winedoors and startmenu

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

winedoors and startmenu

Postby neggard on Wed Oct 29, 2008 6:27 am

When I have installed winedoors and steam and then reboot my computer my startmenu is broken.
The field to the right in the menu looks like this....

Could not load module: applications
Traceback (most recent call last):

File "/usr/lib/linuxmint/mintMenu/mintMenu.py", line 229, in PopulatePlugins
MyPlugin = X.pluginclass( self, self.toggle )

File "/usr/lib/linuxmint/mintMenu/plugins/applications.py", line 205, in __init__
mymenu = Menu( mainitems )

File "/usr/lib/linuxmint/mintMenu/plugins/applications.py", line 80, in __init__
self.directory = xdg.Menu.parse( menu )

File "/usr/lib/linuxmint/mintMenu/plugins/applications.py", line 65, in xdgParsePatched
xdg.Menu.__genmenuNotOnlyAllocated(xdg.Menu.tmp["Root"])

File "/var/lib/python-support/python2.5/xdg/Menu.py", line 856, in __genmenuNotOnlyAllocated
__genmenuNotOnlyAllocated(submenu)

File "/var/lib/python-support/python2.5/xdg/Menu.py", line 856, in __genmenuNotOnlyAllocated
__genmenuNotOnlyAllocated(submenu)

File "/var/lib/python-support/python2.5/xdg/Menu.py", line 856, in __genmenuNotOnlyAllocated
__genmenuNotOnlyAllocated(submenu)

File "/var/lib/python-support/python2.5/xdg/Menu.py", line 859, in __genmenuNotOnlyAllocated
tmp["cache"].addMenuEntries(menu.AppDirs)



This has happent twice now!
How could I fix this problem? last time I reinstall my computer.
Last edited by neggard on Wed Oct 29, 2008 11:39 am, edited 1 time in total.
neggard
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2008 11:53 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: winedoors and starmenu

Postby Husse on Wed Oct 29, 2008 9:27 am

This should be solved by right clicking the menu > Reload plugins
If that does not help right click the menu > Remove from panel followed by Add to panel
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: winedoors and starmenu

Postby neggard on Wed Oct 29, 2008 10:59 am

Sorry but none of the thing solve my problem.
When I add the menu I got the same error.
neggard
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2008 11:53 am

Re: winedoors and startmenu

Postby neggard on Wed Oct 29, 2008 11:40 am

Now I manage to see a startmenu.
I could not add mint startmenu but I add another one and this one is working.

Thanks for the help.
neggard
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2008 11:53 am

Re: winedoors and startmenu

Postby Husse on Wed Oct 29, 2008 5:23 pm

I have seen this or very similar errors, but no solution
Have to search a bit more because I'm pretty much convinced I've seen the solution
You have found the gnome menu - you normally get it with Alt+F1 or possibly SuperL
I'll come back to you
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: winedoors and startmenu

Postby pluraldave on Wed Oct 29, 2008 6:07 pm

I've had this before. Whatever the corruption is it's somewhere in one of the configuration files in the home folder.
User avatar
pluraldave
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 709
Joined: Mon Sep 01, 2008 8:05 am

Re: winedoors and startmenu

Postby Husse on Thu Oct 30, 2008 8:11 am

@ pluraldave
You got it!
One way of fixing this would be to mark mintMenu for complete removal in Synaptic and after that reinstall it
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Software & Applications

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests