How do I kill X Server on Mint 14 to install Nvidia drivers?

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
BigCheese

How do I kill X Server on Mint 14 to install Nvidia drivers?

Post by BigCheese »

Hey!
I've done quite a bit of google-ing on how to install nvidia drivers (since Mint doesn't seem to correctly recognize my graphics card) and found quite a few posts on here about a similar problem, but all about older versions of Mint.
Now, I'm completely new to Linux (I don't even know what exactly x server is...) so any tips on what x server actually does and what else I need to be careful about are also greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

P.S. I'm using a thinkpad t430 with an nvidia NVS 5400M in case that's relevant.

Edit: I'm trying to install the 310.14 driver btw
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
billmc

Re: How do I kill X Server on Mint 14 to install Nvidia driv

Post by billmc »

X is the graphical environment. It consists of a server and a client. It is exactly opposite of what you would normally consider the server/client relationship to be. In this case, the server is on the machine you are using, generating the graphical display you see. The client, is the program sending its output to the server. The client can be on your machine or another machine.

Even though the philosphy is to use sudo for everything, I still like have "root" access. One of the first things I do after installing is to change root's password, so I can su to root if need be. I do this with the sudo command:
sudo passwd
it'll ask you for your password, then twice ask for the new unix password. The one you give twice will be root's password.