installing a driver from a website

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

installing a driver from a website

Postby jsplicer on Fri Mar 01, 2013 12:47 am

Hello,
I'm sort of new to linux mint 64 bit, but I love it and plan to use this as my main operating system. I have some knowledge with the unix terminal from Mac OSX. So I know some about inputting commands. Just to give you a little back ground info on me so you can help me with my mission.

I have a Canon Pixma MP 495 printer. The gutenprint drivers that come with linux do a good job and print nicely and have a lot of features that the Canon driver don't have, except for one important feature...there is no way to check the ink level of what I have left in the cartridges. This is a feature that I need. I have to know if I'm running low on ink or not, and the Canon driver provides that. I haven't installed any driver for the printer yet because of this I'm hoping to get the canon driver to work.

Now to my question, I have downloaded both the scanner driver and the print driver for linux from the Canon website, but I don't know the commands to install them from a terminal or other means to install them. The files are in my download folder one named 'cnijfilter-mp495series-3.40-1-deb.tar.gz' the scanner driver is in the same format. Can someone tell me or lead me to a way to install these drivers into my mint OS to get my printer working?

Thank You very much for reading and for any help in this.

Sincerely,

John
Motherboard: Gigabyte EP45-UD3P Rev. 1.6 FE BIOS
CPU: Intel Core2Quad Q8400 2.66 GHz.
Memory: GSkill: 4 GB DDR2 800 MHz.
GPU: PCI-E 3 NVidia GEFORCE GTX 650 DDR 5, 1GB Ram
Drives: Int: 120 GiB SSD Samsumg REVO, 500 GiB WD HDD, Ext: USB 2 500 GiB HDD
jsplicer
Level 2
Level 2

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.

Re: installing a driver from a website

Postby catweazel on Fri Mar 01, 2013 1:41 am