mintUpdate icon says "up to date" - even if updates avail

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Re: mintUpdate icon says "up to date" - even if updates avai

Postby niowluka on Sun Jul 13, 2014 10:51 am

You deleted it allright, second command did it.

Let us know if it helped.

BTW, the thread was a bug report. The file was not deleted when package 'synaptic' was purged. It didn't suggest the file is not required.
Mint 17 Openbox (MATE) 64bit | Linux 3.16.2 (Vanilla)

Gigabyte GA-880GA-UD3H | AMD Phenom II X4 965 3.4Ghz | G.Skill 8GB DDR3-1600 RipjawsX, F3-12800CL8D-8GBXM | MSI R7 260X 2048 MB GDDR5 OC
User avatar
niowluka
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 316
Joined: Tue May 27, 2014 6:28 pm
Location: London, UK

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: mintUpdate icon says "up to date" - even if updates avai

Postby norm.h on Sun Jul 13, 2014 11:45 am

niowluka wrote:You deleted it allright, second command did it. Let us know if it helped.

Thanks - I get it now, and I will report back in due course.

niowluka wrote:BTW, the thread was a bug report. The file was not deleted when package 'synaptic' was purged. It didn't suggest the file is not required.


Code: Select all
I see a /etc/apt/apt.conf.d/99synaptic still there after purge.
Thanks for your bug report.
I fixed this in bzr now and it will be part of the next upload.

I took this to mean that it [99synaptic] shouldn't have been there - [after the purge].
norm.h
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 230
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2010 11:45 am
Location: Oxfordshire, UK

Re: mintUpdate icon says "up to date" - even if updates avai

Postby norm.h on Thu Jul 17, 2014 3:05 pm

Reporting back, as promised.
It's no better - my other laptop and my desktop box both found updates which this laptop failed to do.
Accessed and installed them by refreshing the systray icon.
If it's any help, this is the Update Manager Information file:
Code: Select all
++ Launching mintUpdate
++ Starting refresh
++ Auto-refresh timer is going to sleep for 0 minutes, 0 hours and 1 days
++ System is up to date
++ Refresh finished
++ Starting refresh
++ Found 15 recommended software updates
++ Refresh finished
++ Install requested by user
++ Will install language-pack-en-base
++ Will install language-pack-en
++ Will install language-pack-gnome-en-base
++ Will install language-pack-gnome-en
++ Will install file
++ Will install libmagic1
++ Will install google-chrome-stable
++ Will install libavcodec54
++ Will install libavformat54
++ Will install libavutil52
++ Will install libswscale2
++ Will install liblwp-protocol-https-perl
++ Will install libminiupnpc8
++ Will install transmission-common
++ Will install transmission-gtk
++ Ready to launch synaptic

(synaptic:9748): Gtk-CRITICAL **: gtk_widget_hide: assertion 'GTK_IS_WIDGET (widget)' failed
++ Return code:0
++ Install finished
++ Starting refresh
++ System is up to date
++ Refresh finished
norm.h
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 230
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2010 11:45 am
Location: Oxfordshire, UK

Re: mintUpdate icon says "up to date" - even if updates avai

Postby norm.h on Sat Aug 02, 2014 10:04 am

Two weeks on, and the issue is still not resolved.
If this is a bug, then surely it would affect all my machines?
norm.h
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 230
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2010 11:45 am
Location: Oxfordshire, UK

Re: mintUpdate icon says "up to date" - even if updates avai

Postby karlchen on Sat Aug 02, 2014 12:42 pm

Same unresolved problem here.
Yet, the fact that it does not affect all Mint 17 systems does not mean that the root cause cannot be a bug.
A software bug does not necessarily affect 100% of all machines where the software has been installed.
A bug may also strike under certain conditions only.
So we still do not know what the root cause is. We still do not know whether we are seeing a bug, or whether it is some change which we applied ourselves perhaps.

Karl
User avatar
karlchen
Level 11
Level 11
 
Posts: 3763
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2011 7:21 am

Re: mintUpdate icon says "up to date" - even if updates avai

Postby niowluka on Sat Aug 02, 2014 12:57 pm

Mine actually... works. I think I was a bit impatient earlier, but I left it alone for a week or so and one day it just showed up some updates. Most recently this or yesterday morning.

I know it doesn't help you much, but mine is a default install, only thing I tweaked are preferences.
Mint 17 Openbox (MATE) 64bit | Linux 3.16.2 (Vanilla)

Gigabyte GA-880GA-UD3H | AMD Phenom II X4 965 3.4Ghz | G.Skill 8GB DDR3-1600 RipjawsX, F3-12800CL8D-8GBXM | MSI R7 260X 2048 MB GDDR5 OC
User avatar
niowluka
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 316
Joined: Tue May 27, 2014 6:28 pm
Location: London, UK

Re: mintUpdate icon says "up to date" - even if updates avai

Postby norm.h on Sat Aug 02, 2014 2:17 pm

As I've said before, the Mint 17 install is the same on all my machines, and from the same DVD.
I too, haven't tweaked anything (not knowingly anyway) except preferences, and the only difference between the machines is the programs I've installed beyond the defaults.
Is it at all possible that different hardware could be responsible???

Karlchen - your post makes me feel a bit better :D
norm.h
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 230
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2010 11:45 am
Location: Oxfordshire, UK

Re: mintUpdate icon says "up to date" - even if updates avai

Postby niowluka on Sat Aug 02, 2014 3:24 pm

Quit the instance that autostarted and run it from terminal:

Code: Select all
mintupdate-launcher

Set refresh to 1 minute or refresh manually and see if you get any errors. Double check if you have sudoers file /etc/sudoers.d/mintupdate.
Mint 17 Openbox (MATE) 64bit | Linux 3.16.2 (Vanilla)

Gigabyte GA-880GA-UD3H | AMD Phenom II X4 965 3.4Ghz | G.Skill 8GB DDR3-1600 RipjawsX, F3-12800CL8D-8GBXM | MSI R7 260X 2048 MB GDDR5 OC
User avatar
niowluka
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 316
Joined: Tue May 27, 2014 6:28 pm
Location: London, UK

Re: mintUpdate icon says "up to date" - even if updates avai

Postby norm.h on Sun Aug 03, 2014 6:20 am

I can't stop an instance that doesn't auto start - which seems to be the problem (or part of it).

I have the sudoers file - never altered it. This is it:
Code: Select all
# Allow any user to check for new system updates without
# requiring user authentication.
Cmnd_Alias UPDATE = /usr/lib/linuxmint/mintUpdate/checkAPT.py
ALL ALL = NOPASSWD:UPDATE


I've reset refresh to 5 minutes, but what is the note in the screenshot telling me?
Attachments
Screenshot.png
norm.h
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 230
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2010 11:45 am
Location: Oxfordshire, UK

Re: mintUpdate icon says "up to date" - even if updates avai

Postby niowluka on Sun Aug 03, 2014 7:54 am

norm.h wrote:I can't stop an instance that doesn't auto start - which seems to be the problem (or part of it).

Course you can:
1) right click on tray icon and 'Quit'
2) if that doesn't work (I don't know why it wouldn't), kill the bugger:
Code: Select all
sudo killall mintUpdate
sudo killall mintupdate-launcher

3) or you can stop it from autostarting altogether

norm.h wrote:I've reset refresh to 5 minutes, but what is the note in the screenshot telling me?

Just that it will not autorefresh while that window is open, i.e. you need to close the window to tray.
Mint 17 Openbox (MATE) 64bit | Linux 3.16.2 (Vanilla)

Gigabyte GA-880GA-UD3H | AMD Phenom II X4 965 3.4Ghz | G.Skill 8GB DDR3-1600 RipjawsX, F3-12800CL8D-8GBXM | MSI R7 260X 2048 MB GDDR5 OC
User avatar
niowluka
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 316
Joined: Tue May 27, 2014 6:28 pm
Location: London, UK

Re: mintUpdate icon says "up to date" - even if updates avai

Postby norm.h on Sun Aug 03, 2014 9:11 am

niowluka wrote:1) right click on tray icon and 'Quit'.

Duh, :oops:

Anyway,
Code: Select all
normh@normh-nspire ~ $ mintupdate-launcher

(mintUpdate.py:5760): libglade-WARNING **: unknown attribute `swapped' for <signal>.
(mintUpdate.py:5760): libglade-WARNING **: unknown attribute `swapped' for <signal>.
(mintUpdate.py:5760): libglade-WARNING **: unknown attribute `swapped' for <signal>.
(mintUpdate.py:5760): libglade-WARNING **: unknown attribute `swapped' for <signal>.

What's this telling me?
Last edited by norm.h on Sun Aug 03, 2014 9:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
norm.h
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 230
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2010 11:45 am
Location: Oxfordshire, UK

Re: mintUpdate icon says "up to date" - even if updates avai

Postby niowluka on Sun Aug 03, 2014 9:15 am

Nothing... Was that after 5 minutes (i.e. when refreshing) ? We want to see if there is any error while it tries to autorefresh.
Mint 17 Openbox (MATE) 64bit | Linux 3.16.2 (Vanilla)

Gigabyte GA-880GA-UD3H | AMD Phenom II X4 965 3.4Ghz | G.Skill 8GB DDR3-1600 RipjawsX, F3-12800CL8D-8GBXM | MSI R7 260X 2048 MB GDDR5 OC
User avatar
niowluka
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 316
Joined: Tue May 27, 2014 6:28 pm
Location: London, UK

Re: mintUpdate icon says "up to date" - even if updates avai

Postby norm.h on Sun Aug 03, 2014 9:19 am

niowluka wrote:Nothing... Was that after 5 minutes (i.e. when refreshing) ? We want to see if there is any error while it tries to autorefresh.

Probably not 5 minutes.
I'll wait a few and try again.

Still just getting the same:

Code: Select all
normh@normh-nspire ~ $ mintupdate-launcher
(mintUpdate.py:5760): libglade-WARNING **: unknown attribute `swapped' for <signal>.
(mintUpdate.py:5760): libglade-WARNING **: unknown attribute `swapped' for <signal>.
(mintUpdate.py:5760): libglade-WARNING **: unknown attribute `swapped' for <signal>.
(mintUpdate.py:5760): libglade-WARNING **: unknown attribute `swapped' for <signal>.
Killed

normh@normh-nspire ~ $ mintupdate-launcher
(mintUpdate.py:5946): libglade-WARNING **: unknown attribute `swapped' for <signal>.
(mintUpdate.py:5946): libglade-WARNING **: unknown attribute `swapped' for <signal>.
(mintUpdate.py:5946): libglade-WARNING **: unknown attribute `swapped' for <signal>.
(mintUpdate.py:5946): libglade-WARNING **: unknown attribute `swapped' for <signal>.
Terminated

normh@normh-nspire ~ $ mintupdate-launcher
mintUpdate.py:6003): libglade-WARNING **: unknown attribute `swapped' for <signal>.
(mintUpdate.py:6003): libglade-WARNING **: unknown attribute `swapped' for <signal>.
(mintUpdate.py:6003): libglade-WARNING **: unknown attribute `swapped' for <signal>.
(mintUpdate.py:6003): libglade-WARNING **: unknown attribute `swapped' for <signal>.


Perhaps best to wait until I know from the other laptop, that updates are actually available?
norm.h
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 230
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2010 11:45 am
Location: Oxfordshire, UK

Re: mintUpdate icon says "up to date" - even if updates avai

Postby norm.h on Sun Aug 03, 2014 9:38 am

This looks promising (my bold):

Code: Select all
++ Launching mintUpdate
++ Starting refresh
++ Auto-refresh timer is going to sleep for 5 minutes, 0 hours and 0 days
++ System is up to date
++ Refresh finished
++[b] MintUpdate is in tray mode, performing auto-refresh[/b]
++ Starting refresh
++ Auto-refresh timer is going to sleep for 5 minutes, 0 hours and 0 days
++ System is up to date
++ Refresh finished
norm.h
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 230
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2010 11:45 am
Location: Oxfordshire, UK

Re: mintUpdate icon says "up to date" - even if updates avai

Postby niowluka on Mon Aug 04, 2014 9:04 am

Yeah... So it does refresh as instructed, but decides none of the updates are relevant. Can you post screens of all your preferences tabs ?
Mint 17 Openbox (MATE) 64bit | Linux 3.16.2 (Vanilla)

