Rhythmbox volume control

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Rhythmbox volume control

Postby ltspicoli on Thu Nov 06, 2008 11:09 pm

So an interesting problem....

Rhythmbox music player's volume control seems to act completely independent of the main system volume. I have changed devices (I have an integrated and PCI add on soundcard) with the volume control in the "taskbar" but to no avail. Rhythmbox decides what it wants the volume to be, and my mute button does nothing, even though it alters the system volume.

I have looked through settings in rhythmbox, but can't seem to find a setting to allow volume control by the system instead of it working independent. Can anyone help?
ltspicoli
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2008 1:39 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Rhythmbox volume control

Postby Husse on Sun Nov 09, 2008 8:10 am

I cannot reproduce this (in Elyssa main)
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Rhythmbox volume control

Postby newly_minted on Tue Nov 11, 2008 10:54 am

Just installed Mint and love it. The only thing i ran into that i wish i could change is volume control. I am using Rhythmbox and have headphones that i plug into logitech computer speakers and i have the main volume and Rhythmbox volume set at the max and it still the volume is low. Is there is a way to increase the volume if the volume settings are already at max?

thanks
newly_minted
 

Re: Rhythmbox volume control

Postby ltspicoli on Tue Nov 11, 2008 11:51 am

newly_minted wrote:Is there is a way to increase the volume if the volume settings are already at max?


I might be able to help with this problem... if you double click on the speaker on the bottom right, it will open the full volume control. Make sure that none of your tabs are at 15% or something. Putting them all at 100% may cause distortion, especially with PCM, but finding a happy balance should give you a boost.
ltspicoli
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2008 1:39 pm

Re: Rhythmbox volume control

Postby newly_minted on Tue Nov 11, 2008 1:05 pm

That worked. I was able to get a little more volume out of it with not much distortion.

thanks!
newly_minted
 


Return to Software & Applications

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 17 guests