VirtualBox 1.5

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

VirtualBox 1.5

Postby Colin on Sat May 03, 2008 5:11 pm

I downloaded and installed VirtualBox 1.5 via Synaptic. I then went to System Tools under Applications and clicked on the Innotek link and the Welcome to VirtualBox window opened. Everything went well i think until i got to the Virtual Hard Disk. Got into a real muddle so i decided to leave well alone until i had sought advice from experienced user's. Could someone tell me where i went wrong please. Thanks
Colin
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Apr 30, 2008 11:18 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: VirtualBox 1.5

Postby 67GTA on Sat May 03, 2008 8:59 pm

What happened?
"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing." Edmund Burke
User avatar
67GTA
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1301
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2007 9:49 pm
Location: Kentucky, USA

Re: VirtualBox 1.5

Postby Colin on Sun May 04, 2008 2:00 am

I choose to give the memory 512MB and 10GB for the Hard Drive but got confused over whether to choose "new" or "existing" because i couldn't see a name for the virtual hard drive ?
Colin
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Apr 30, 2008 11:18 pm

Re: VirtualBox 1.5

Postby Colin on Sun May 04, 2008 3:30 am

Ok, i have now finally, set up the virtual hard disk with the following settings:

Type: Dynamically expandind image
Memory: 512MB
Size: 10GB
Audio: enabled "ALSA Audio Driver".

Thought i was ready to go but when i click on start i get this error message:

Virtual - error:
Failed to start the virtual machine LinuxTester

Help anyone please!
Colin
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Apr 30, 2008 11:18 pm

Re: VirtualBox 1.5

Postby carbon_unit on Sun May 04, 2008 7:36 am

Did you add yourself to the "vboxusers" group?
Image
carbon_unit
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2007 8:02 pm

Re: VirtualBox 1.5

Postby Colin on Sun May 04, 2008 9:05 am

How do you add yourself to the "vboxusers" group please1
Colin
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Apr 30, 2008 11:18 pm

Re: VirtualBox 1.5

Postby tawan on Wed May 07, 2008 12:51 am

i'm going to do a how to on this - it wont be that good at first but will help - i will put it in the how to section of the forums
User avatar
tawan
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 405
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2008 2:45 am

Re: VirtualBox 1.5

Postby Zwopper on Wed May 07, 2008 2:19 am

..and ready it is:

Tutorial!
Image
My artwork at deviantART | My Tweet
CREA DIEM!
Lenovo E320 | 8GB | 512GB Samsung 840 PRO - SSD | Ubuntu 13.10
User avatar
Zwopper
Level 10
Level 10
 
Posts: 3101
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 12:20 pm
Location: Deep in the Swedish woods

Re: VirtualBox 1.5

Postby miket on Wed May 07, 2008 6:57 am

Hi Colin,

Colin wrote:Ok, i have now finally, set up the virtual hard disk with the following settings:
Type: Dynamically expandind image
Memory: 512MB
Size: 10GB
Audio: enabled "ALSA Audio Driver".
Thought i was ready to go but when i click on start i get this error message:
Virtual - error:
Failed to start the virtual machine LinuxTester
Help anyone please!


When you created your Virtualmachine what did you assign for the CD drive ?
Did you assign the virtual CD device to the real CDROM drive, if so did you put a Bootable CD in it when you started the Virtualmachine ?

If you didn't assign the Virtual CD device to the real CDROM drive, did you point the virtual CD device to an ISO image of a CDROM for the
virtualmachine to boot from ?

It looks to me that you may not have had anything for the virtual machine to boot from !

I don't think it is a groups issue as the error message would have been different.

Mike.
User avatar
miket
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 524
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 5:50 am
Location: UK & France

Re: VirtualBox 1.5

Postby Colin on Thu May 08, 2008 10:00 am

I have installed VirtualBox and using: "sudo gpasswd -a log-in-name vboxusers" to add myself to the vboxusers group?
Colin
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Apr 30, 2008 11:18 pm

Re: VirtualBox 1.5

Postby Colin on Thu May 08, 2008 10:12 am

Success! I typed: "sudo gpasswd -a username vboxusers" Entered password. Output: Adding username to group vboxusers. Now all remains is for me to follow phonicboom's tut.
Colin
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Apr 30, 2008 11:18 pm

Re: VirtualBox 1.5

Postby Colin on Thu May 08, 2008 10:57 am

Have installed the program along with all it's setting but when i put the Windows CD into the drive and click on Start, i am informed that WindXP [powered Off] and failed to start the virtual machine. Also, the VirtualBox kernel driver is not accessible to the current user. Have decided to give up and call it a bad day. Too old to start learning new fangled things
Colin
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Apr 30, 2008 11:18 pm

Re: VirtualBox 1.5

Postby carbon_unit on Fri May 09, 2008 7:22 am

Sorry for not getting back to you.
I click the gnome menu button, Administration, Users and groups. Supply the password. Click Manage Groups, click vboxusers, click Properties and put a check in the box next to your name.
You will have to log out and back in before virtual box will run for you.
Image
carbon_unit
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2007 8:02 pm

Re: VirtualBox 1.5

Postby miket on Fri May 09, 2008 11:50 am

Hi Colin!

Don't give up now, you are so close !

Colin wrote:Have installed the program along with all it's setting but when i put the Windows CD into the drive and click on Start, i am informed that WindXP [powered Off] and failed to start the virtual machine. Also, the VirtualBox kernel driver is not accessible to the current user. Have decided to give up and call it a bad day. Too old to start learning new fangled things


Ok, once you added yourself to the vboxusers group you need to log out and then log in again for the change to take effect,
the group assignment is done at login time.

Once you have done this you will probably find that it works just fine.

Mike.
User avatar
miket
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 524
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 5:50 am
Location: UK & France

Re: VirtualBox 1.5

Postby rhvkl on Sat May 10, 2008 10:44 am

I've posted a way to work with VMWare in the Newbie-Forum. I personally prefer VMWare and gave up VirtualBox long time ago.
User avatar
rhvkl
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 141
Joined: Sun May 04, 2008 4:36 pm

Re: VirtualBox 1.5

Postby tawan on Wed May 28, 2008 3:03 am

don't miss the Tutorial on Virtualbox :)

Mint Tutorial on Virtualbox
User avatar
tawan
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 405
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2008 2:45 am

Re: VirtualBox 1.5

Postby miket on Wed May 28, 2008 4:00 am

There's nothing wrong with VirtualBox, just like VMware, it needs to be setup correctly to function.

rhvkl wrote:I've posted a way to work with VMWare in the Newbie-Forum. I personally prefer VMWare and gave up VirtualBox long time ago.
User avatar
miket
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 524
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 5:50 am
Location: UK & France

Re: VirtualBox 1.5

Postby rhvkl on Wed May 28, 2008 6:14 pm

You're right, AvanceIT. But the way to get it work is imho not as easy as it is in vmware, i.e. i had to remoce unique ids, because i wanted to port the machine from my vista laptop to my xp home pc, increment. savepoint adds a second vm-file with the exact filesize of your primary hdd (it doubles the needed space, looked at the vb-homepage: a bug), ...

:) I wasn't lucky with vbox and just wanted to give some users an alternative in case they didn't know that vmware is free, too.
User avatar
rhvkl
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 141
Joined: Sun May 04, 2008 4:36 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Software & Applications

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 20 guests