Gimp 2.8 for Mint 13? [Solved]

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Gimp 2.8 for Mint 13? [Solved]

Postby PussyCat on Thu Oct 10, 2013 1:02 pm

The title sums up the question - is Gimp 2.8 likely to become available to Mint 13? In particular I would like Single Window Mode because, not being a power user, I find the seperate floating windows irrating any time but when using translucency (my preference) for inactive windows Gimp becomes almost unusable (to me).
Last edited by PussyCat on Thu Oct 10, 2013 3:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.
PussyCat
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 228
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2009 1:41 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Gimp 2.8 for Mint 13?

Postby TheDynamicHamza21 on Thu Oct 10, 2013 1:53 pm

You can install it yourself. I've been using gimp2.8 since it was released on my Mint 13 system.


Code: Select all
sudo add-apt-repository ppa:otto-kesselgulasch/gimp


Code: Select all
sudo apt-get update


Code: Select all
sudo apt-get install gimp




http://www.noobslab.com/2013/02/latest- ... buntu.html

FIXED
Last edited by TheDynamicHamza21 on Thu Oct 10, 2013 8:36 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Linux Registered User: # 573034

www.domeshotsandfatlaces.com
User avatar
TheDynamicHamza21
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 759
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2012 7:24 pm
Location: California

Re: Gimp 2.8 for Mint 13?

Postby PussyCat on Thu Oct 10, 2013 2:33 pm

Thanks. Do I need to uninstall 2.6 first or will it simply update?
PussyCat
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 228
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2009 1:41 pm

Re: Gimp 2.8 for Mint 13?

Postby eanfrid on Thu Oct 10, 2013 2:35 pm

I used this repo, too. It will then simply propose to update any existing version.
Main desktop: Debian GNU/Linux Wheezy 64bit w/custom 3.14 longterm kernel - MATE 1.8.1
(i5 2400@3.7GHz - 16GB DDR3 - HD6770 w/radeon driver - SSD+RAID1)
True private storage on SpiderOak
User avatar
eanfrid
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1786
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 2:49 am
Location: FR

Re: Gimp 2.8 for Mint 13?

Postby PussyCat on Thu Oct 10, 2013 3:19 pm

Thank you both for help and encouragement - job done!

TheDynamicHamza21 - you may like to edit your post to correct the typo of "repository" as I'm sure others may also want to copy and paste to achieve this goal!
PussyCat
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 228
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2009 1:41 pm


Return to Software & Applications

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests