Enabling Desktop Effects

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Enabling Desktop Effects

Postby mrtim13x on Thu May 29, 2008 2:33 pm

i have one computer that the desktop effects (like the workspace switcher, and wobbly windows, ect...) will not work on. its my dell E510, i thought it was my graphics card, but it was not, i tried another, no luck. and even using integrated graphics, nothing. whenever i try to select normal, or extra, it says "effects could not be enabled" or something like that. and i also its not the CD i have installed this exact same copy on my two desktops, the only thing about those are that i built those from scratch, so the only real difference is the Motherboard. i have also tried Ubuntu 7.10, 8.04. Linux Mint 3.1, 4.0, 5.0, on all of my other computers, they work, but not on my dell. I think that its an issue with the Motherboard, but does anybody have the same problem? Can i do anything, i think not, this computer has no connection to the internet, so i cant download anything. any fixes?
"time is momentary" - ME

Dell E510, 4 GB DDR2 PC5300 RAM, 1147 GB HDD , Intel Celeron D 2.8 GHz CPU, ATI HD 2600XT 512 MB. LM 4.0, and Win XP Media Center Edition 2005
mrtim13x
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2008 6:25 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Enabling Desktop Effects

Postby 67GTA on Thu May 29, 2008 3:34 pm

What graphics hardware do you have? Do you have drivers installed correctly if needed?
"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing." Edmund Burke
User avatar
67GTA
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1301
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2007 9:49 pm
Location: Kentucky, USA

Re: Enabling Desktop Effects

Postby mrtim13x on Thu May 29, 2008 4:01 pm

i had an ATI X600 pro 256Mb card, didnt work on that, but i think that there are drivers for it installed.
next i put in an ATI HD 2600XT, know it does not work on that, no driver update (im using LM 4.0)
now its integrated graphics, intel, but i dont know any more than that. and it still does not work. but everything else works for the X600, and integrated graphics, just not the effects.
"time is momentary" - ME

Dell E510, 4 GB DDR2 PC5300 RAM, 1147 GB HDD , Intel Celeron D 2.8 GHz CPU, ATI HD 2600XT 512 MB. LM 4.0, and Win XP Media Center Edition 2005
mrtim13x
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2008 6:25 pm

Re: Enabling Desktop Effects

Postby 67GTA on Thu May 29, 2008 4:10 pm

For the ATI cards to run compiz, you have to install the 3D drivers for your particular card. It won't work "out of the box". If your integrated Intel graphics has 3D support in Linux, it should have worked. We need to know what Intel graphics chipset you have to know for sure. Open a terminal and run
Code: Select all
lspci
Post the output here.
"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing." Edmund Burke
User avatar
67GTA
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1301
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2007 9:49 pm
Location: Kentucky, USA

Re: Enabling Desktop Effects

Postby mrtim13x on Thu May 29, 2008 6:45 pm

Intel GMA 950
Dynamic Video Memory Technology 3.0
128 Mb

i am not at the computer now, but i went to dells website to see what it was for my computer, and i looked at intels website, and it says that it has 3D hardware acceleration.

but both of my other linux machines have the same integrated graphics, and desktop effects work fine on them
here are the motherboard specs of my other desktop
http://www.ecs.com.tw/ECSWebSite/Products/ProductsDetail.aspx?detailid=725&CategoryID=1&DetailName=Specification&MenuID=1&LanID=0
"time is momentary" - ME

Dell E510, 4 GB DDR2 PC5300 RAM, 1147 GB HDD , Intel Celeron D 2.8 GHz CPU, ATI HD 2600XT 512 MB. LM 4.0, and Win XP Media Center Edition 2005
mrtim13x
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2008 6:25 pm


Return to Software & Applications

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: tadpole1954 and 23 guests