Authenication when Updating

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Authenication when Updating

Postby Steven_J2 on Thu Nov 06, 2008 10:20 pm

Hi can anyone help me. I am fairly new to Linux. I have explored linux mint the last few months but have only just gone online (waiting ages for my ADSL!) Now that I finally am online whenever I go to install updates to the distro, it warns me that the update manager cannot authenticate the source of the software and that if I allow it to be installed someone might have thrown in some malicious coding for me for free (how nice of them). I presume that all this means for some reason when my OS communicates with the repository sites (yes I did some research on other peoples computers and at work and from all the linux mags) it cannot establish a secure connection. How can I fix this? Even when I set the update manager only to include the most necessary level 1 and 2 updates (excluding 3rd party) it still cannot seem to establish a secure connection. I am able to get a secure connection on trusted sites, through firefox (well the verity logo is there anyway). Can anyone help me?
Steven_J2

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.

Re: Authenication when Updating

Postby Husse on Fri Nov 07, 2008 1:24 pm

This question appears now and then
Mint does not sign the packages that's why you are warned about our packages - there's no danger...
Eventually we'll sign the packages but for the time being.....
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21

Postby Steven_J2 on Mon Nov 10, 2008 9:02 am