Getting WINE to work

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Getting WINE to work

Postby carltonh on Sun Apr 01, 2007 10:30 pm

Now I see why people buy Crossover Office. I can't figure out getting Wine to work.

I'm trying to run "Power Tab Editor" a Windows music program. I'm trying to follow directions at http://www.frankscorner.org, but even the first step after instaling it doesn't work. (I do see it on the pseudo C drive directory, installation seems to work fine.)

It says to first change to the program's directory, but I can't even do that. Frank's gives this example.
Code: Select all
$ cd ~/.wine/drive_c/Program Files/Microsoft\ Office/Office
$ wine winword.exe

When I do the equivalent,it seems to fail because of the space between "Program" and "Files."
carltonh
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 53
Joined: Sat Dec 23, 2006 12:34 am
Location: Dallas, Texas

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Postby carltonh on Sun Apr 01, 2007 10:31 pm

Code: Select all
ch2@Hobbs home:~$ cd ~/.wine/drive_c/Program Files/Power Tab Editor/Power Tab Editor 1.7
bash: cd: /home/ch2/.wine/drive_c/Program: No such file or directory
ch2@Hobbs home:~$
carltonh
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 53
Joined: Sat Dec 23, 2006 12:34 am
Location: Dallas, Texas

Postby Run N Duck on Mon Apr 02, 2007 12:31 am

Well, your program may work may not, kind of a crap shoot. But, the way I get my game to work is like this (apply to your situation):
Install wine, then run winecfg and check settings that hopefully will work for you. Mine are 'windoze XP', 'oss' sound drivers, and under the drives tab I hit autoconfigure and all is good.
Then, to install your program change to dir it's in (home or desktop or...) and run wine setup.exe or the name of the downloaded file.
After it's installed (it might even make a shortcut on your desktop) to switch to the dir and run it you can do this: wine "c:/program files/steam/steam.exe" or whatever your program name is. Note the brackets around the windoze program directory. Good luck, it needs a bit of fiddlin, so just takes some Riddlin and be patient. It's pretty cool when your program does work. 8)
Run N Duck
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2007 8:32 pm

Re: Getting WINE to work

Postby scorp123 on Mon Apr 02, 2007 6:00 am

carltonh wrote:When I do the equivalent,it seems to fail because of the space between "Program" and "Files."
Why don't you escape it? In Linux shell speak:

Code: Select all
cd Program\ Files

Or you could use quotation marks:
Code: Select all
cd "Program Files"


Or you could just start the first few letters (e.g. "Progra ...") and then hit the TAB key and let the Linux shell do some auto-completion for you:

Code: Select all
cd Progra
hitting the TAB key here automagically gives:
Code: Select all
cd Program\ Files/


I suggest you try again and don't let yourself get frustrated over such simple problems, OK? :D
User avatar
scorp123
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2287
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 4:19 pm
Location: Switzerland

Postby Husse on Thu Apr 05, 2007 6:36 am

Slightly off topic but Program files is a pain in the ass in e.g. the localized swedish version of Windows as the folder is called just Program. If the user installs something into Program files that autostarts the folder Program opens up on the desktop at boot. :)
So if you'r windoze had been localized in this way you'd known :)
Last edited by Husse on Thu Apr 05, 2007 2:53 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby NiksaVel on Thu Apr 05, 2007 8:33 am

that just reminded me...

... I really really hate windows :D
User avatar
NiksaVel
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 806
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 4:06 am
Location: Croatia

Postby telic on Sat Apr 07, 2007 4:47 am

When I do the equivalent,it seems to fail because of the space between "Program" and "Files."


I have Bianca doing dual-boot with MS Windows. So, to run WinRAR, for example...

Under Windows, the path to WinRAR.exe is "c:\Program Files\WinRAR\".

Within Bianca, my Windows partition is mounted as /media/hda1, so I can put the following three lines into a text file named winrar.sh...

#/bin/sh
cd /media/hda1/Program\ Files/WinRAR
wine WinRAR.exe


Now I can run WinRAR under wine by typing sh winrar.sh

And I can make the script file executable with chmod +x winrar.sh and then run it as ./winrar.sh

Or, I can run WinRAR directly from the Terminal prompt (include the quotes)...
wine "/media/hda1/Program Files/WinRAR/WinRAR.exe"

Or, put the following two lines in a shell script (text file) like above...
#/bin/sh
wine "/media/hda1/Program Files/WinRAR/WinRAR.exe"


For Windows programs that you install directly onto your Mint partition, just change the path(s) accordingly.

------
telic
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 188
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2007 7:48 am

Postby Crux on Mon Apr 30, 2007 5:51 pm

The thing is with wine is that your expecting it to install to a place like Utilities in Mint,but you actually have to dig for it after you install it.Most people are not aware that you just have to right click a windows executable and it will start.Their is no cute like wine glass icon you can click on off the bat,something that would be nice in distros in the future since Windows support off the bat is important if you are going to get the main people to crossover to Linux
User avatar
Crux
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2007 5:42 pm

Postby scorp123 on Tue May 01, 2007 6:57 am

telic wrote:I have Bianca doing dual-boot with MS Windows. So, to run WinRAR, for example...
And why don't you use a native rar application on Linux? :?
User avatar
scorp123
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2287
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 4:19 pm
Location: Switzerland

Postby telic on Tue May 01, 2007 9:34 am

And why don't you use a native rar application on Linux?


I do. Note that I say "for example", and also note that I say "Under Windows..."

On my PC, WinRAR is installed on my Windows partition, not for Linux. I arbitrarily chose WinRAR as a working example, to demonstrate syntax.

Itching for an argument, eh? ;-)

------
telic
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 188
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2007 7:48 am

Postby scorp123 on Tue May 01, 2007 11:25 am

telic wrote: I do. Note that I say "for example", and also note that I say "Under Windows..." .... Itching for an argument, eh? ;-)
My sincerest apologies :twisted:
User avatar
scorp123
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2287
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 4:19 pm
Location: Switzerland

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Software & Applications

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Adsense [Bot] and 21 guests