linux mint 4 daryna have issues with 4 gig ram?

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

linux mint 4 daryna have issues with 4 gig ram?

Postby leo5111 on Wed Dec 03, 2008 2:10 pm

because i want to put in 4gig so i can allocate 2 gig to virtualbox :P
User avatar
leo5111
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 312
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2008 2:32 am
Location: Escaped From Xp Hell

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: linux mint 4 daryna have issues with 4 gig ram?

Postby Fornhamfred on Wed Dec 03, 2008 2:18 pm

Hi

Why not install Elyssa. You do not say what your hardware is but it may benefit from installing the x 64 edition.
Fornhamfred
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1131
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2007 3:38 pm
Location: Suffolk UK

Re: linux mint 4 daryna have issues with 4 gig ram?

Postby leo5111 on Wed Dec 03, 2008 2:39 pm

installed linux mint 5 and had a hair pulling good time trying to get virtualbox working my system is core2 duo E6750 overclocked to 3.5, 2.gig of ram about to be 4.gig
User avatar
leo5111
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 312
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2008 2:32 am
Location: Escaped From Xp Hell

Re: linux mint 4 daryna have issues with 4 gig ram?

Postby Fornhamfred on Thu Dec 04, 2008 2:34 pm

If its not too boring for you, what problems did you have with Virtualbox and 5 as I have it running fine.
Fornhamfred
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1131
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2007 3:38 pm
Location: Suffolk UK

Re: linux mint 4 daryna have issues with 4 gig ram?

Postby leo5111 on Thu Dec 04, 2008 10:08 pm

kept saying module not found which in mint 4 was fixed by adding yoreself to vboxusers group but i added my self and no change
User avatar
leo5111
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 312
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2008 2:32 am
Location: Escaped From Xp Hell

Re: linux mint 4 daryna have issues with 4 gig ram?

Postby Fred on Sun Dec 07, 2008 3:42 am

leo5111,

It is saying it can't find a suitable kernel module. You should be able to recompile the appropriate module with this command, run from the terminal:

sudo /etc/init.d/vboxdrv setup

Hopefully this will solve your problem.

Fred
Insanity: Doing the same thing over and over and each time expecting a different result.

Democracy is 2 wolves and a lamb voting on the menu. Liberty is an armed lamb protesting the electoral outcome. A Republic negates the need for an armed protest.
User avatar
Fred
Level 10
Level 10
 
Posts: 3356
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2008 11:59 am
Location: NC USA


Return to Software & Applications

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 26 guests