unable to install 'skype'

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

unable to install 'skype'

Postby biffer on Mon Jun 16, 2008 8:31 pm

Hi,

I'm using Daryna very happily. However when I tried to download skype I first got a message about 'backing up APT sources'. This took over 30mins.
Skype then downloaded itself to the desktop, I think okay.

I then selected the five packages to be installed but, when I tried to install them to the hard drive, they all failed. I got messages about 'failing to fetch' from archive.ubuntu.com....... the reasons being on packages 1, 4, and 5 'connection timed out' and on packages 2 and 3 'no route to host'.

I'm totally lost here and would really appreciate some guidance.
biffer
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 88
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2007 7:23 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: unable to install 'skype'

Postby 67GTA on Mon Jun 16, 2008 11:09 pm

It sounds like you are using mintinstall. This sounds like a connection or server problem. Try running
Code: Select all
sudo apt-get update
in a terminal to see if it can download from all of the server repos. I suspect this is where the problem is. Sometimes a server can be down or overloaded. This usually clears up after a while.
"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing." Edmund Burke
User avatar
67GTA
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1301
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2007 9:49 pm
Location: Kentucky, USA

Re: unable to install 'skype'

Postby biffer on Tue Jun 17, 2008 4:48 am

Right, I tried that without success. I first got:

security.ubuntu.com gutsy-security Release gpg. could not connect No route to host

Then it carried on with a few more tries with slightly different phrasing like medibuntu but either got the same as above or 'connection timed out' and never got past 33%.

Summat wrong somewhere, I suspect?
biffer
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 88
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2007 7:23 am

Re: unable to install 'skype'

Postby 67GTA on Tue Jun 17, 2008 9:51 am

Do you have a working internet connection?
"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing." Edmund Burke
User avatar
67GTA
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1301
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2007 9:49 pm
Location: Kentucky, USA

Re: unable to install 'skype'

Postby biffer on Tue Jun 17, 2008 11:33 am

Yes, Broadband. Will next connect to one of my favourite sites, http://www.honestjohn.co.uk.
biffer
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 88
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2007 7:23 am


Return to Software & Applications

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 29 guests