Synaptic Package Manager [SOLVED]

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Synaptic Package Manager [SOLVED]

Postby Dr.U on Fri Feb 23, 2007 12:58 pm

I did some searching in the forum but did not find an answer to my 'problem'. If it is out there, then please excuse me for posting this.

My 'problem': I like using synaptic but would like to be able to have it set up in such a way that following a 'reload' of what's out there, only the packages that have newer versions available will be displayed. It looks like some sort of filter should do it, but my experiments to date have all failed. Can anyone out there explain to me how this can be accomplished -- or is it not possible to do this?

Thanks in advance,

-- Dr. U
Last edited by Dr.U on Sat Feb 24, 2007 5:36 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Dr.U
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2007 10:24 am
Location: Ettlingen, Germany

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Postby frank392 on Fri Feb 23, 2007 2:36 pm

Hi Dr.U,
On the synaptic Package Manager menu go to Settings => Filters.
Hope that is what you are looking for.
frank392
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 353
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 1:29 pm

Postby Dr.U on Fri Feb 23, 2007 4:19 pm

frank392 wrote:Hi Dr.U,
On the synaptic Package Manager menu go to Settings => Filters.
Hope that is what you are looking for.


When I wrote that I had been experimenting but without success, I was referring to exactly this menu entry: Settings => Filters. I tried various things, but nothing changed to what I want. If anyone knows how to set the filters up to do what I am looking for, then please write a brief description of the steps.

Thanks in advance,

-- Dr. U
User avatar
Dr.U
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2007 10:24 am
Location: Ettlingen, Germany

Postby |_NiGhTmArE_| on Fri Feb 23, 2007 4:37 pm

the filter that you want is already setted as default... after you have clicked on reload just click on Status (the button on the left-bottom) and then select Installed (upgradable), I hope that is the english name... now you can see all packages that have newer version
User avatar
|_NiGhTmArE_|
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon Feb 05, 2007 6:16 pm
Location: Italy

Problem SOLVED !!

Postby Dr.U on Sat Feb 24, 2007 5:35 am

|_NiGhTmArE_| wrote:the filter that you want is already setted as default... after you have clicked on reload just click on Status (the button on the left-bottom) and then select Installed (upgradable), I hope that is the english name... now you can see all packages that have newer version


Grazie mille!!! 8)

It never occurred to me to try clicking on the 'Status' button :roll:

Hope you are enjoying Bianca as much as I am: the Mint Linux Team has done a fine job!!

Ciao |_NiGhTmArE_|

-- Dr. U
User avatar
Dr.U
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2007 10:24 am
Location: Ettlingen, Germany


Return to Software & Applications

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests