firefox 3 and flash solution

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

firefox 3 and flash solution

Postby smelm0 on Thu Jun 26, 2008 3:03 pm

many report a no sound condition on firefox 3. I have overcome this problem by installing the flashplayer 9 tar.gz from the adobe site after I've removed the flash plugins from synaptic. I also needed to install swfdec mozilla plugin from synaptic and rebooted. now all is operational. hope this helps others. my machine is an amd dual core, nvidia drivers, realtek sound card.
smelm0
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Mar 08, 2008 2:34 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: firefox 3 and flash solution

Postby Husse on Fri Jun 27, 2008 5:03 pm

OK
FF3 gets much better with flash over time though....
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: firefox 3 and flash solution

Postby smelm0 on Mon Jun 30, 2008 6:25 pm

elyssa and firefox 3 regarding sound/flash
as reported in earlier thread, youtube working aok but other sites like pandora will not load. I'm wondering why youtube works fine but other flash sutes might not??
smelm0
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Mar 08, 2008 2:34 pm

Re: firefox 3 and flash solution

Postby Husse on Mon Jun 30, 2008 6:38 pm

Generally it is the other way round
Unfortunately it's not only flash, but the sites add a lot of javascripts and what not and in many sites the flash may be linked from another (as does youtube)
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: firefox 3 and flash solution

Postby rivenought on Mon Jun 30, 2008 7:34 pm

I just checked Pandora. Everything works fine on my end with Pandora, as well as YouTube. I have not been able to duplicate or verify the flash problem in question. In fact, Mint 5 and Firefox 3 have been the most stable combination I have had in over a year. Not sure what Clem and the boys did, but it darn sure works for me.
rivenought
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 780
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2008 10:34 am

Re: firefox 3 and flash solution

Postby Husse on Tue Jul 01, 2008 6:49 am

And others have a hell with flash
I think this is hardware/drivers very much
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: firefox 3 and flash solution

Postby tri on Wed Jul 02, 2008 9:52 am

The solution should be a removal of flash-nonfree package from Package manager and reinstall it from the executive file download from Adobe official site.
tri
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 12:07 am

Re: firefox 3 and flash solution

Postby smelm0 on Wed Jul 02, 2008 12:08 pm

been there done that and no cigar
smelm0
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Mar 08, 2008 2:34 pm

Re: firefox 3 and flash solution

Postby akshunj on Thu Jul 03, 2008 12:33 am

smelm0 wrote:been there done that and no cigar


Actually, I think removing the repository package and installing flash by hand is the wrong thing to do. Clem put some sort of wrapper around flash 10 to keep it from crashing all of FF when it craps out. The result is just a blank box when flash fails. Useful when you have multiple tabs open and such. A manual flash install will just reinstate the big FF crash when flash fails. I think we should all bear in mind that flash 10 is still beta right now. Lots of kinks clearly apparent...

--Akshun J
User avatar
akshunj
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 151
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 11:24 am
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: firefox 3 and flash solution

Postby smelm0 on Thu Jul 03, 2008 8:28 am

a funny and quirky thing happened to me as I furthered messed around with this and several other bugs. for example, firefox often froze and I was forced to quit. or I began to have boot up problems where gdm would not load and my pc was doomed to a crash and restart cycle for perpetuity. because of this habit, I tried a fresh install and this time opted for kde. lo and behold, everything seems to be perfect even without further updates or tweaking. no flash issues even on konqueror, no browser crashes and no difficulty booting up. who would have thunk! I'm really not sure what is amiss with gdm. but until it's fixed, I'm happy to report this simple remedy.

elyssa & amd 64
smelm0
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Mar 08, 2008 2:34 pm

Re: firefox 3 and flash solution

Postby OnlyMe on Sun Jul 06, 2008 1:53 am

smelm0, I don't quite understand what you did. I just did a fresh reinstall of Mint 5 Elyssa as it is the only distro so far that I can get both my ethernet and wifi working on. I don't recall having the option to use KDE. Could you explain this in more detail for me?
OnlyMe
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 58
Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2008 4:00 pm
Location: Florida - USA

Re: firefox 3 and flash solution

Postby smelm0 on Sun Jul 06, 2008 5:05 pm

download kde through synaptic and then you have the option to load it on the next boot up. that's all folks!
I must confess that elyssa loaded just fine on my toshiba satellite intel 1.7. nothing to really tweak at all ff3 working just great. nothing beats just having good luck from the get-go
smelm0
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Mar 08, 2008 2:34 pm

Re: firefox 3 and flash solution

Postby Husse on Mon Jul 07, 2008 6:56 am

There is a report to day that the foxmarks add on can disturb flash
So if you've got it - remove it
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Software & Applications

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: alan2001, ClutchDisc, kajp, Pierre and 26 guests