Rythmbox erasing media library (SOLVED)

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Rythmbox erasing media library (SOLVED)

Postby madmanmick on Tue May 27, 2008 9:06 am

Hi guys,
I am new to the world of linux, so bear with me. It has come to my frustration, that every time i restart my PC into Mint 5, Rythmbox goes through my library and slowly but surely erases it. Everytime i restart i have to wait for Rythmbox to erase my library, and then I have to re-import the folder into Rythmbox, which takes 5-10 minutes. I think this is due to the fact my music is located on an NTFS drive which is shared by an XP dual boot. It looks to me like Mint is auto-mounting the drives, but i can't be sure - why else would rythmbox keep erasing my library! I tried to download the old mintdisk utility, but it won't run on my machine, it just pops up in the task bar a "starting administrati..." program, which i can't maximise or check options for, and then that disappears and nothing ends up happening, sometimes this happens when I try to run Synaptic too. Any ideas? This is really freaking annoying.
Thanks.

EDIT: Turns out the only way I can open synaptic (even right now, after a restart) is to use 'sudo synaptic' from Terminal. It won't boot from the main menu. I would do the same thing with mintDisk, but i don't know what the executable is called. Why would it not be booting into applications like synaptic without having to use sudo in terminal?
Last edited by madmanmick on Wed Jun 04, 2008 10:10 am, edited 1 time in total.
madmanmick
Level 1
Level 1

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.

Re: Rythmbox erasing media library

Postby madmanmick on Tue May 27, 2008 8:39 pm

Does anyone have any ideas?
madmanmick
Level 1
Level 1

Postby rivenought on Tue May 27, 2008 9:16 pm