youtube?

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

youtube?

Postby billybag on Sat Jun 14, 2008 11:56 pm

anyone else not able to watch videos on youtube. i am using linux mint 5 with the new firefox
billybag
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2008 7:54 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: youtube?

Postby Husse on Sun Jun 15, 2008 8:11 am

Youtube is a problem for anyone - problems in Win too
I thought we managed to fix this in the final, but you are not alone
I'll mark this so I can get back to you and a few others when/if I find a solution
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: youtube?

Postby rivenought on Sun Jun 15, 2008 9:39 am

YouTube works on my end. At least the history videos do, anyway. Every so often, I may have to reload a page due to Adobe's Flash not working properly, but it is the fault of Adobe, Not Firefox or Mint. I have found that Firefox 3 is more stable with Flash than Firefox 2 was. I do not have any fancy 3D effects enabled, either. I use standard/solid/open-source drivers, and my video experience is more reliable than others I keep reading about. I just wanted to say that a standard install of Mint 5 with Firefox 3 simply works as it should.
rivenought
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 780
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2008 10:34 am

Re: youtube?

Postby billybag on Sun Jun 15, 2008 11:05 am

yeah. It i actually didnt realize that Adobe was not yet installed. i installed it and now it works a bit better. it works well until i use and greasemonkey scripts that enable the us of NON auto playback (i hat the autoplay on youtube). Howver this requires a different video player i believe and it is possible i just dont have that video player
billybag
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2008 7:54 am

Re: youtube?

Postby morty007 on Sun Jun 15, 2008 12:36 pm

Youtube worked for me yesterday, bu today it's just a blank screen. Anyone know what's going on?
Dell XPS M1530
Intel Core 2 Duo T5850
Dual Boot Windows 7 & Mint 9 32 bit
320GB
4GB, DDR2, 667MHz 2 Dimm
256MB NVIDIA GeForce 8600M GT
Intel Wifi link 4965agn
morty007
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 93
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2008 11:35 pm

Re: youtube?

Postby rivenought on Sun Jun 15, 2008 1:08 pm

Morty, I just tested again. Everything works on my end. Maybe you need to refresh the page or restart Firefox. Maybe it is just the certain video, so you may wish to try another just to verify.
rivenought
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 780
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2008 10:34 am

Re: youtube?

Postby Husse on Sun Jun 15, 2008 5:38 pm

Not to forget the old trick Empty the trash - sorry cache :)
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: youtube?

Postby morty007 on Sun Jun 15, 2008 6:01 pm

Well I had to boot back into XP for a bit and now on reboot everything is ok :D
Dell XPS M1530
Intel Core 2 Duo T5850
Dual Boot Windows 7 & Mint 9 32 bit
320GB
4GB, DDR2, 667MHz 2 Dimm
256MB NVIDIA GeForce 8600M GT
Intel Wifi link 4965agn
morty007
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 93
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2008 11:35 pm

Re: youtube?

Postby morty007 on Sun Jun 15, 2008 6:08 pm

Actually it's not as it turns out. I was watching a video on youtube and put the mouse to the upper right hand side to do the scale effect. That shut down the video and now it's just an empty white space where the video is suppose to be! :x
Dell XPS M1530
Intel Core 2 Duo T5850
Dual Boot Windows 7 & Mint 9 32 bit
320GB
4GB, DDR2, 667MHz 2 Dimm
256MB NVIDIA GeForce 8600M GT
Intel Wifi link 4965agn
morty007
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 93
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2008 11:35 pm

Re: youtube?

Postby rivenought on Sun Jun 15, 2008 7:04 pm

Morty,
If you are running compiz and all of the whiz-bang graphics, then you are more likely to have issues. We all keep forgetting that compiz is still beta software, so there will be glitches here and there with the eye candy. Only you will be able to balance the eye candy with stability on your machine. Do some more testing, and hopefully you will find a comfortable medium. Good luck!
rivenought
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 780
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2008 10:34 am

Re: youtube?

Postby morty007 on Sun Jun 15, 2008 7:56 pm

I actually didn't know that compiz is beta. I'm a linux noob. Restarting firefox seems to fix it. I wonder when compiz will be out of beta.
Dell XPS M1530
Intel Core 2 Duo T5850
Dual Boot Windows 7 & Mint 9 32 bit
320GB
4GB, DDR2, 667MHz 2 Dimm
256MB NVIDIA GeForce 8600M GT
Intel Wifi link 4965agn
morty007
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 93
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2008 11:35 pm

Re: youtube?

Postby rivenought on Sun Jun 15, 2008 8:22 pm

Morty,
I was just repeating what I picked up over in the openSUSE forums. You may wish to do a little further research into compiz when you get a chance. It can be extremely educational, plus you might even pick up a few tricks to share.

In the meantime, your method of restarting Firefox seems to work. The Firefox/Flash/YouTube combination is an odd one to begin with. Sometimes, that balance can be tipped. All in all, I am getting better results with Mint 5 and Firefox 3 than I was with Firefox 2. We all have to keep tweaking and adjusting our systems to get just what we want.
rivenought
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 780
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2008 10:34 am

Re: youtube?

Postby ferrix on Mon Jun 16, 2008 6:15 am

I had no problem with youtube on the day I installed Elyssa. Today I started to enable some spiffing desktop eye-candy and then I wondered over to youtube to find that now the spot where the videos used to appear ... was blank! I turned the eye candy back down and youtube came back. So try that... BTW, all those compiz goodies can interfere with Google Earth as well - something I've encountered in slightly older systems, but worth keeping in mind.
ferrix
 

Re: youtube?

Postby nibbo on Mon Jun 16, 2008 4:26 pm

I am having similar problems as you people... I see a white/gray box instead of flash on pages. I turned of all desktop-effects but that does not seem to help. Any ideas?
nibbo
 

Re: youtube?

Postby mutunekk on Wed Jun 18, 2008 5:35 am

i had the same problem, so i loaded the package manager and searched for the flashplugin-nonfree package and i found that 2 plug-ins were installed!! so i completely removed both then reloaded the package manager, this time it only found one flashplugin-nonfree package and i installed and now my flash works!! just to clear that up;

1. open synaptic package manager
2. search for flashplugin-nonfree
3. if there are 2 packages installed mark both for complete removal and apply
4. reload package manager
5. search for flashplugin-nonfree
6. install the only flashplugin-nonfree available

that kinda worked for me then stopped! This only works for a couple of vids then it goes back to the grey box thing!!!

SO

1. remove flashplugin-nonfree from the system
2. go to the adobe flash website and download flash 9 and install it!! ** when it asks you for the Mozilla file path its: /usr/lib/firefox-3.0 (took me ages to figure that out.... by the way i am a total noob and this Linux stuff)

i think there is something wrong with flash 10....?
mutunekk
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jun 18, 2008 5:23 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Software & Applications

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: papa33 and 16 guests