run 32 bit application on 64 bit mint

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

run 32 bit application on 64 bit mint

Postby tom101 on Fri Feb 08, 2013 4:06 am

Hi,

I'm trying to run a 32 bit application (dropbox portable) on 64 bit Mint, but it fails with this error

Code: Select all
./dropboxportable: error while loading shared libraries: libfuse.so.2: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory


Is there any way round this?
tom101
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2013 9:44 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: run 32 bit application on 64 bit mint

Postby raymerjacque on Fri Feb 08, 2013 4:19 am

why not just run 32bit mint ? it is PAE enabled and detects more than 4GB ram.

or open synaptic manager and look for "libfuse" and see if its there and install it ?
MakuluLinux - The Big chief has spoken !.
check this out : http://www.makululinux.com
User avatar
raymerjacque
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 229
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2012 8:22 am
Location: Port Elizabeth, South Africa

Re: run 32 bit application on 64 bit mint

Postby catweazel on Fri Feb 08, 2013 4:38 am

raymerjacque wrote:why not just run 32bit mint ? it is PAE enabled and detects more than 4GB ram.


It can't possibly address over 4GB, which is the maximum that a 32bit system can address.
Last edited by catweazel on Fri Feb 08, 2013 4:43 am, edited 2 times in total.
Mint Testing Team & Mint Donor #3606
KDE 4.12.0, custom preemptive kernel 3.12.5,
Intel i7 4770K @ 4.7GHz, 16GB 2666MHz XMP,
4 Samsung 840 PRO 512GB SSDs in RAID0,
6TB HW RAID10, dual 24" Acer X243H,
Gigabyte nVidia GTX 680 Super Overclock
User avatar
catweazel
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1656
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 9:44 pm

Re: run 32 bit application on 64 bit mint

Postby raymerjacque on Fri Feb 08, 2013 4:42 am

Read here to have better understanding of how it all works and what PAE is : http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Physical_Address_Extension

It does. I am running 32bit Mate Nadia with 8GB ram installed and it shows and utilises all 8GB, Nadia is PAE enabled. You should read the release notes before you choose version to download :)

Release notes of Nadia :
PAE required for 32-bit ISOs

The 32-bit ISOs of Linux Mint 14 use a PAE kernel. If your processor is not compatible with PAE please use Linux Mint 13 Maya LTS instead. Linux Mint 13 is supported until 2017.


link : http://linuxmint.com/rel_nadia.php
Last edited by raymerjacque on Fri Feb 08, 2013 4:44 am, edited 1 time in total.
MakuluLinux - The Big chief has spoken !.
check this out : http://www.makululinux.com
User avatar
raymerjacque
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 229
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2012 8:22 am
Location: Port Elizabeth, South Africa

Re: run 32 bit application on 64 bit mint

Postby catweazel on Fri Feb 08, 2013 4:44 am

raymerjacque wrote:Read here to have better understanding of how it all works and what PAE is : http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Physical_Address_Extension

It does. I am running 32bit Mate Nadia with 8GB ram installed and it shows and utilises all 8GB, Nadia is PAE enabled. You should read the release notes before you choose version to download :)

Yes, my error, but then what is the purpose of having a 64bit OS? Oh, and Linus frowns on PAE...
Last edited by catweazel on Fri Feb 08, 2013 4:45 am, edited 1 time in total.
Mint Testing Team & Mint Donor #3606
KDE 4.12.0, custom preemptive kernel 3.12.5,
Intel i7 4770K @ 4.7GHz, 16GB 2666MHz XMP,
4 Samsung 840 PRO 512GB SSDs in RAID0,
6TB HW RAID10, dual 24" Acer X243H,
Gigabyte nVidia GTX 680 Super Overclock
User avatar
catweazel
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1656
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 9:44 pm

Re: run 32 bit application on 64 bit mint

Postby raymerjacque on Fri Feb 08, 2013 4:45 am

some people prefer 64bit maybe ?

