Cool 'n' Quiet

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

Cool 'n' Quiet

Postby bigdee on Wed Feb 28, 2007 9:24 am

I should like to get Cool 'n' Quiet to work with Bianca. I have a couple of computers with AMD Sempron 2.8 64 bit cpus fitted.

Any advice/help greatly appreciated.
DAVID
bigdee
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Dec 03, 2006 7:25 am
Location: Norfolk, England.

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Cool 'n' Quiet

Postby nick on Wed Feb 28, 2007 10:18 am

Have you got powernowd installed, (in Synaptic)
It installed by default on my AMD 3.4 processor sits at 1ghz
while surfing etc, and speed increases when required
http://linuxmint.com/forum/viewtopic.ph ... 0750be7065
Also try powersaved
Nick
nick
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 686
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 8:04 am

Postby bigdee on Wed Feb 28, 2007 2:51 pm

Thanks for that nick.

I do have powernowd installed, but my overclocked Sempron sticks at 1.92 Mhz.

What do yuo use to monitor the cpu speed?

Thanks again.
DAVID
bigdee
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Dec 03, 2006 7:25 am
Location: Norfolk, England.

Cool 'n' Quiet

Postby nick on Wed Feb 28, 2007 3:05 pm

Hi
I am KDE user and use Kinfocentre, not
sure of equivalant in Gnome, although
I have been using Linux for 10 years I
have hardly ever used Gnome
There is a nice little tool Kpowersave which allows you to select processor
speed from toolbar, again KDE
Nick
nick
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 686
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 8:04 am

Postby |_NiGhTmArE_| on Wed Feb 28, 2007 3:24 pm

with gnome you can monitor your cpu clock speed with a little applet on the panel or if you want with gdesklet, screenlets or conky (http://conky.sourceforge.net/)

if you use the applet (right click on a gnome-panel then add and select cpu frequency) you can change manually your cpu clock, only if your cpu support the frequency scaling
User avatar
|_NiGhTmArE_|
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon Feb 05, 2007 6:16 pm
Location: Italy

Postby bigdee on Wed Feb 28, 2007 4:42 pm

Thanks guys for all the help.
The panel applet says my cpu does not support frequency scaling. The desklets indicate my cpu is still stuck at 1.92 Mhz no matter how little load I place on it. So powernow does not seem to be working.
Unfortunately conky does not indicate cpu frequency as I downloaded it. I will have to read up on the online manual to see how to set it up the way that I want it.

Thanks again for all your suggestions.
DAVID
bigdee
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Dec 03, 2006 7:25 am
Location: Norfolk, England.


Return to Software & Applications

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests