Need fan speed software

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

Need fan speed software

Postby Wesdog on Fri May 02, 2008 6:31 am

Hey guys. Im new to linuxmint (linux really) and Ive installed darnya on my pc dual booting with xp. I have a problem. My fans are barely turning. I use speedfan in xp to bring the fan speed up but I cant find anything in linux that does the same thing. I logged into linuxmint last night and after 45 minutes of just browsing the web I logged back to windows xp. It showed my temps as being 127F and 148F. This is too hot. The fans are barely spinning at all. I have to get some software to up the fan speed or I wont be able to use linux. I dont want to burn up my cpu. I looked and searched and could not find anything that would control the fan speed software wise. My pc is a compaq presario 6450nx if that helps any.

If there is anything to help me please let me know. I cant use linuxmint until I find a way to make my fans go faster.
Wesdog
Level 1
Level 1

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.

Re: Need fan speed software

Postby Wesdog on Fri May 02, 2008 8:32 am

Anyone? There has to be some software to control fan speed out there.
Wesdog
Level 1
Level 1

Postby lakehousetech on Fri May 02, 2008 10:03 am

Have you tried setting fan speed from within your BIOS? That would be the best place to start. Usually most modern BIOS will have power management and temperature control options so you can keep those vitals under 50c. I'll do a search as well to find monitoring and control software, but I have to tell you I have never come across anything of the sort. Good luck.

Oh, you might want to do a search on Sourceforge. There are many projects there, and you never know what you can find.
lakehousetech
Level 4
Level 4

Postby Wesdog on Fri May 02, 2008 11:18 am