Salome-Meca

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

Salome-Meca

Postby sv_arellano on Sun Jun 01, 2008 8:52 pm

Hello,

I recently decided to migrate to Linux from Windows. After playing around with different distros I am sticking with Mint, great work on this product, my thanks to all the developers.

I work in mechanical engineering and wanted to play around with Salome-Meca for analysis but cannot get it to install using the instructions in the web page. I am a newbie to Linux but want to learn.
http://www.caelinux.com/CMS/index.php?o ... &Itemid=40

Salome-Meca is also distributed with a PC-Linux OS based distro, but I much rather run it in Mint. :D
Can someone help me out? I thank you in advanced for the help,
sv_arellano
 

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Salome-Meca

Postby ed@Mint on Sun Jun 01, 2008 9:15 pm

What exactly do you have problems with ?
Have you read their read-me ? (http://www.caelinux.com/downloads/stable/salome-meca-2007/README)
It's all explained there.
In libro veritas

Now switched to : ArchLinux

New users, read the Linux Mint User Guide | Problem ? See the Wiki first | Check out the Software Portal | Join the IRC channel : #linuxmint @ irc.spotchat.org
User avatar
ed@Mint
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 565
Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2008 6:03 pm
Location: Liege, Belgium

Re: Salome-Meca

Postby sv_arellano on Mon Jun 02, 2008 12:20 am

First, I apologize, I am actually trying to install version 2008.1:
http://www.caelinux.com/forms/dlsalomemeca2008.html

I go through the readme just fine up until the end. the "runSalome" command does not work. I get a "command not found". I check the directory and saw that the file there was "runSalomeMeca" so I tried that command and got the same thing. I was also hoping there was a way to add a launch link to the Apps menu instead of having to run it from the terminal (assuming I get it to run from the terminal).

Thanks for your fast reply Ed
sv_arellano
 

Re: Salome-Meca

Postby sv_arellano on Mon Jun 02, 2008 12:22 am

One other thing I forgot to mention,

The directory I am using is /home/sva/Apps
I tried using the /opt but got a "does not exist" message and I was unable to create it.
sv_arellano
 

Re: Salome-Meca

Postby ed@Mint on Mon Jun 02, 2008 10:09 am

Ok, so to run the program, if the executable is in /home/sva/Apps and is named runSalomeMeca, open a terminal and type this :
Code: Select all
cd /home/sva/Apps
./runSalomeMeca


And there you go.
For information, the './' addition in front of the program's name means you want the terminal to search for it in the directory you are when launching the command.

If it says something like 'permission denied', type this :
Code: Select all
 chmod +x runSalomeMeca
./runSalomeMeca
In libro veritas

Now switched to : ArchLinux

New users, read the Linux Mint User Guide | Problem ? See the Wiki first | Check out the Software Portal | Join the IRC channel : #linuxmint @ irc.spotchat.org
User avatar
ed@Mint
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 565
Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2008 6:03 pm
Location: Liege, Belgium

Re: Salome-Meca

Postby Fred on Mon Jun 02, 2008 10:46 am

sv_arellano,

I know this is late in the game, and Ed has given you good advice, as usual. :-)

I would add one thing for future reference. Don't put programs in your /home. It is a bad habit to get into. It is not only bad practice, but it can complicate your life later on in multiple ways. Put them in /opt, as suggested. If you don't have a /opt folder, from a terminal, type:

sudo mkdir /opt

You will now have one. :-)

Fred
Insanity: Doing the same thing over and over and each time expecting a different result.

Democracy is 2 wolves and a lamb voting on the menu. Liberty is an armed lamb protesting the electoral outcome. A Republic negates the need for an armed protest.
User avatar
Fred
Level 10
Level 10
 
Posts: 3356
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2008 11:59 am
Location: NC USA

Re: Salome-Meca

Postby Husse on Mon Jun 02, 2008 4:50 pm

I agree with Fred - just a remark - when you put things outside your /home they are owned (or controlled if you prefer) by root so you have to use sudo....
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Salome-Meca

Postby sv_arellano on Mon Jun 02, 2008 9:32 pm

Gentlemen,

Thanks for the great advise. I was able to run the software from the Apps folder and create the /opt folder. Before I get myself in trouble, is uninstalling the software to re-install in the /opt folder as easy as deleting the Apps folder? I promise to read the the userguide, I just have not had time for it recently.

Thanks again for all you help, Sergio
sv_arellano
 

Re: Salome-Meca

Postby ed@Mint on Mon Jun 02, 2008 9:39 pm

In this case, i think deleting the application folder in /home/... will be enough since it's a standalone app.
But it's not always like that.
Ideally, Fred or Husse should confirm this, but it should not break anything to do so.

Still, you can run your software without problem while waiting for a confirmation if you wish.
In libro veritas

Now switched to : ArchLinux

New users, read the Linux Mint User Guide | Problem ? See the Wiki first | Check out the Software Portal | Join the IRC channel : #linuxmint @ irc.spotchat.org
User avatar
ed@Mint
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 565
Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2008 6:03 pm
Location: Liege, Belgium

Re: Salome-Meca

Postby svarellano on Mon Jun 02, 2008 10:21 pm

Ed,

Thanks again for the help. :D
svarellano
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Jun 01, 2008 8:39 pm

Re: Salome-Meca

Postby Husse on Tue Jun 03, 2008 4:30 pm

Yes you could probably just delete the folder. This always depends on dependencies :)
So what you can do is open synaptic and if the app has been installed by apt-get, aptitude, gdebi or synaptic it should appear there (gdebi is the thing that gets to work when you double click a .deb file)
Yo can easily find out what an app depends on and if something depends on it. If nothing depends on it, then you could delete the folder, but the best is to uninstall it by synaptic (you are in there already :)) so you don't mess up
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Software & Applications

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Marsanghas and 27 guests