Can't browse ubuntu repos.

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Can't browse ubuntu repos.

Postby wildman4god on Tue Nov 11, 2008 3:05 pm

I have just installed linux mint 6 rc1 and I want to install software but mint install only lets me browse the mint repos, is it not supposed to let me browse the ubuntu repos as well, or is this a bug that needs fixed. Also mint install, while it does give a screen shot, which is usefull. it doesn't give a whole lot of info, I think for ease of use ubuntu's default add/remove program works a lot better. :!:
Old Proverb,

Computers are like air conditioners, They stop working properly when you open windows.
wildman4god
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2008 11:12 am
Location: Pittsburgh, Pa

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Can't browse ubuntu repos.

Postby Husse on Thu Nov 13, 2008 3:18 pm

I think you have misunderstood mintInstall - it installs apps not only in the Mint and Ubuntu repos but found on many locations so it is not the Mint version of "ubuntu's default add/remove"
It's not there to browse Ubuntus repos - for that use Synaptic (Package manager)
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden


Return to Software & Applications

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 22 guests