[bash] How does one execute program and leave terminal free?

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

[bash] How does one execute program and leave terminal free?

Postby Bren on Tue Jul 15, 2008 3:28 pm

Hi. I've been satisfied so far regarding using Linux. I especially enjoy utilizing the command line as, on the surface, I find its operation roughly similar to DOS/Windows though bash seems much more powerful. But I can't seem to find the answer to my problem.

Problem: bash remains occupied until the graphical program, which was executed from it, is finished.

Example: I type in "gnome-commander" to run Gnome Commander, and while it runs the terminal is occupied. I want it to be unoccupied while Gnome Commander is running. (Kind of when you simply select a program from the menu, the existing open terminal is unaffected.) Of course, I could open another tab in the terminal, ...but I'm picky.

Is there some kind of option to run a program via the terminal which releases the terminal immediately?
Bren
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2008 6:23 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: [bash] How does one execute program and leave terminal free?

Postby Deirdre on Tue Jul 15, 2008 4:17 pm

Add "&" to the command you use to execute the program, iow
Code: Select all
gnome-commander&

This will release the terminal, however, error-messages will still appear in the terminal.
Deirdre
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Jun 26, 2008 4:47 pm

Re: [bash] How does one execute program and leave terminal free?

Postby 900i on Tue Jul 15, 2008 4:41 pm

You should be starting gui apps with Alt+F2
Intel i7 3770 LMDE Mate 64
User avatar
900i
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1014
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 9:30 am
Location: Wakefield, UK

Re: [bash] How does one execute program and leave terminal free?

Postby Bren on Tue Jul 15, 2008 4:59 pm

Thanks for the tips. I didn't know about Alt+F2. I don't like it, though: I'm faster by typing in the terminal.

Question: besides the display of error messages, are there other downsides when running a program via bash?

Question: is there no option to not show error messages?
Bren
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2008 6:23 pm


Return to Software & Applications

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: PatH57, yigit and 30 guests