Audio in Mint Xfce 5

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Audio in Mint Xfce 5

Postby mindzoid on Fri Sep 12, 2008 10:44 pm

I really want to use this new Xfce CE edition except for this one problem I have. When the RC came out I installed PulseAudio following directions I found on the web. Exaile had a skipping or static blip sound every second or two when playing any kind of music, be it from my collection or internet radio. I also had the same problem with the Rhythmbox and the other big one ( it escapes me at the moment). I thought it was something with PA at the time. When I tried the final release I found Exaile already installed and with the same problem but without PA. I read something about Exaile needing to be specially built for PA but that doesn't fix my problem. The weird part is that I didn't have the problem when I installed Mint Elyssa (Gnome) and installed xubuntu packages onto it (had PA). Mint is awesome so is Xfce. Together they're magic. Is this a common problem that can be fixed?
mindzoid
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2008 10:00 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Audio in Mint Xfce 5

Postby Husse on Sun Sep 14, 2008 7:18 am

Not heard of it
Your hardware please
run
Code: Select all
lspci | tee lspci.txt

and post the content here
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Audio in Mint Xfce 5

Postby Guest on Sun Sep 14, 2008 3:27 pm

I used the lspci command. If there's any other command that would be usefull please let me know.
00:00.0 Host bridge: ATI Technologies Inc RS480 Host Bridge (rev 01)
00:01.0 PCI bridge: ATI Technologies Inc RS480 PCI Bridge
00:05.0 PCI bridge: ATI Technologies Inc RS480 PCI Bridge
00:13.0 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc IXP SB400 USB Host Controller
00:13.1 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc IXP SB400 USB Host Controller
00:13.2 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc IXP SB400 USB2 Host Controller
00:14.0 SMBus: ATI Technologies Inc IXP SB400 SMBus Controller (rev 11)
00:14.1 IDE interface: ATI Technologies Inc IXP SB400 IDE Controller
00:14.3 ISA bridge: ATI Technologies Inc IXP SB400 PCI-ISA Bridge
00:14.4 PCI bridge: ATI Technologies Inc IXP SB400 PCI-PCI Bridge
00:14.5 Multimedia audio controller: ATI Technologies Inc IXP SB400 AC'97 Audio Controller (rev 02)
00:14.6 Modem: ATI Technologies Inc SB400 AC'97 Modem Controller (rev 02)
00:18.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] HyperTransport Technology Configuration
00:18.1 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Address Map
00:18.2 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] DRAM Controller
00:18.3 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Miscellaneous Control
01:05.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc Radeon XPRESS 200M 5955 (PCIE)
06:02.0 Network controller: Broadcom Corporation BCM4318 [AirForce One 54g] 802.11g Wireless LAN Controller (rev 02)
06:06.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL-8139/8139C/8139C+ (rev 10)
Guest
 

Re: Audio in Mint Xfce 5

Postby merlwiz79 on Sun Sep 14, 2008 4:13 pm

Xubuntu and Elyssa XFCE CE wasn't made to use Pulse audio.
You can get it working, aslong as you had audio before you installed pulse audio.

Follow the instructions found here. After that you'll have the pulse server configured and every app should use it without any problem, unless it needs to be specifically configured to use it (like Exaile).

It still won't run as a daemon so you have to edit the config.
Code: Select all
gksu mousepad /etc/default/pulseaudio

Change:
Code: Select all
PULSEAUDIO_SYSTEM_START=0
To
Code: Select all
PULSEAUDIO_SYSTEM_START=1

Change:
Code: Select all
DISALLOW_MODULE_LOADING=1
to
Code: Select all
DISALLOW_MODULE_LOADING=0

Save the file and restart.

Here are ways to get apps that have problems with pulse to work:(most of these are not needed anymore)
http://www.pulseaudio.org/wiki/PerfectS ... plications
User avatar
merlwiz79
Level 11
Level 11
 
Posts: 3637
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 1:50 pm
Location: Here again :)

Re: Audio in Mint Xfce 5

Postby Guest on Mon Sep 15, 2008 2:31 pm

This doesn't fix Mint Xfce CE. I know there exist workarounds but if possible I'd rather see it just work. Not for my sake but to further Linux as a Desktop OS. People become disinterested when you're trying to show them the Linux way and you run into complicated problems.
Guest
 


Return to Software & Applications

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Feedfetcher and 13 guests