a possible BUG since recent updates - Compiz/Firefox

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

a possible BUG since recent updates - Compiz/Firefox

Postby alun_sundry on Tue Jan 06, 2009 6:21 am

Since recent updates, but not the ones I've downloaded today, if I have display effects set to anything other than 'none', when I use Firefox the blue page header with the - o X controls in the corner is missing. This isn't true of any other program, be it Opera, Seamonkey or OpenOffice, and using defaults suggests it's not due to something I've done.

My theme is an unaltered one, though I've tried others to make sure that wasn't involved. I have to quit Firefox through the File drop-down menu. In fact it's only since just hearing the pop that happens when my battery's low that's made me realise my bottom toolbar isn't their either.

I uninstalled Firefox and reinstalled it to no avail. In fact it didn't seem to properly uninstall even though I checked the box as 'complete removal'.

Is this a bug since those updates a few days ago? Can I put it right?

Thanks.
alun_sundry
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 185
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2008 11:51 am
Location: Kent, England

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: a possible BUG since recent updates - Compiz/Firefox

Postby alun_sundry on Tue Jan 06, 2009 7:07 am

Whether or not it's a bug I seem to have solved it. I clicked on the maximise 'o' in the corner, then went into Compiz and turned the effects from none to normal with Firefox still on. Things are back to normal now.
alun_sundry
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 185
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2008 11:51 am
Location: Kent, England

Re: a possible BUG since recent updates - Compiz/Firefox

Postby rivenought on Tue Jan 06, 2009 7:25 am

With Compiz, you can expect these little exciting events to occur. I am glad you fiddled and adjusted enough to get back on track. Have fun.
rivenought
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 780
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2008 10:34 am

Re: a possible BUG since recent updates - Compiz/Firefox

Postby Aging Technogeek on Sun Jan 18, 2009 8:24 am

alun_sundry wrote:Whether or not it's a bug I seem to have solved it. I clicked on the maximise 'o' in the corner, then went into Compiz and turned the effects from none to normal with Firefox still on. Things are back to normal now.

Thanks for posting this fix. I had the same problem. This fixed it.
Image

Registered Linux User 483387
User avatar
Aging Technogeek
Level 13
Level 13
 
Posts: 4604
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2009 9:54 am
Location: Right about here


Return to Software & Applications

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: SomeGayDude and 18 guests