Gnome displaying large Windows incorrectly with UI glitch!

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Gnome displaying large Windows incorrectly with UI glitch!

Postby Pipps on Sat Dec 27, 2008 8:05 pm

I think this may be a bug. I would be grateful for your advice. I have experienced this same problem with a number of apps within the new Mint 6 distribution.

An example is as follows. I install an app called 'EasyTag' using the Synaptic Package Manager. When I run the program, the window is sized too big for my screen, with parts of the top and bottom being lost past the edges of my viewable area.

The problem arises at this point: When I try to click on anything within the application's window, the display seems to attempt some sort of automatic resize and remove function. I am unable to actually click on anything that I am trying to access. Ever click within the application is ignored by the application - and the UI simply tries to resize the window, back and forth with every click, an infinitum. I cannot use this application, and a number of others which give rise to this same problem.

To attempt to resolve this issue, I went to the 'Menu / Preferences / Appearance' options, and changed the 'visual effects' settings from 'normal' to 'none'. This has had an effect on the situation. Now, when I launch an application such as 'EasyTag', the application's window is still too big for my screen, how I can now click around within the window and my clicks are recognised.

However, the problem still remains, in that I am still unable to use applications which seem to have a fixed window size which is greater than the display area of my laptop's screen.

My laptop is an Advent 4211 - ie an MSI Wind look-a-like). The screen resolution is therefore 1024 x 600 in (16:9).

Why is this problem be arising, and how can it be addressed? Thank you.
Pipps
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2008 1:51 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Gnome displaying large Windows incorrectly with UI glitch!

Postby Husse on Sun Dec 28, 2008 2:31 pm

Seems like a problem with the video driver
We need to know your hardware (I know you told us which laptop it is but that does not help unfortunately)
Run lspci in a terminal and post here (right click to copy)
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Gnome displaying large Windows incorrectly with UI glitch!

Postby Pipps on Sun Dec 28, 2008 4:17 pm

Thank you, Sir.

The output from lspci is as follows:

Code: Select all
00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Mobile 945GME Express Memory Controller Hub (rev 03)
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation Mobile 945GME Express Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 03)
00:02.1 Display controller: Intel Corporation Mobile 945GM/GMS/GME, 943/940GML Express Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 03)
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) High Definition Audio Controller (rev 02)
00:1c.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) PCI Express Port 1 (rev 02)
00:1c.1 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) PCI Express Port 2 (rev 02)
00:1d.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) USB UHCI Controller #1 (rev 02)
00:1d.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) USB UHCI Controller #2 (rev 02)
00:1d.2 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) USB UHCI Controller #3 (rev 02)
00:1d.3 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) USB UHCI Controller #4 (rev 02)
00:1d.7 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller (rev 02)
00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 Mobile PCI Bridge (rev e2)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation 82801GBM (ICH7-M) LPC Interface Bridge (rev 02)
00:1f.2 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801GBM/GHM (ICH7 Family) SATA IDE Controller (rev 02)
01:00.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8101E/RTL8102E PCI Express Fast Ethernet controller (rev 02)
02:00.0 Network controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8187SE Wireless LAN Controller (rev 22)


Thank you again for your help.
Pipps
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2008 1:51 pm

Re: Gnome displaying large Windows incorrectly with UI glitch!

Postby Husse on Sun Dec 28, 2008 4:38 pm

Ouch - there is some kind of bug in the intel driver for 945 and Felicia / Intrepid
I'll have to come back to you after some investigation
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Gnome displaying large Windows incorrectly with UI glitch!

Postby Pipps on Mon Dec 29, 2008 9:15 am

Husse

Thank you kindly for identifying such an important issue. Do you think this a problem with my system, or with the Linux Mint distributions interaction with my hardware?

I will look forward to hearing back from you as soon as you've had a chance to consider this further.

Best regards

Pipps
Pipps
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2008 1:51 pm

Re: Gnome displaying large Windows incorrectly with UI glitch!

Postby Husse on Thu Jan 01, 2009 10:39 am

I don't remember what the bug was, but it is something that effects lots of people. I read a lot of info on a lot of things and I simply can't remember everything, but I mostly have an "overview" :)
I have forgotten to ask you which version of Mint you have (apart from the obvious main)
Seems the Intel driver is better in Felicia than in Elyssa
This is also not the easiest to solve....
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Gnome displaying large Windows incorrectly with UI glitch!

