[Solved] how to get "select best server" utility for Daryna

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

[Solved] how to get "select best server" utility for Daryna

Postby rbanavara on Mon Jun 02, 2008 9:26 am

ubuntu has a tool in synaptic that finds the fastest mirror. I was trying to see if I could get one installed on Daryna, but no luck. did lot off googling and endedd up getting various unrelated links. Also I am finding it hard to form an effective search phrase. I have considered netselect-apt but its debian specific. Also tried to change the url in netselect-apt code to reflected ubuntu mirror site, but getting the "you are behind the firewall error." Probably the formatting of the ubuntu mirror list might be in a different format than of Debian.

Today was curious and tried to trace what program the ubuntu tool runs & it seems it runs something like "software-properties-gtk" but after this no info on how to install or does it actually chooses best repository server.

let me know if there is some similar thing in Mint.

Edit: installtion of "software-properties-gtk" does provide this functionality. And it wont remove any linux mint repositories. Just updates ubuntu repositories with fastest mirrors.

Ah...., now atleat I can happily go for frequest updates or installtion of softwares without worrying about waiting for hours... :)
Last edited by rbanavara on Wed Jun 04, 2008 4:33 am, edited 1 time in total.
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it -Husse
User avatar
rbanavara
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 233
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 9:07 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: how to get "select best server" utility for Daryna

Postby ed@Mint on Mon Jun 02, 2008 10:42 am

You could use this list and modify your sources.list manually.
There may be other lists.. This one was just a quick 'ubuntu repo mirror' search.
In libro veritas

Now switched to : ArchLinux

New users, read the Linux Mint User Guide | Problem ? See the Wiki first | Check out the Software Portal | Join the IRC channel : #linuxmint @ irc.spotchat.org
User avatar
ed@Mint
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 565
Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2008 6:03 pm
Location: Liege, Belgium

Re: how to get "select best server" utility for Daryna

Postby 67GTA on Mon Jun 02, 2008 12:31 pm

This isn't the same as Ubuntu. You are only using a few of the Ubuntu repos. Mint doesn't have the same amount of severs, and uses it's own Mint repos. You would have to set separate servers for the Ubuntu and Mint repos to make this work. I don't think that is possible.
"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing." Edmund Burke
User avatar
67GTA
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1301
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2007 9:49 pm
Location: Kentucky, USA

Re: how to get "select best server" utility for Daryna

Postby ed@Mint on Mon Jun 02, 2008 1:36 pm

It is possible and is already the case.

If you have a look at your sources.list, you'll notice that the mint repos and the ubuntu ones are on different servers.
Mint has its own servers for which there aren't alternative mirrors.
For all the others, you are free to use any mirror that you wish.
In libro veritas

Now switched to : ArchLinux

New users, read the Linux Mint User Guide | Problem ? See the Wiki first | Check out the Software Portal | Join the IRC channel : #linuxmint @ irc.spotchat.org
User avatar
ed@Mint
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 565
Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2008 6:03 pm
Location: Liege, Belgium

Re: how to get "select best server" utility for Daryna

Postby 67GTA on Mon Jun 02, 2008 1:53 pm

I never thought about it that way. I was thinking about the Mint repos not being able to use the Ubuntu servers. I guess the OP can install
Code: Select all
software-properties-gtk
That is the "Software Sources" menu entry that controls this in Ubuntu. Click on the drop down server menu, select other, and then the "select best server" button.
"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing." Edmund Burke
User avatar
67GTA
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1301
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2007 9:49 pm
Location: Kentucky, USA

Re: how to get "select best server" utility for Daryna

Postby ed@Mint on Mon Jun 02, 2008 2:17 pm

In would be careful about that software.
It might generate a new sources.list without the mint repos and replace yours with this ubuntu-specific one.

My advice : hand edit /etc/apt/sources.list, the Linux way :wink:
In libro veritas

Now switched to : ArchLinux

New users, read the Linux Mint User Guide | Problem ? See the Wiki first | Check out the Software Portal | Join the IRC channel : #linuxmint @ irc.spotchat.org
User avatar
ed@Mint
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 565
Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2008 6:03 pm
Location: Liege, Belgium

Re: how to get "select best server" utility for Daryna

Postby rbanavara on Tue Jun 03, 2008 7:50 pm

ok..., I will try installing software-properties-gtk some time... and a backup of sources.list would be a better idea before running the find best server. Though mint uses its own repository & am not sure on availability of mirrors, atleast the ubuntu part can be improved. This helps in frequent updates being faster.

The other approach would be, to modify netselect-apt to read the ubuntu mirror format. Its a shell scipt and needs to be changed for the ubuntu format of the mirrors.

but installing software-properties-gtk and testing it out seems to be the easiest way... :wink:
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it -Husse
User avatar
rbanavara
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 233
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 9:07 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Software & Applications

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 33 guests