BOO! Why?

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

BOO! Why?

Postby Sunny Rabbiera on Sat Sep 27, 2008 2:03 am

I know Intrepid is forcing people to use KDE4 but it seems like Mint is too.
I have seen that now that if you have KDE3 installed and use gtk-qt there is a forced update that removes the one for KDE and replaces it with the one for KDE4.
KDE4 sucks, I bloody hate it.
Why is this being updated for anyway, and what does this mean for the KDE community edition?

Also under gnome my quit application doesnt work anymore, I hit it and it freezes my whole system thus why I am using KDE3.
Sunny Rabbiera
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 98
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2007 6:42 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: BOO! Why?

Postby Husse on Sat Sep 27, 2008 10:46 am

I'm sorry - I don't quite understand this
under gnome my quit application doesnt work anymore, I hit it and it freezes my whole system thus why I am using KDE3.

As for the forced update - I haven't got a clue
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: BOO! Why?

Postby Sunny Rabbiera on Sat Sep 27, 2008 11:29 am

Husse wrote:I'm sorry - I don't quite understand this
under gnome my quit application doesnt work anymore, I hit it and it freezes my whole system thus why I am using KDE3.

As for the forced update - I haven't got a clue


meaning if I want to log out under gnome and hit my log out button everything freezes.
Sunny Rabbiera
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 98
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2007 6:42 pm

Re: BOO! Why?

Postby Husse on Sat Sep 27, 2008 11:48 am

So you dual boot KDE - gnome?
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: BOO! Why?

Postby Sunny Rabbiera on Sat Sep 27, 2008 12:46 pm

Husse wrote:So you dual boot KDE - gnome?

No I have both KDE and Gnome installed on the same system, no dual boot.
Like I said I was having issues with gnome thats why I am on KDE now, I installed KDE via the repositories.
Sunny Rabbiera
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 98
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2007 6:42 pm


Return to Software & Applications

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: daveinuk and 25 guests