Blank screen on dvd playback

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

Blank screen on dvd playback

Postby -al- on Thu Jun 19, 2008 9:24 am

Hmm, this one is sorta bugging me, when i try to play a dvd all i get is a blank screen, both in windowed mode and fullscreen - the dvd video may flash on for a second if that then goes back to blank, the slider bar moving along indicating it is trying to play. I didnt get this problem originally with Daryna, but then it upgraded libdvdcss or one of those files and since then Ive had this problem.


Any idea what could be casuing this?


Spec as follows

Code: Select all
Acer Aspire 3023WLMi
AMD Mobile Sempron 3000+
1256MB RAM
128MB X700 Radeon Mobility [dedicated]

running Elysssa


LSPCI output

Code: Select all
00:00.0 Host bridge: ATI Technologies Inc RS480 Host Bridge (rev 01)
00:02.0 PCI bridge: ATI Technologies Inc RS480 PCI-X Root Port
00:06.0 PCI bridge: ATI Technologies Inc RS480 PCI Bridge
00:07.0 PCI bridge: ATI Technologies Inc RS480 PCI Bridge
00:13.0 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc IXP SB400 USB Host Controller
00:13.1 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc IXP SB400 USB Host Controller
00:13.2 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc IXP SB400 USB2 Host Controller
00:14.0 SMBus: ATI Technologies Inc IXP SB400 SMBus Controller (rev 11)
00:14.1 IDE interface: ATI Technologies Inc IXP SB400 IDE Controller
00:14.3 ISA bridge: ATI Technologies Inc IXP SB400 PCI-ISA Bridge
00:14.4 PCI bridge: ATI Technologies Inc IXP SB400 PCI-PCI Bridge
00:14.5 Multimedia audio controller: ATI Technologies Inc IXP SB400 AC'97 Audio Controller (rev 02)
00:14.6 Modem: ATI Technologies Inc SB400 AC'97 Modem Controller (rev 02)
00:18.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] HyperTransport Technology Configuration
00:18.1 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Address Map
00:18.2 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] DRAM Controller
00:18.3 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Miscellaneous Control
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc Radeon Mobility X700 (PCIE)
06:05.0 Network controller: Broadcom Corporation BCM4318 [AirForce One 54g] 802.11g Wireless LAN Controller (rev 02)
06:06.0 CardBus bridge: Texas Instruments PCIxx21/x515 Cardbus Controller
06:06.2 FireWire (IEEE 1394): Texas Instruments OHCI Compliant IEEE 1394 Host Controller
06:06.3 Mass storage controller: Texas Instruments PCIxx21 Integrated FlashMedia Controller
06:06.4 SD Host controller: Texas Instruments PCI6411/6421/6611/6621/7411/7421/7611/7621 Secure Digital Controller
06:07.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL-8169 Gigabit Ethernet (rev 10)
-al-
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 4:40 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Blank screen on dvd playback

Postby 67GTA on Thu Jun 19, 2008 9:12 pm

If you have compiz running, try disabling it. It is known to cause playback problems.
"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing." Edmund Burke
User avatar
67GTA
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1301
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2007 9:49 pm
Location: Kentucky, USA

Re: Blank screen on dvd playback

Postby POLAR BEAR on Fri Jun 20, 2008 7:17 pm

DOWLOAD AND INSTALL VLC PLAYER FROM THE PORTAL...
WILL SOLVE YOUR PRBLEM
POLAR BEAR
 

Re: Blank screen on dvd playback

Postby -al- on Sun Jun 22, 2008 8:49 am

Tried with compiz completely uninstalled but same issue im afraid

VLC still gives me a blank screen when in windowed mode, but yeah can play fine in fullscreen, but when trying to play home dvd's it will only pick them up as audio tracks not actual dvd's!
-al-
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 4:40 pm

Re: Blank screen on dvd playback

Postby amircea on Tue Jul 14, 2009 2:44 am

Hi,
I have exactly the same problem here. Both Ubuntu 9.04 and Mint 7.0 Gloria show a blank display for the dvd's I am trying to play, whatever the player application I use (tried Gnome mplayer, Gxine, Kaffeine, VLC).
My graphic chip is Intel :
00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation 82865G/PE/P DRAM Controller/Host-Hub Interface (rev 02)
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation 82865G Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 02)
Did you find a solution in your case ?
Andrei
amircea
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Oct 26, 2008 9:05 am


Return to Software & Applications

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Adsense [Bot] and 16 guests