Gigabyte GA-880GA-UD3H | AMD Phenom II X4 965 3.4Ghz | G.Skill 8GB DDR3-1600 RipjawsX, F3-12800CL8D-8GBXM | MSI R7 260X 2048 MB GDDR5 OC
User avatar
niowluka
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 316
Joined: Tue May 27, 2014 6:28 pm
Location: London, UK

Re: mintUpdate icon says "up to date" - even if updates avai

Postby norm.h on Mon Aug 04, 2014 3:04 pm

Screenshots of Preferences as requested
Attachments
Screenshot-2.png
Screenshot-1.png
Screenshot.png
Last edited by norm.h on Mon Aug 04, 2014 3:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.
norm.h
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 230
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2010 11:45 am
Location: Oxfordshire, UK

Re: mintUpdate icon says "up to date" - even if updates avai

Postby norm.h on Mon Aug 04, 2014 3:05 pm

Remaining screen shots of Preferences
Many thanks for your help and interest
Attachments
Screenshot-4.png
Screenshot-3.png
norm.h
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 230
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2010 11:45 am
Location: Oxfordshire, UK

Re: mintUpdate icon says "up to date" - even if updates avai

Postby norm.h on Mon Aug 04, 2014 3:35 pm

It found some - yippee...
Attachments
Screenshot.png
norm.h
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 230
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2010 11:45 am
Location: Oxfordshire, UK

Re: mintUpdate icon says "up to date" - even if updates avai

Postby karlchen on Mon Aug 04, 2014 5:08 pm

Hi, folks.

For comparison's reason, here is what mintupdate logs to the randomly named file in /tmp, when it has been launched right after logon:
Code: Select all
++ Launching mintUpdate in user mode
++ Testing initial connection
++ Connection found - checking for updates <============= it seems to really call /usr/lib/linuxmint/mintUpdate/checkAPT.py here
++ Starting refresh
++ Auto-refresh timer is going to sleep for 0 minutes, 2 hours and 0 days
++ Found 6 recommended software updates <============= ha! updates found!
++ Refresh finished
++ Launching mintUpdate in root mode...
This is on Mint 13 Cinnamon 64-bit, mintupdate 4.5.6-1. - Comments by me in order to mark the relevant lines.

Of course, no "Found" message will be logged in case nothing has been found. So the relevant line is the one telling us that checkAPT.py is launched. This line seems to be missing in the mintUpdate logfile on Mint 17, at least for those of us for whom it does not do what it should do: check for updates right after logon and then in the configured interval.

Code: Select all
++ Launching mintUpdate
++ Starting refresh
++ Auto-refresh timer is going to sleep for 0 minutes, 2 hours and 0 days
++ System is up to date
++ Refresh finished

You see what you do not see? Yep: not hint that mintUpdate bothers to launch checkAPT.py right after startup. No checkAPT.py, no updates detected, go to sleep.

On Mint 13 as well as on Mint 17 the required file /etc/sudoers.d/mintupdate is present, holds the right entry and is owned by root and -r--r-----
Still wondering what is going on or rather what is working differently on Mint 13 and Mint 17 ...

Karl
User avatar
karlchen
Level 11
Level 11
 
Posts: 3763
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2011 7:21 am

Re: mintUpdate icon says "up to date" - even if updates avai

Postby norm.h on Tue Aug 05, 2014 5:46 am

So after last evening's success (?)....

[quote="norm.h"
[....] Went (again) to my little-used desktop box, which also has LM17 from the same DVD as the two laptops.
Update icon in the system tray showed "system up to date", but as it hadn't been used for a while, I knew there were updates available.[......].[/quote]

but this time the icon showed updates being available although I've changed nothing on that box !

EDIT: and on this laptop this morning - another update (for gufw).
So something's changed - but it weren't me boss, honest :?

The refresh time on all 3 machines is now set at 30 minutes.
norm.h
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 230
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2010 11:45 am
Location: Oxfordshire, UK

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 
PreviousNext

Return to Software & Applications

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Pilosopong Tasyo and 14 guests