Rhythmbox problem after upgrade.

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Rhythmbox problem after upgrade.

Postby orys on Sat Feb 09, 2013 9:37 pm

I had some minor problems with rhytmbox - getting stuck, not playing full files and skipping to next ones...

So I decided to upgrade it, and it turned out to be a mistake.

First I had that problem with canberra-something, which I solved as per another thread at this forum.

But it still do not starts. When I run it from terminal I got this:

Code: Select all
orys@orysiownia ~ $ rhythmbox
 
(rhythmbox:2335): Rhythmbox-WARNING **: couldn't load fallback icon rhythmbox-missing-artwork: Brak ikony "rhythmbox-missing-artwork" w motywie
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "/usr/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/gi/types.py", line 235, in mro
return mro(cls)
File "/usr/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/gi/types.py", line 249, in mro
bases_of_subclasses += list(map(mro, C.__bases__)) + [list(C.__bases__)]
File "/usr/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/gi/types.py", line 249, in mro
bases_of_subclasses += list(map(mro, C.__bases__)) + [list(C.__bases__)]
File "/usr/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/gi/types.py", line 249, in mro
bases_of_subclasses += list(map(mro, C.__bases__)) + [list(C.__bases__)]
File "/usr/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/gi/types.py", line 249, in mro
bases_of_subclasses += list(map(mro, C.__bases__)) + [list(C.__bases__)]
File "/usr/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/gi/types.py", line 254, in mro
not_head = [s for s in bases_of_subclasses if candidate in s[1:]]
File "/usr/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/gi/module.py", line 243, in __getattr__
return getattr(self._introspection_module, name)
File "/usr/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/gi/module.py", line 154, in __getattr__
interfaces = tuple(interface for interface in get_interfaces_for_object(info)
File "/usr/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/gi/module.py", line 83, in get_interfaces_for_object
interfaces.append(getattr(module, name))
File "/usr/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/gi/module.py", line 243, in __getattr__
return getattr(self._introspection_module, name)
File "/usr/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/gi/module.py", line 105, in __getattr__
self.__name__, name))
AttributeError: 'gi.repository.Gio' object has no attribute 'ActionMap'
**
ERROR:/build/buildd-pygobject_3.1.0-2-i386-S1vdYv/pygobject-3.1.0/gi/_gobject/pygobject.c:929:pygobject_new_full: assertion failed: (tp != NULL)
Przerwane
orys@orysiownia ~ $


I never seen anything smilar before, so I have no idea what to do with it. Anyone can help me?
orys
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed May 23, 2012 1:15 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Rhythmbox problem after upgrade.

Postby jungle_boy on Mon Feb 11, 2013 12:13 pm

Rhythmbox has always been problematic...
LM16 Cinnamon (PC); LM14 Cinnamon with AMD Catalyst (notebook)
HP Pavilion g4-1316br, AMD Quad Core, 1,5 GHz, Radeon 6520G/7450M,
Image
Linuxcounter Registered User #506065 (2008)
User avatar
jungle_boy
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1171
Joined: Thu Aug 19, 2010 2:51 pm
Location: Amazon Rain Forest, Brazil

Re: Rhythmbox problem after upgrade.

Postby orys on Mon Feb 11, 2013 12:36 pm

It wasn't for me... But thank you for your helpful insight :)

Btw: I just installed brand new Mint Debian on my netbook, there is the same problem. Banshee is working (unlike as on my desktop, where I have to listen to music from Clementine, which is very annoying, especially that multimedia keys at the keyboard does not work. I want my Rhythmbox back :P).

Apart from that I did not managed to find anything that could help me solve my problem, so if anyone have ideas, I would be grateful for your advice.
orys
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed May 23, 2012 1:15 pm

Re: Rhythmbox problem after upgrade.

Postby orys on Thu Feb 14, 2013 7:56 pm

Searched through the net and I have no idea where to even start, so I decided to install the previous version, but in synaptic that option (Force version) is unavailable. Does it mean that I can't do it, or it is still possible through apt-get?
orys
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed May 23, 2012 1:15 pm

Re: Rhythmbox problem after upgrade.

Postby zerozero on Thu Feb 14, 2013 8:22 pm

are you (re)using a HOME from previous installs?
User avatar
zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6435
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: Rhythmbox problem after upgrade.

Postby orys on Thu Feb 14, 2013 8:36 pm

zerozero wrote:are you (re)using a HOME from previous installs?


I guess not, as I installed brand new system on my netbook from scratch and there is the same problem.

I am not really sure what do you mean. On my dekstop It worked very well for years before, I upgraded it, it stopped to work. I removed it completely and then installed again, still not working.

I don't have any file or folder "rhythmbox" in my /home.
orys
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed May 23, 2012 1:15 pm

Re: Rhythmbox problem after upgrade.

Postby orys on Fri Feb 15, 2013 11:15 pm

I am giving up, I downloaded previous version's .deb package, installed it and all works fine again :)
orys
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed May 23, 2012 1:15 pm

Re: Rhythmbox problem after upgrade.

Postby jungle_boy on Sat Feb 16, 2013 8:43 am

OK!

Please, what version of linux mint are you using (11, 12, 13, 14, mate, cinnamon, kde, xfce, lxde, fluxbox), and what Rhythmbox you downloaded?
LM16 Cinnamon (PC); LM14 Cinnamon with AMD Catalyst (notebook)
HP Pavilion g4-1316br, AMD Quad Core, 1,5 GHz, Radeon 6520G/7450M,
Image
Linuxcounter Registered User #506065 (2008)
User avatar
jungle_boy
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1171
Joined: Thu Aug 19, 2010 2:51 pm
Location: Amazon Rain Forest, Brazil

Re: Rhythmbox problem after upgrade.

Postby orys on Sat Feb 16, 2013 11:31 am

I hope that's all you need:

Code: Select all
orys@orysiownia ~ $ cat /etc/*-release
DISTRIB_ID=LinuxMint
DISTRIB_RELEASE=1
DISTRIB_CODENAME=debian
DISTRIB_DESCRIPTION="Linux Mint Xfce Edition"

orys@orysiownia ~ $ uname -or
2.6.39-2-486 GNU/Linux

orys@orysiownia ~ $ cat /etc/debian_version
wheezy/sid



And I installed rhythmbox and rhythmbox-plugins in version 0.12.8-3
orys
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed May 23, 2012 1:15 pm

Re: Rhythmbox problem after upgrade.

Postby jungle_boy on Sat Feb 16, 2013 12:09 pm

Ok.

Thanks!
LM16 Cinnamon (PC); LM14 Cinnamon with AMD Catalyst (notebook)
HP Pavilion g4-1316br, AMD Quad Core, 1,5 GHz, Radeon 6520G/7450M,
Image
Linuxcounter Registered User #506065 (2008)
User avatar
jungle_boy
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1171
Joined: Thu Aug 19, 2010 2:51 pm
Location: Amazon Rain Forest, Brazil

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Software & Applications

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], unfeki and 28 guests