Also for things like cad designers and such the 64bit os is prefered.

as for myself, I prefer 32bit for Wine. Wine and 64bit just is too buggy. Also, 32bit will run ALOT faster on 8GB ram than a 64bit will on 8GB ram :)

any particular reason he doesnt like PAE ?
MakuluLinux - The Big chief has spoken !.
check this out : http://www.makululinux.com
User avatar
raymerjacque
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 229
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2012 8:22 am
Location: Port Elizabeth, South Africa

Re: run 32 bit application on 64 bit mint

Postby catweazel on Fri Feb 08, 2013 4:51 am

raymerjacque wrote:Also, 32bit will run ALOT faster on 8GB ram than a 64bit will on 8GB ram :)


"Anybody who doesn’t get that is a moron. End of discussion." - Linus Torvalds

https://cl4ssic4l.wordpress.com/2011/05/24/linus-torvalds-about-pae/

After having been forced to work with HIMEM.SYS on DOS and Windows, he's right...

BTW, I was right too... No 32bit application can address over 4GB, even with PAE.
Last edited by catweazel on Fri Feb 08, 2013 4:56 am, edited 1 time in total.
Mint Testing Team & Mint Donor #3606
KDE 4.12.0, custom preemptive kernel 3.12.5,
Intel i7 4770K @ 4.7GHz, 16GB 2666MHz XMP,
4 Samsung 840 PRO 512GB SSDs in RAID0,
6TB HW RAID10, dual 24" Acer X243H,
Gigabyte nVidia GTX 680 Super Overclock
User avatar
catweazel
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1656
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 9:44 pm

Re: run 32 bit application on 64 bit mint

Postby catweazel on Fri Feb 08, 2013 4:53 am

tom101 wrote:Is there any way round this?

Code: Select all
sudo dpkg --add-architecture i386
sudo apt update
Mint Testing Team & Mint Donor #3606
KDE 4.12.0, custom preemptive kernel 3.12.5,
Intel i7 4770K @ 4.7GHz, 16GB 2666MHz XMP,
4 Samsung 840 PRO 512GB SSDs in RAID0,
6TB HW RAID10, dual 24" Acer X243H,
Gigabyte nVidia GTX 680 Super Overclock
User avatar
catweazel
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1656
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 9:44 pm

Re: run 32 bit application on 64 bit mint

Postby tom101 on Fri Feb 08, 2013 6:46 pm

^ Thanks, but it didn't work. I got the same error.

^^ I'm running Mint off a Live USB stick with persistent casper-rw partition. I would happily use 32 bit Mint instead, I don't really need 64 bit, but how could I achieve this without losing all the customisations I've made stored in the casper-rw partition? I spent quite a while getting things set up the way I want and installing missing drivers etc.
tom101
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2013 9:44 am

Re: run 32 bit application on 64 bit mint

Postby raymerjacque on Fri Feb 08, 2013 6:54 pm

wish i could help you there. I myself have re installed linux more than a dozen times over the last few months to get my desktop just right and apps working just the way i want them too. I have found no easy way to back up between installs. I simply made a list of everything i wanted to keep and then hunted down installers or links and made notepad files of instructions for stuff not in software manager, backed up my themes, aplets, extension folder, backed up my wine installers etc etc...

Was quite a job, but i have learned alot by doing it, i have a much better overview of file and directory structure now that i did not have before.

Maybe someone who knows linux better knows a quicker method ...
MakuluLinux - The Big chief has spoken !.
check this out : http://www.makululinux.com
User avatar
raymerjacque
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 229
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2012 8:22 am
Location: Port Elizabeth, South Africa

Re: run 32 bit application on 64 bit mint

Postby mipesom on Fri Feb 08, 2013 8:26 pm

tom101 wrote:Hi,

I'm trying to run a 32 bit application (dropbox portable) on 64 bit Mint, but it fails with this error

Code: Select all
./dropboxportable: error while loading shared libraries: libfuse.so.2: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory


Is there any way round this?


This MAY help you - it helped me to install Air/OLD Tweetdeck which are also only 32bit: http://jeffhendricks.net/?p=68
User avatar
mipesom
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2012 12:11 pm

Re: run 32 bit application on 64 bit mint

Postby tom101 on Sun Feb 10, 2013 2:23 pm

Thanks, but it didn't help. In the end I overwrote my 64 bit USB live key with the 32 bit version. Drastic..... but what the hell!
tom101
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2013 9:44 am

Re: run 32 bit application on 64 bit mint

Postby mipesom on Sun Feb 10, 2013 2:25 pm

tom101 wrote:Thanks, but it didn't help. In the end I overwrote my 64 bit USB live key with the 32 bit version. Drastic..... but what the hell!


:shock: Oops, but solved is solved. :D
User avatar
mipesom
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2012 12:11 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Software & Applications

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: all41 and 22 guests