Page 1 of 1

Getting WINE to work

Posted: Sun Apr 01, 2007 10:30 pm
by carltonh
Now I see why people buy Crossover Office. I can't figure out getting Wine to work.

I'm trying to run "Power Tab Editor" a Windows music program. I'm trying to follow directions at http://www.frankscorner.org, but even the first step after instaling it doesn't work. (I do see it on the pseudo C drive directory, installation seems to work fine.)

It says to first change to the program's directory, but I can't even do that. Frank's gives this example.

Code: Select all

$ cd ~/.wine/drive_c/Program Files/Microsoft\ Office/Office
$ wine winword.exe
When I do the equivalent,it seems to fail because of the space between "Program" and "Files."

Posted: Sun Apr 01, 2007 10:31 pm
by carltonh

Code: Select all

ch2@Hobbs home:~$ cd ~/.wine/drive_c/Program Files/Power Tab Editor/Power Tab Editor 1.7
bash: cd: /home/ch2/.wine/drive_c/Program: No such file or directory
ch2@Hobbs home:~$ 

Re: Getting WINE to work

Posted: Mon Apr 02, 2007 6:00 am
by scorp123
carltonh wrote:When I do the equivalent,it seems to fail because of the space between "Program" and "Files."
Why don't you escape it? In Linux shell speak:

Code: Select all

cd Program\ Files
Or you could use quotation marks:

Code: Select all

cd "Program Files"
Or you could just start the first few letters (e.g. "Progra ...") and then hit the TAB key and let the Linux shell do some auto-completion for you:

Code: Select all

cd Progra
hitting the TAB key here automagically gives:

Code: Select all

cd Program\ Files/
I suggest you try again and don't let yourself get frustrated over such simple problems, OK? :D

Posted: Thu Apr 05, 2007 6:36 am
by Husse
Slightly off topic but Program files is a pain in the ass in e.g. the localized swedish version of Windows as the folder is called just Program. If the user installs something into Program files that autostarts the folder Program opens up on the desktop at boot. :)
So if you'r Windows had been localized in this way you'd known :)

Posted: Thu Apr 05, 2007 8:33 am
by NiksaVel
that just reminded me...

... I really really hate windows :D

Posted: Sat Apr 07, 2007 4:47 am
by telic
When I do the equivalent,it seems to fail because of the space between "Program" and "Files."
I have Bianca doing dual-boot with MS Windows. So, to run WinRAR, for example...

Under Windows, the path to WinRAR.exe is "c:\Program Files\WinRAR\".

Within Bianca, my Windows partition is mounted as /media/hda1, so I can put the following three lines into a text file named winrar.sh...

#/bin/sh
cd /media/hda1/Program\ Files/WinRAR
wine WinRAR.exe


Now I can run WinRAR under wine by typing sh winrar.sh

And I can make the script file executable with chmod +x winrar.sh and then run it as ./winrar.sh

Or, I can run WinRAR directly from the Terminal prompt (include the quotes)...
wine "/media/hda1/Program Files/WinRAR/WinRAR.exe"

Or, put the following two lines in a shell script (text file) like above...
#/bin/sh
wine "/media/hda1/Program Files/WinRAR/WinRAR.exe"


For Windows programs that you install directly onto your Mint partition, just change the path(s) accordingly.

------

Posted: Tue May 01, 2007 6:57 am
by scorp123
telic wrote:I have Bianca doing dual-boot with MS Windows. So, to run WinRAR, for example...
And why don't you use a native rar application on Linux? :?

Posted: Tue May 01, 2007 9:34 am
by telic
And why don't you use a native rar application on Linux?
I do. Note that I say "for example", and also note that I say "Under Windows..."

On my PC, WinRAR is installed on my Windows partition, not for Linux. I arbitrarily chose WinRAR as a working example, to demonstrate syntax.

Itching for an argument, eh? ;-)

------

Posted: Tue May 01, 2007 11:25 am
by scorp123
telic wrote: I do. Note that I say "for example", and also note that I say "Under Windows..." .... Itching for an argument, eh? ;-)
My sincerest apologies :twisted: