I'm using Linux Mint Bianca. I opened mintDesktop curious to see what it had. I didn't want anything on my desktop, which had the trash bin on it, so I deselected it and pressed ok to close the box. I still have a trash bin on my desktop pictured as if it does have trash in it, even though it doesn't.
Also, perhaps an 'Apply' button could be added to let a person see the changes before closing the dialog.