

I am going away to Birmingham to take my final exams for my degree, so won't have access to the machine I'm trying to use on LM for a month from this evening.

Thanks to everyone for trying to help: evidently there is something strange going on here. When I get back I'm going to do a proper hard-drive LM installation and work on it from there, however long it takes!

Keep well everyone. Back soon (hopefully with a degree :S)
Stickman
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Apr 10, 2008 7:18 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Software & Applications

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: oblador, yigit and 19 guests