Mint 16 and Remastersys

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Mint 16 and Remastersys

Postby chiefjim on Fri Nov 29, 2013 8:26 am

I see the REMASTERSYS repository is reopened. Accepting that Mint 16 has just been released can anyone report if the two work together?
Desktop:
Mint-16 64 bit with Mate
Gigabyte GA-MA785GM-US2H
AMD Athlon II X3 425
CORSAIR 4GB DDR2 800
640GB HDD WD Black 7200rpm

Laptop:
Acer Aspire AS5552-5898
Mint-16 64 bit with Mate
AMD Phenom II Triple-Core N830
4GB Memory DDR3
500GB HDD 5400rpm
chiefjim
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 387
Joined: Sun Jun 07, 2009 7:26 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Mint 16 and Remastersys

Postby gold_finger on Fri Nov 29, 2013 12:19 pm

chiefjim wrote:I see the REMASTERSYS repository is reopened.

Where did you see that? I'd like to add their repo as well but can't find anything about a new repo through searches. Last I knew, these people took over the project but there is no news about new repo on their site.
Add "Solved" to title of thread if solution is found. (Go to your first post and hit "Edit" button.) This helps make it easier for others to find solutions that work.

Try Linux Beginner Search Engine for Linux questions.
gold_finger
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1054
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2013 11:39 pm

Re: Mint 16 and Remastersys

Postby chiefjim on Fri Nov 29, 2013 4:06 pm

http://www.remastersys.com/

No dates show on the webpage however.
Desktop:
Mint-16 64 bit with Mate
Gigabyte GA-MA785GM-US2H
AMD Athlon II X3 425
CORSAIR 4GB DDR2 800
640GB HDD WD Black 7200rpm

Laptop:
Acer Aspire AS5552-5898
Mint-16 64 bit with Mate
AMD Phenom II Triple-Core N830
4GB Memory DDR3
500GB HDD 5400rpm
chiefjim
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 387
Joined: Sun Jun 07, 2009 7:26 am

Re: Mint 16 and Remastersys

Postby gold_finger on Fri Nov 29, 2013 6:43 pm

Yes, I've seen that. It's an old post by developer shortly after abandoning project. I haven't tried enabling it, so can't confirm that it still works. What I did to get remastersys is posted here: http://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.php?f=46&t=150023#p784475

I used it on my Xfce 14 system, but haven't tested it on 15 or 16 so can't confirm for you if it works with newer versions. Might as well give it a try to see though. If you can't get through repo, just download from where I got it.
Add "Solved" to title of thread if solution is found. (Go to your first post and hit "Edit" button.) This helps make it easier for others to find solutions that work.

Try Linux Beginner Search Engine for Linux questions.
gold_finger
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1054
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2013 11:39 pm

Re: Mint 16 and Remastersys

Postby spsf64 on Fri Nov 29, 2013 7:22 pm

Link to sourceforge page. Remastersys 3.0.4-2

http://sourceforge.net/projects/os4systemimage/
Sergio
User avatar
spsf64
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 2009 10:15 am
Location: Sao Paulo, Brazil

Re: Mint 16 and Remastersys

Postby chiefjim on Sat Nov 30, 2013 9:11 am

Guess I'll make a trial run with that on my spare laptop.
Desktop:
Mint-16 64 bit with Mate
Gigabyte GA-MA785GM-US2H
AMD Athlon II X3 425
CORSAIR 4GB DDR2 800
640GB HDD WD Black 7200rpm

Laptop:
Acer Aspire AS5552-5898
Mint-16 64 bit with Mate
AMD Phenom II Triple-Core N830
4GB Memory DDR3
500GB HDD 5400rpm
chiefjim
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 387
Joined: Sun Jun 07, 2009 7:26 am

Re: Mint 16 and Remastersys

Postby chiefjim on Sun Dec 01, 2013 8:06 am

Worked fine with the laptop. I'll make the transition soon here with the desktop.
Desktop:
Mint-16 64 bit with Mate
Gigabyte GA-MA785GM-US2H
AMD Athlon II X3 425
CORSAIR 4GB DDR2 800
640GB HDD WD Black 7200rpm

Laptop:
Acer Aspire AS5552-5898
Mint-16 64 bit with Mate
AMD Phenom II Triple-Core N830
4GB Memory DDR3
500GB HDD 5400rpm
chiefjim
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 387
Joined: Sun Jun 07, 2009 7:26 am

Re: Mint 16 and Remastersys

Postby gold_finger on Sun Dec 01, 2013 12:29 pm

Good to know. Thanks for posting back with that.
Add "Solved" to title of thread if solution is found. (Go to your first post and hit "Edit" button.) This helps make it easier for others to find solutions that work.

Try Linux Beginner Search Engine for Linux questions.
gold_finger
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1054
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2013 11:39 pm

Re: Mint 16 and Remastersys

Postby Becky232 on Tue Dec 03, 2013 4:23 pm

Ok - first thing I did was try installing remastersys 3.04...... and ran into problems.

Firstly..... if I make a distribution iso, there's no login facility until I presss the 'up' key, and it doesn't go straight into a working live screen either... I just get the vertically lines green background... and nothing.... When I try starting the installer directly from boot..... the screen flashes light grey as if it was about to do what I wanted... and then carries onto the green background. So - not very usable there!

Secondly - the backup iso......starts normally and get's to a desktop and everything is usable... Problem is - there's no installer from the live desktop.... it's not showing in any menu that I've found... and I've checked all the entries with 'alacarte'..... and if I try to start the installer from the boot grub screen.... it just carries on to the normal live desktop.

In a VM, these things seems to work properly.... although I've not yet checked all the iso's I've made.... but on physical hardware, the problems are there and I can't see what's missing or which switches/options I'm failing to spot.

I've looked at the manual for 'System Imager'..... and until they've got a gui and simple installer for just making the iso's - instead of a full-on MS level imaging server system, I ain't going down there.....

Are my problems with remastersys being seen by others... and are there any solutions to these problems - or are there any forks of remastersys that might still work.....?

PS - I'm using the latest virtualbox to make the iso's... and I'm testing an Intel D630 based machine and an AMD Phenom II quad core PC. You may assume plenty of memory and seagate or WD HDD... and the Intel machine's screen is running 1280x1024 and the AMD is full 1920x1080. I can't see how the hardware can be affecting the iso's.

Help!
Becky232
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2013 4:08 pm

Re: Mint 16 and Remastersys

Postby gold_finger on Tue Dec 03, 2013 8:36 pm

@becky232,
I have only used the "Backup" button on remastersys to create a live backup, so can't answer on creating live "Distrobution", or the "Customize" button. Also, I have not done an install from the Backup iso to real hardware. Within VirtualBox, when I boot the custom iso I do get an "Install" icon on the desktop. Below are two pics: one during boot-up of iso, the other of the desktop with install icon. After reading your post, I just did an install from that live backup into VBox and everything worked fine.

custom-iso-booting.png

custom-iso-mint14xfce-2.png

becky232 wrote:Secondly - the backup iso......starts normally and get's to a desktop and everything is usable... Problem is - there's no installer from the live desktop....

becky232 wrote:In a VM, these things seems to work properly....

Are you saying that you also can see the install icon when booting your backup iso in VBox and can install it in VBox, but none of that happens on real hardware?

If so, then let me know -- maybe I can try mine on an extra computer to see if I have the same problem and report back, but don't want to bother doing so if that is not your issue.
Add "Solved" to title of thread if solution is found. (Go to your first post and hit "Edit" button.) This helps make it easier for others to find solutions that work.

Try Linux Beginner Search Engine for Linux questions.
gold_finger
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1054
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2013 11:39 pm

Re: Mint 16 and Remastersys

Postby Becky232 on Wed Dec 04, 2013 4:04 am

Hi gold_finger!

Right - just tested it again. This is a 'backup' iso - with all my additional apps installed that comes to around 3GB (well, it's got a number of windows apps installed under wine) - and when I've booted it as an ordinary live disk, it starts exactly as I'd expect - but there is no install icon on the desktop and there's no mention of any means of installing it from the menu's....

So - a backup disk that I can't install from anywhere is pretty useless!

I've also just tried the distribution iso again - and the normal boot procedure takes me to a green screen with a shutdown button in the extreme top right. If I then press the 'up' key, I get a login dialogue box.... but there's no name showing and it won't accept a password - or even no password - so it's completely impossible to get to a normal desktop!

However - selecting the install function directly from the grub menu, with the distribution iso, it does eventually get to show the installer and this appears to install normally.... (just rebooted the VM and it has given a working installation).

I'm using the 32 bit cinnamon version so that I can use it on any hardware and I'm using the latest version of VirtualBox - downloaded over the weekend - with the extension pack. The VM's I create have 500GB of disk and 4GB of RAM. The USB controller is set to USB2 and the display is set to 128MB with 3d acceleration.

Hope that helps.

PS- more real hardware tests will have to wait for the weekend - my calendar is hellish!
Becky232
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2013 4:08 pm

Re: Mint 16 and Remastersys

Postby chiefjim on Wed Dec 04, 2013 9:35 am

I use the 64 bit system. Did you install the gui? All normal screen prompts.
Desktop:
Mint-16 64 bit with Mate
Gigabyte GA-MA785GM-US2H
AMD Athlon II X3 425
CORSAIR 4GB DDR2 800
640GB HDD WD Black 7200rpm

Laptop:
Acer Aspire AS5552-5898
Mint-16 64 bit with Mate
AMD Phenom II Triple-Core N830
4GB Memory DDR3
500GB HDD 5400rpm
chiefjim
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 387
Joined: Sun Jun 07, 2009 7:26 am

Re: Mint 16 and Remastersys

Postby gold_finger on Wed Dec 04, 2013 11:53 am

Becky232 wrote:Right - just tested it again. This is a 'backup' iso - with all my additional apps installed that comes to around 3GB (well, it's got a number of windows apps installed under wine) - and when I've booted it as an ordinary live disk, it starts exactly as I'd expect - but there is no install icon on the desktop and there's no mention of any means of installing it from the menu's....

Is there no install icon when booting in VBox and when booting real computer; or does it only lack install icon on real computer?

On mine (pictured above), it was made from 64-bit Xfce 14 with added packages and some program settings and Firefox bookmarks pre-done. I chose "Backup" option with Remastersys and it gave me live bootable and installable version. Not sure what is going wrong for you on your attempt(s).

The version of Remastersys I installed is described here: http://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.php?f=46&t=150023#p784475 You may have done the same, I don't know. If not, and further attempts don't produce installable iso's, maybe remove remastersys package; then re-install as described in link above.
Add "Solved" to title of thread if solution is found. (Go to your first post and hit "Edit" button.) This helps make it easier for others to find solutions that work.

Try Linux Beginner Search Engine for Linux questions.
gold_finger
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1054
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2013 11:39 pm

Re: Mint 16 and Remastersys

Postby Becky232 on Wed Dec 04, 2013 6:11 pm

That looks like the same place I got my download of remastersys.... but I've taken a fresh copy. I've also backed up all the other downloads (apt cache) and I'm going to try again this weekend - only this time, I'll try it using Fusion instead of VirtualBox - or maybe I'll build it in VMplayer on Windows.... or maybe I'll just do it all..... something's got to work!

PS - don't know whether it's just me or what... but I'm finding that the latest VirtualBox running on OS/X Maverick is a bit of a pig - nothing works like it used to and there's no smoothness to it's operation like I get with Fusion. Maybe I'm old-fashioned expecting things to work...?
Becky232
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2013 4:08 pm

Re: Mint 16 and Remastersys

Postby Becky232 on Sun Dec 08, 2013 7:27 am

Ok - tried on the AMD quad-core running Windows 8 and VMware Player 5.0.1....... it works!

I have iso's with installers that work and beyond a wierd problem with DVD playing, I seem to be well on the way to a master live disk for my particular needs.

One thing I did note is that I built the last ISO's by setting the disk label and not a let else beyond choosing distro or backup - it just seems to work... Now if I can put together a good theme, for my corporate style, I'll be happy!

If I find any other issues, I'll be back.......

PS - still got to make a 64 bit version........
Becky232
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2013 4:08 pm

Re: Mint 16 and Remastersys

Postby derethor on Tue Jan 07, 2014 7:15 am

I am making a live dvd for one computer, i used remastersys in the past, but I see that it is dead.

Mint 16 32bits... what should I use for this?

Thank you!!
derethor
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2013 7:08 am

Re: Mint 16 and Remastersys

Postby gold_finger on Tue Jan 07, 2014 2:04 pm

derethor wrote:I am making a live dvd for one computer, i used remastersys in the past, but I see that it is dead.

Mint 16 32bits... what should I use for this?

Thank you!!


As stated in one of the above posts, chiefjim did successfully use the old version with Mint 16 -- so you should be okay with that as well.

Go here to download the two files needed: http://sourceforge.net/projects/os4systemimage/files/Remastersys%203.0.4-2/

For 32-bit systems, download both of these: remastersys_3.0.4-2_all.deb and remastersys-gui_3.0.4-1_i386.deb

Install the remastersys_3.0.4-2_all.deb first; then install the second one to get the GUI.
Add "Solved" to title of thread if solution is found. (Go to your first post and hit "Edit" button.) This helps make it easier for others to find solutions that work.

Try Linux Beginner Search Engine for Linux questions.
gold_finger
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1054
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2013 11:39 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Software & Applications

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 19 guests