Problem with file copying - SOLVED

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Problem with file copying - SOLVED

Postby Suncoaster on Wed Jun 11, 2014 3:33 am

Since I did a fresh install of Mint 17 I cannot copy files to or from my nas-server. I get an error while copying and the info in details is "Software caused connection abort". Any help would be appreciated as this did not happen with previous versions of Mint.

Thanks
Last edited by Suncoaster on Wed Jun 25, 2014 9:35 am, edited 1 time in total.
Suncoaster
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2013 1:02 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Problem with file copying

Postby Suncoaster on Wed Jun 18, 2014 7:48 am

Cab anyone help with this????? :cry:
Suncoaster
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2013 1:02 am

Re: Problem with file copying

Postby nomko on Wed Jun 18, 2014 8:27 am

Did you configured your NAS server correctly? Did you renewed your read/write access to your NAS after your fresh/clean Mint 17 install?
ASUS P5KPL-AM SE*Intel Core2 Quad CPU Q8200*4 GiB ram*nVidia GeForce 9500GT*Realtek RTL8101/8102E*Optiarc DVD-RW AD-7200A*HDD:Samsung HD501LJ/HD103SI*Sitecom X5-N600 Router (WLR-5100)

Visit my website:
My personal website
nomko
Level 9
Level 9
 
Posts: 2774
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2012 7:28 pm
Location: The Hague, The Netherlands

Re: Problem with file copying

Postby Suncoaster on Wed Jun 25, 2014 7:09 am

Yes to both suggestions. As a further test I tried VLC in Windows 7 and everything played correctly so I am about to revert to an earlier release of Mint to see if I can identify when the problem started.
Suncoaster
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2013 1:02 am

Re: Problem with file copying

Postby altair4 on Wed Jun 25, 2014 7:59 am

Note: You didn't specify which desktop environment you are using so I will assume it's Cinnamon.
Note: You didn't specify how you are accessing the NAS so I will assume it's Samba.

There has been a kernel change recently that changed the default security mode in samba to ntlmssp from ntlm so that it is more compatible with the current generation of Windows and OSX systems. Unfortunately most NAS builders never got the memo.

If you are trying to access it from Nemo I don't know of a way to override the new default which means you will have to mount it manually.

This can get complicated since I don't know if you have this set up to require credentals and I don't know how the nas itself is set up. You can try as a generic mount and see how things work:

[1] First, create a mount point for the nas mount:
Code: Select all
sudo mkdir /media/NAS

[2] Then mount it to that folder:
Code: Select all
sudo mount -t cifs //nas-server-name/share /media/NAS -o username=nas-required-user-name,password=nas-required-password,uid=1000,sec=ntlm

If you have it set up to allow guest access then the command would be somthing like this:
Code: Select all
sudo mount -t cifs //nas-server-name/share /media/NAS -o guest,uid=1000,sec=ntlm


EDIT: Almost forgot
. You need to install the following package for a cifs mount to work:
Code: Select all
sudo apt-get install cifs-utils
Please add a [SOLVED] at the end of your original subject header if your question has been answered and solved.
altair4
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6057
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2009 10:27 am

Re: Problem with file copying

Postby Suncoaster on Wed Jun 25, 2014 8:36 am

You are correct I am using Cinnamon, but I don't believe I am accessing via Samba but I could be wrong. When I click on Network in Nemo I am shown a list of computers on my network as well as Windows network, so I select NAS-SERVER and I then get the list of folders on the server and I then select the Videos folder and that's when the problems start. I just tested this on a Live CD version of Mint 16 and this problem does not occurr. I can stream video to my TV without any problems it is just will not work on my desktop machine or my laptop.

I attempted your proposed fix and it did not work so I obviously did something wrong. The mount point creation worked as you would expect but the second command failed.
I used the command listed below and got the error shown. I used the command shown as I want to share the nas device from anywhere on my network to anyone on my network

"~$ sudo mount -t cifs //NAS-SERVER/share /media/NAS -o guest,uid=1000,sec=ntlm"
mount error: could not resolve address for NAS-SERVER: Unknown error

NAS-SERVER is the name of the nas device.

Thanks for your help so far.

PS if I use CVLC I do not have the problem it is only if I use the GUI version of VLC
Last edited by Suncoaster on Wed Jun 25, 2014 8:52 am, edited 1 time in total.
Suncoaster
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2013 1:02 am

Re: Problem with file copying

Postby altair4 on Wed Jun 25, 2014 8:45 am

Before we make things more complicated you might try 2 variations of the command:

If the nas is designed to be accessed by OSX or any other apple device you can see if this works:
Code: Select all
sudo mount -t cifs //NAS-SERVER.local/share /media/NAS -o guest,uid=1000,sec=ntlm

It's the same one you ran except with an mDNS qualified host name ( the .local part added to the host name ).

If that doesn't work then try accessing it by ip address:
Code: Select all
sudo mount -t cifs //192.168.0.101/share /media/NAS -o guest,uid=1000,sec=ntlm
Please add a [SOLVED] at the end of your original subject header if your question has been answered and solved.
altair4
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6057
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2009 10:27 am

Re: Problem with file copying - SOLVED

Postby Suncoaster on Wed Jun 25, 2014 9:39 am

Thank you for your help, after creating mount points for each of the folders I wanted everything is now working the way I want :D . Now to read a few man pagesto work out how to mount these shares at boot time. :lol:
Suncoaster
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2013 1:02 am

Re: Problem with file copying - SOLVED

Postby nomko on Fri Jun 27, 2014 9:25 am

Suncoaster wrote:Now to read a few man pagesto work out how to mount these shares at boot time.

You need to edit your fstab file (to be found here: /etc/fstab/).

Some helpfull links;
https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Fstab
https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Autom ... Partitions
https://wiki.ubuntu.com/MountWindowsSharesPermanently
https://help.ubuntu.com/community/SettingUpNFSHowTo
ASUS P5KPL-AM SE*Intel Core2 Quad CPU Q8200*4 GiB ram*nVidia GeForce 9500GT*Realtek RTL8101/8102E*Optiarc DVD-RW AD-7200A*HDD:Samsung HD501LJ/HD103SI*Sitecom X5-N600 Router (WLR-5100)

Visit my website:
My personal website
nomko
Level 9
Level 9
 
Posts: 2774
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2012 7:28 pm
Location: The Hague, The Netherlands

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Software & Applications

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 10 guests