howto replace wodim with cdtools

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

howto replace wodim with cdtools

Postby badgerclan on Tue Jan 22, 2013 2:02 am

Like usual wodim is not able to chksum a dual layer DVD. Really would like to replace it with cdtools. Has anyone managed it in Mint 14? Wodim seems to be a step backwards compared to cdrecord. :(
badgerclan
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat May 21, 2011 1:23 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: howto replace wodim with cdtools

Postby nomko on Tue Jan 22, 2013 2:58 am

Which burning tool are you using? And what error messages do you get?
ASUS P5KPL-AM SE*Intel Core2 Quad CPU Q8200*4 GiB ram*nVidia GeForce 9500GT*Realtek RTL8101/8102E*Optiarc DVD-RW AD-7200A*HDD:Samsung HD501LJ/HD103SI*Sitecom X5-N600 Router (WLR-5100)

Visit my website:
My personal website
nomko
Level 9
Level 9
 
Posts: 2773
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2012 7:28 pm
Location: The Hague, The Netherlands

Re: howto replace wodim with cdtools

Postby badgerclan on Tue Jan 22, 2013 11:05 pm

Using Brasero, which uses wodim. No error message, it just never completes the chksum. Only does the single layer. However my question was how to replace wodim with cdtools. Prefer command line input.
badgerclan
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat May 21, 2011 1:23 am

Re: howto replace wodim with cdtools

Postby nomko on Wed Jan 23, 2013 3:35 am

badgerclan wrote:Using Brasero, which uses wodim. No error message, it just never completes the chksum. Only does the single layer. However my question was how to replace wodim with cdtools. Prefer command line input.

Brasero is known for being unstable and buggy. Also with the combination of Wodim. Although most burning applications uses wodim i never had any issues with K3B. So try that tool instead and see if you get any problems with K3B.
ASUS P5KPL-AM SE*Intel Core2 Quad CPU Q8200*4 GiB ram*nVidia GeForce 9500GT*Realtek RTL8101/8102E*Optiarc DVD-RW AD-7200A*HDD:Samsung HD501LJ/HD103SI*Sitecom X5-N600 Router (WLR-5100)

Visit my website:
My personal website
nomko
Level 9
Level 9
 
Posts: 2773
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2012 7:28 pm
Location: The Hague, The Netherlands


Return to Software & Applications

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: semi4 and 19 guests