WINE compilation fails to find SOUND system !!!

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
AJSB

WINE compilation fails to find SOUND system !!!

Post by AJSB »

Hello,

1st post here :D

I'm kinda new with LINUX MINT and i have a problem...

I installed LINUX MINT 13 XFCE, updated and upgraded it, compiled and installed Kernel 3.6.6 (with my usual settings that include NO virtualization), installed NVIDIA driver 310.14 , installed STEAM client for LINUX, installed a bunch of software and some non-steam native games togheter with some Steam Native games and everything works PERFECT...

....except ETQW game VOIP that as usual with any distro with pulseaudio and my audio hardware, as soon as i press one of the keys that activates a VOIP channel , crashes game....solution for that is remove pulseaudio.

However, in a 1st stage i ddin't remove PA....i wanted to test if everything else was OK with it before that final phase.

Then, the moment to compile WINE 1.5.17 arrived and i had a nasty surprise.
I installed all missing dependencies except the ones about ISDN and OSS4 and proceed with ./configure...

Surprise !!! configuration reports :

configure: WARNING: No sound system was found. Windows applications will be silent.

This NEVER happened to me with any distro !!!
I gone on anyway , compiled and installed and launched winecfg....yeap....AUDIO test FAILS !!! It's completely mutted !!!

2nd attempt....removed everything , removed PA this way:

sudo apt-get purge pulseaudio gstreamer0.10-pulseaudio
sudo apt-get install alsa-base alsa-tools alsa-tools-gui alsa-utils alsa-oss
sudo apt-get install linux-sound-base alsamixergui gnome-alsamixer alltray
sudo reboot
gstreamer-properties

Selected ALSA for both input and output in Audio tab and tested with all apps (except WINE) including TOTEM....