Rhythumbox-No Sound

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Rhythumbox-No Sound

Postby Joy on Sun Jul 06, 2008 4:37 am

I have install Mint5 . I try to ply audio CD but anyhow there is no sound. I checked volume is on.Any suggestion to solve this? Thanks.
Joy
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Jul 01, 2008 6:48 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Rhythumbox-No Sound

Postby Husse on Sun Jul 06, 2008 7:45 am

This is often caused by faulty settings
Check all settings for sound
Double click the volume button - check the settings and open File > Change device and check
Also check all settings in Rythmbox
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Rhythumbox-No Sound

Postby Joy on Sun Jul 06, 2008 10:14 am

Thanks Husse
What I undersood is I have to go to contol center than hardware center than click on sound icon .Sound preferance window comes up in that again click on sound and than click on all system sound? and where to check in Rhythumbox? I have open Rhythumbox but could not . please guide
regards.
Joy
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Jul 01, 2008 6:48 am

Re: Rhythumbox-No Sound

Postby Joy on Mon Jul 07, 2008 9:12 am

Awaiting guidance.
Joy
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Jul 01, 2008 6:48 am

Re: Rhythumbox-No Sound

Postby Joy on Tue Jul 08, 2008 12:43 pm

Please help.
Joy
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Jul 01, 2008 6:48 am

Re: Rhythumbox-No Sound

Postby rivenought on Tue Jul 08, 2008 1:27 pm

Just to verify:

Right-click on the speaker icon and choose Open the Volume Control. On the Playback tab, check to see if your slider buttons are pushed up near the top of the track. On the Switches tab, you may or may not need the headphones checked. I have one machine that needs a check, while another machine does not. You may have to do lots of trial and error fiddling in the Mixer and in Rhythmbox.

You may have to check your Pulse Audio settings, but I am kinda fuzzy in that area since it is relatively new. Good luck, and have fun!
rivenought
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 780
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2008 10:34 am

Re: Rhythumbox-No Sound

Postby Joy on Wed Jul 09, 2008 12:52 am

Thanks rivenought
I tried but could not.
regards.
Joy
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Jul 01, 2008 6:48 am

Re: Rhythumbox-No Sound

Postby Joy on Fri Jul 11, 2008 1:56 am

I installed XP and mint5 in my computer. I have -
sound default device-Sigma Tel Audio.
Speaker setup -Desktop stereo speakers.
Ican ply audio in windows media plyer.But in Mint5 NO sound.
Please help.
Joy
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Jul 01, 2008 6:48 am

Re: Rhythumbox-No Sound

Postby rivenought on Fri Jul 11, 2008 8:29 am

Ah, Sigma Tel audio... I have seen that mentioned in several locations. I did a quick check over at Ubuntu and saw quite a few posts including http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php? ... ight=sigma . It is just one of many. You may have to search through and try out a few different steps. This seems to be a well-known issue, so it is not anything wrong on your personal or Linux Mint's part. Good luck with your research and testing.
Last edited by rivenought on Sat Jul 12, 2008 9:47 am, edited 1 time in total.
rivenought
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 780
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2008 10:34 am

Re: Rhythumbox-No Sound

Postby Husse on Sat Jul 12, 2008 8:57 am

Sigma Tel
Yes when I saw that I felt that we are on no go lane :(
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Rhythumbox-No Sound

Postby Joy on Sat Jul 12, 2008 2:23 pm

Thank you very much rivenought for your sincere help.
As I am newbie to computer and linux I am confused reading the ubuntu link.
After downloading Alsa codec where to save?and what to do to make it work?
Regards and thanks.
Joy
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Jul 01, 2008 6:48 am

Re: Rhythumbox-No Sound

Postby rivenought on Sat Jul 12, 2008 3:35 pm

I did see http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=205449 in the forum. It looks very interesting. It might shed some light on your sound issue.

I thought the ALSA packages installed themselves via Synaptic. Is that the way you did it?
rivenought
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 780
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2008 10:34 am

Re: Rhythumbox-No Sound

Postby Joy on Sun Jul 13, 2008 11:04 am

Hello rivenought
Try to install alsa source code after reading thread at ubuntu forum i do not know what i did after rebooting i am not getting my desktop but i am getting
ubuntu 8.044.1 joy desktop ttyl.
I tried recovery mode but same result.
totally confused.please help.
thanks
Joy
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Jul 01, 2008 6:48 am

Re: Rhythumbox-No Sound

Postby rivenought on Sun Jul 13, 2008 12:30 pm

Well, no, you should not be getting an Ubuntu desktop. If you have sound in Rhythmbox with an Ubuntu desktop, that might be OK, but if you are not, then that is not good at all. Do you have any sound at all from anything?

I was hoping that you had installed all of the necessary ALSA packages via Synaptic on your regular Mint install. I am unsure what is going on right now. As a last resort, you can do a clean install and start over. That takes well under an hour. I have done that a few times myself.

Perhaps someone who has more knowledge about sound - especially the Sigma Tel issue - will chime in and help. I have not had any sound issues before, but I can sympathize with your situation. I shall do some more reading and post back if I can find something useful. It may be a rough road with that sound card.

Have you tried a Live CD of another distro such as Mandriva? Mandriva One is pretty good. I have always had good luck with openSUSE KDE (4.3 GB DVD). If you can find a distro that Sigma Tel likes, that may be easier. Sometimes that happens. Good luck.
rivenought
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 780
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2008 10:34 am

Re: Rhythumbox-No Sound

Postby Joy on Sun Jul 13, 2008 10:05 pm

I have installed alsa source and pakages through package manager. But then also NO SOUND.As suggested in ubuntu NO Sound thread link I have prege (removed and again installed alsa pakages through treminal. (http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=205449 ) After that I am not getting the desktop which I was getting on start up.
How about reinstall ? I have to delete first from my hard drive and than reinstall? Is it not possible to rectify from recovery mode?
Thanks and regards.
Joy
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Jul 01, 2008 6:48 am

Re: Rhythumbox-No Sound

Postby Joy on Mon Jul 14, 2008 12:22 pm

I got my mint desktop by typing sudo apt-get install gdm.
But still not sound.
Joy
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Jul 01, 2008 6:48 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Software & Applications

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: baldrick.777, spoortin_4 and 10 guests