Postby exploder on Thu Jan 01, 2009 11:01 am

I have seen the problem being described in the original post, it happened on my machine as well. The problem is Compiz related and I believe that updating will resolve the issue. The reason I say that is because the problem is no longer present on my pc. I believe I installed all of the available updates, including level 3 and turned off Compiz. It's worth a try because the problem is impossible to try and live with.

I noticed before I got the problem resolved only certain types of applications were affected, (Firefox, Synapti, for example).
exploder
Level 15
Level 15
 
Posts: 5893
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 10:50 am
Location: HartfordCity, Indiana USA

Re: Gnome displaying large Windows incorrectly with UI glitch!

Postby Pipps on Fri Jan 02, 2009 3:00 pm

Hi Gents

Thank you for your feedback on this problem.

Would you have any interim recommendations as to a possible workaround so that I may be able to use my software correctly with Linux Mint?

I'll look forward to your replies.

Pipps
Pipps
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2008 1:51 pm

Re: Gnome displaying large Windows incorrectly with UI glitch!

Postby Pipps on Sat Jan 03, 2009 9:24 am

Is it possible to say whether this is a problem with Ubuntu distributions generally, or more specifically just with Linux Mint?

Thank you.
Pipps
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2008 1:51 pm

Re: Gnome displaying large Windows incorrectly with UI glitch!

Postby exploder on Sat Jan 03, 2009 9:33 am

I have only seen this problem with the Intrepid release of Ubuntu. Since we are based on Ubuntu we inherit this problem. Did you try the fix I suggested? If Firefox still displays incorrect, try resizing the window, close it and then launch Firefox again to see if the problem is gone.
exploder
Level 15
Level 15
 
Posts: 5893
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 10:50 am
Location: HartfordCity, Indiana USA

Re: Gnome displaying large Windows incorrectly with UI glitch!

Postby Pipps on Sat Jan 03, 2009 1:03 pm

Yes, I did try the fix that you kindly suggested. I have downloaded update number 3 and have been running the minimal graphics setting that you mentioned. However, I am still finding that certain applications will not fit within my screen, and cannot be used as a result. I am fortunate, however, that I have not experienced this problem with Swiftfox.

Are you aware of any Ubuntu Intrepid solution to this problem?
Pipps
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2008 1:51 pm

Re: Gnome displaying large Windows incorrectly with UI glitch!

Postby Husse on Tue Jan 06, 2009 10:58 am

Are you aware of any Ubuntu Intrepid solution to this problem?

Unfortunately not - and perhaps not so good for you this is not a common problem
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Gnome displaying large Windows incorrectly with UI glitch!

Postby Pipps on Tue Jan 06, 2009 5:05 pm

Good grief! :shock:

Well it's good to know the true position, at least. Even if it's not a particularly favourable one!
Pipps
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2008 1:51 pm

Re: Gnome displaying large Windows incorrectly with UI glitch!

Postby Husse on Tue Jan 06, 2009 5:56 pm

Oh - I don't know if a kernel update would make any difference. I see 2.6.27-9 in Synaptic and the default for Felicia is -7
We generally don't encourage kernel updates because of the risk that it breaks more than it fixes, but you always get a separate entry in grub
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Gnome displaying large Windows incorrectly with UI glitch!

Postby Pipps on Sun Feb 08, 2009 5:19 am

I would like to investigate this bug further.

Does this bug have a name, in Ubuntu or in Linux Mint? Also, is there a specific entry for this bug having been reported anywhere?

Thank you for your help.
Pipps
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2008 1:51 pm

Re: Gnome displaying large Windows incorrectly with UI glitch!

Postby Pipps on Sat Feb 14, 2009 9:27 pm

Any ideas please? Where was this Ubuntu bug originally submitted?
Pipps
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2008 1:51 pm

Re: Gnome displaying large Windows incorrectly with UI glitch!

Postby Pipps on Tue Feb 17, 2009 5:48 pm

Does anyone know where this Ubuntu bug has been originally reported?

I will like to follow-up on it for the benefit of all Linux Minut users! :)
Pipps
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2008 1:51 pm

Re: Gnome displaying large Windows incorrectly with UI glitch!

Postby Husse on Wed Feb 18, 2009 6:22 am

I have this on my list but unfortunately the forum obstructs and has stopped sending mail again so I have to give that priority
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Gnome displaying large Windows incorrectly with UI glitch!

Postby Husse on Fri Feb 20, 2009 1:22 pm

I think it is a variation of this bug
https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+sour ... bug/296819
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Gnome displaying large Windows incorrectly with UI glitch!

Postby Pipps on Sat Feb 28, 2009 7:19 pm

Any help please?
Pipps
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2008 1:51 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 
Next

Return to Software & Applications

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests